We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal Singapore to your Saves list
Hotel Royal Singapore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived after staying in a gorgeous resort in Thailand to this hotel and were really disappointed. Straight away we could smell cigarette smoke in the room, and the curtains smelt so badly that we could not use the bed nearest the window. The bath had a big crack across it and leaked all over the bathroom floor. Although we had booked for three people we had to request towels, cups etc for the third person as they only catered for two. Fortunately we only had two nights in this hotel, otherwise we would not have stayed. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and they held our bags until 6pm when we were leaving for the airport.

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    167
    163
    65
    53
See reviews for
97
71
35
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
armidale
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were concerned about this hotel due to reviews on Triadvisor but were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were of a very good size. They easily fitted our family of 4 with a queen, single and even with the trundle bed added at no extra cost. Everything you needed including iron was in the room. The bus stop outside the hotel is frequent and convenient. It takes you about 5 stops to a great Hawker Centre with yummy traditional food. The pool was clean with extra towels. It is within walking distance of Novena MRT and shopping plaza. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again...To be honest, I don't know what all the whinging was about on this site???

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent a night here in March 2012 and returned for a few more in April 2012 . The hotel is one of the reasonably priced hotels for families in Singapore. The room was huge with twin beds and a roll out bed for our son . A lounge and large TV with satellite TV. Room service meal were limited but with Singapore having so much good cheap food we werent fussed. The bathroom was large and the whole room was clean. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and they handed in a hat we left behind and were able to pick it up when we got back a week later. Only downside was that internet access had to be bought separately - it wasnt overly expensive just inconvenient. But the price of the room and the size and comfort far outweighed this inconvenience. Taxis were extremely cheap and easy to get out the front in the driveway of the hotel - the hotel had a flashing light that taxis could see when driving past and pull in so you didnt even have to go out onto the street. There was a bus stop right outside the hotel but taxis were so cheap that for three of us they were cheaper than public transport to the tourist spots.The hotel had a pool that was a decent size but rather bland surrounds - we didnt have a swim but it looked very nice. The hotel was happy to keep luggage for us after check out and before we went to the airport. There was a huge shopping complex about 5 minutes walk away.Breakfast buffet had very good variety but was fairly expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for the family rooms at the end of the corridor as you dont hear your neighbors and they were h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I knew when I booked it was a budget hotel but This hotel should really be removed from Singapore Airlines Stop over hotels. Ok I'll start with the bad. Dirty carpets and curtains, whole of the 14th floor smelt of drains and at times over powering.Internet connection (which you had to purchase) was so slow it was virtually unusable. First day I had to ask for my room to be serviced as by five oclock it had not been. Beware only certain floors are non smoking so after 3 nights of smoke infiltrating the room and the smell of drains I complained and was moved to the 13th Floor which is one of the dedicated non smoking floors. Room slightly better but nothing to write home about. 3 nights running bath water was brown so skipped that for a shower instead. Not sure the shower would be any better but at least I couldn't see it!!!. I too witnessed very young girls being escorted by 'decrept Chinese men' in the foyer and cark park. It was obvious some kind of agreement was being reached.
My 'deal' was not inclusive of breakfast and after one sampling at the discounted rate of $14 (approx £7) I decided to skip that for the rest of my stay and bought some banana's and orange juice which I kept in the fridge. Cheap food can be bought in the local shopping malls.

Plus points. Towels clean and changed daily, nice selection of toiletries Bed linen clean and changed daily after the first day. I'm a big swimmer so enjoyed the pool although the pool patio area could do with a bit of a clean. Close proximity to MBT (underground system) and shopping mall. Air conditioning worked well.

Staff well they were a real mixed bag. Some helpful and friendly, some surly and aloof.

Would I go again. No. I'm afraid the good points did not out weigh the bad. This hotel needs to be demolished or at a mimimum totally revamped.
If you were thinking of giving it a try think again. They really need to clean up their act in more ways than one!!!!

Room Tip: Go elswhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My daughter stayed here recently as part of a sports tour group. Prior to the trip we'd been alarmed at TA reports of a brothel on the second floor and a hostess bar in the basement frequented by "decrepit Chinese gentlemen tourists" entertaining young girls, but we were assured by the organisers that the "VIP lounge" (euphemisms abound) had been closed and the hotel was safe and respectable. Absolutely not so. Plenty of lone, inappropriately dressed young women were to be spotted making a beeline for the second floor, and the basement lounge was thriving.

Consistent with the general tenor of the hotel, the rooms were also filthy - the worst my daughter has ever stayed in, and she's experienced plenty, from the cheap and cheerful to the very luxurious. Having checked in and been shown an ancient video in broken English on fire safety, they went to their dark and damp-smelling room, with its repulsively filthy curtains. The bathrooms had no ventilation and flooded easily, though the water was hot. The bedlinen was stained and badly in need of replacing, as were the towels and the carpeting. My daughter and her room-mates wore their own flip-flops in the bathroom, used their own towels, and my daughter fortunately had a sleeping bag liner with her so she slept in that.

The breakfast consisted of deep fried prawns, dumplings, rice, soggy hash browns, rotis, stale fruit loops and bowls of tinned fruit in iced water, all a bit risky so the toast was the safest option.

The pool wasn't too bad, fairly clean, and the leaves in it on the first day had been cleaned out by the second.

All in all an awful place, little wonder one honeymooning reviewer wept when she saw her room. My daughter asked if I could give it no stars. I said no, I had to give it one. What, not even half a star, she replied. Definitely the lowlight of an otherwise great trip. You have been warned.

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A really mixed bag. Good location near transport, but too far from centre for our brief stop-over to be worthwhile. Good points: amazingly fluffy towels, hot water.
Bad points: dirty room, only clean where it showed, filthy net curtains, slow staff, no drinking water, all-night noise from large parties of children, bizarre arrangement of beds, leading to no bedside table or light.
I would certainly not stay here again, given that the better, more central hotels are not that much more than the advertised rate.
Breakfst was not included so we skipped the buffet and went to the local mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on a recent stop over on trip between Sydney and London. The Hotel was quite nice- it is an older style but quite clean and very friendly staff. We ate in the coffee house - nice food. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is strategically located right in the heart of Singapore's most exclusive district and is only minutes away from the renowned shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. The Novena MRT Station is within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. There are 3 major shopping malls namely Novena Square, Velocity and Square 2 are directly above the station. Public transport such as taxis & buses are also easily available from the hotel's main entrance to bring guests to all parts of Singapore. Guests staying in the hotel's newly refurbished 331 spacious guests' rooms and suites will enjoy 'Every Room A Home' feeling as all the rooms & suites are comfortably furnished with shades of beige curtains and bedspreads to blend with a contemporary colored wallpaper to enhance the cosiness of the rooms.Our rooms are among the most spacious in Singapore. For guests' convenience & entertainment, we have added a wireless broadband internet access facility and also additional satellite and cable TV channels linked to all guest rooms & suites, apart from the hotel's present 24 hours in-house movie channels. The hotel's 24 hours Trishaw Coffee House offers mouth-watering local delicacies and irresistible desserts. Room service is also available 24 hours. Weekend Hi-Tea Buffet is very well accepted by local & foreign guests. Other food & beverage dining like the Jade Room Chinese Restaurant offers daily lunch & dinner steamboat buffet and is a fabulous place to dine in comfort, whilst the Japanese restaurant Kandagawa (level 3), is well-appreciated for authentic Japanese cuisine & decor in the restaurant. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food.The latest added facilities are an in-house Gym for the health-conscious and also a Self-Launderette & Ironing Room for guests who prefers to do their own laundry whilst staying in the hotel.Please come by to Hotel Royal and experience the Traditional Royal Service that we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.