We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but place was dirty and staff rude.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 98SG

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 98SG to your Saves list
98SG
96A Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388198, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Krakow, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap, but place was dirty and staff rude.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this place for few nights and tried to spend as much time outside as possible, because this hostel is simply a joke. Bad joke. Stuff consist of one person only, a woman who You can see only two times during You stay - when You check in and pay the money and when You check out and give back the key. Otherwise she is so busy watching TV in her room that she cannot help You in any way. Whole place is stinky and dirty, furniture are broken, walls in washroom are moldy. Don't stay there.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was looking for cheap and clean hostel in Singapore and here it is:
thew room are with aircon.2 pillow and a cover for every bed. 2' walk for the MRT.
nice staff ,free internet, free breakfast and nice location. i paid 18S$ per night and we was 4 in the room. great value.
the bed are clean and you can smell it. great job , continue like that. i will come back.
you can choose different room category , even double bed for couple.

Room Tip: book with hostel.com to be sure you get space. dont arrive ther wwithout booking while good places...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sverige
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Cheap and clean (found a dead cocroach through) all the common rooms gets cleaned daily. Breakfast included, really white toast.. Ac in rooms but not on in common rooms. No good atmosphere. Staff had notes put up that no one could use tv/that lights had to be out at 12pm. Also you had to pay extra if you arrived early/late.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great little hostel that's perfect for backpackers on a budget. It's in a great unassuming but characteristic area. A little out of the CBD but right next to an MRT station so this is really no problem, there are many great food outlets in the area including a lovely authentic south Indian place where I went for Masala Dosa in the mornings, There is free breakfast in the hostel if you want it, but the best free service in the hostel has to be the free massage chair! We grew quite fond of these whilst waiting for trains in KL and it was nice using this after a day walking around Singapore - even if I doubt whether the massage actually does any good!

At first I didn't appreciate the 2pm check-in and the lack of flexibility given that we were there at 9am after a flight from KL but all in all this was a great little hostel and a good price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chomutov, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed There 2 nights in time of F1 Singapore GP. Cost S$18 pretty good price consider how busy the city was and fact that lot of other places were sold out. I had no reservation before! Clean, AC in rooms, good free internet, free Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hostel is quite small shared bathroom located near MRT .Bathroom is quite small and dirty . Great with Breakfast ( Coffee and Toast ) I went there alone and this very safe for girl travel alone. You can meet great guest in there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stay here with 4 of my friends, took the dorm type room. It was great, clean, with air conditioner. We share the toilet, although it was very small but quite clean. The location is very good because it just near Aljunied MRT station. You can find cheap food around this place too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 98SG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98SG

Address: 96A Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388198, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 98SG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
98sg Hotel Singapore
98SG Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 98SG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.