We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay to your Saves list
Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay
51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore (The Quays)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average but inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Prince of Wales Hostel because it was the cheapest hotel we could find in Singapore at the time for a double room. It was okay, the staff were alright, the food available to cook your own breakfast was nice, the room was clean, the shared bathroom was close by and only shared between two rooms (although the door/wall to the bathroom was practically see-through). I didn't like the location very much (Little India) - it was extremely chaotic (we stayed on New Years Day).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
1
46
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We basically stayed here for two days. The hostel manager offered us special rates for our stay. The room was small but it was quite comfortable and great view. The manager also arranged us a great city trip,too. Staffs were friendly, especially the reception.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean rooms, friendly staff and prime location.

I've stayed here twice, and the bar downstairs is great for meeting other travelers.

Only downside is one of the toilet windows can be seen into from across the road, while this didn't worry me others may not like it bit there were multiple toilets.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had the best stay in Singapore at POW back in Feb 2012.

The rooms are clean and the service is great. The shower rooms are clean and separated from the dorm by tables of computers. I love the breakfast, it makes me feel like home. The best part is the hostel is located right in front of Singapore river and it is a walking distance from 2 subway stations. It is not as 'noisy' or 'busy' like you think. The area near the hostel is quiet by the time the restaurants nearby are closed.

Even though I read a lot of negative comments about POW, I still love this place. Maybe it is because I stayed there with only another 5 lovely guests. We all got along well for all my stay.

Would love to make another visit to Singapore and will go back to POW again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hobart room for 5 nights. Had the best sleep, considering that the hotel is located within at Quay area (place gets noisy around 8-ish onwards). Place is very accessible and easy to find. Also close to Raffles station (pretty much gets you anywhere), walking distance to the Marina Bay Sands, the Merlion statues, Clarke Quay (if you drink, you'd enjoy the place a lot) and Glutton's bay where you can feast your stomach out. :)

Room Tip: Beds nearest to the windows are the best. The morning view is absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

PoW at Boat Quay was a great budget choice in a very lively area of Singapore. We took the private room for two, we had to share a bathroom with one other room but in the two days we stayed there we didn't bump into the guests from the other room once. Rooms were small but very clean, you couldn't open any windows and the one large window looked out onto the large mixed dorm however there was a curtain.

The downstairs bar had a great atmosphere with live entertainment both nights we were there. They have good happy hour deals and the food was quite tasty. Boat Quay is a two minute walk to the underground station and so it's a great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week in POW and felt really dissapointed, air conditioner is not working both nights. There's 22 peoples inside dorm and air con is off, can u imagine how hot it is?

First morning we wait until 9.30am for breakfast and there are no one to prepare breakfast set. Until 10am finally 1 POW staff prepared it. When we checked in, they said their breakfast served 9am.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay

Address: 51 Boat Quay, Singapore 049840, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With two hostels in varied parts of Singapore, Prince of Wales sticks true to its simple service promise of providing great Australian craft beers, Aussie-styled service and a safe and clean backpackers hostel. With free WI-FI, air-conditioning and the first anti-bed bug mattresses in any hostel in Asia, your stay at Prince of Wales is guaranteed to be comfortable and packed with excitement. Prince of Wales caters to every backpacker's budget with an offering of beds in mixed or female dorms, and private rooms. Stays include free breakfast of toast, marmalade/marmite, fruit and as much coffee and tea as you can drink. Breakfast is self-serve. Overlooking the river, Prince of Wales Boat Quay is located in the heart of the Central Business District, against a background of Singapore's towering skyscrapers, and a stone's throw away from the city's historical landmarks. Uncover layers of Singapore history as you walk down the river peppered with colonial buildings such as Asian Civilisations Museum, Old Supreme Court and Fullerton Hotel. Night owls will appreciate the convenience of walking right into Singapore's vibrant party scene located at nearby Clarke Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Backpacker Hotel Singapore
Prince Of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince of Wales Backpacker - Boat Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.