We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but no nice atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 98SG

Save Saved
You added 98SG to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98SG
96A Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388198, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Umeå, Sverige
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheap but no nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cheap and clean (found a dead cocroach through) all the common rooms gets cleaned daily. Breakfast included, really white toast.. Ac in rooms but not on in common rooms. No good atmosphere. Staff had notes put up that no one could use tv/that lights had to be out at 12pm. Also you had to pay extra if you arrived early/late.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    10
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a great little hostel that's perfect for backpackers on a budget. It's in a great unassuming but characteristic area. A little out of the CBD but right next to an MRT station so this is really no problem, there are many great food outlets in the area including a lovely authentic south Indian place where I went for Masala Dosa in the mornings, There is free breakfast in the hostel if you want it, but the best free service in the hostel has to be the free massage chair! We grew quite fond of these whilst waiting for trains in KL and it was nice using this after a day walking around Singapore - even if I doubt whether the massage actually does any good!

At first I didn't appreciate the 2pm check-in and the lack of flexibility given that we were there at 9am after a flight from KL but all in all this was a great little hostel and a good price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chomutov, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed There 2 nights in time of F1 Singapore GP. Cost S$18 pretty good price consider how busy the city was and fact that lot of other places were sold out. I had no reservation before! Clean, AC in rooms, good free internet, free Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hostel is quite small shared bathroom located near MRT .Bathroom is quite small and dirty . Great with Breakfast ( Coffee and Toast ) I went there alone and this very safe for girl travel alone. You can meet great guest in there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stay here with 4 of my friends, took the dorm type room. It was great, clean, with air conditioner. We share the toilet, although it was very small but quite clean. The location is very good because it just near Aljunied MRT station. You can find cheap food around this place too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

its our first time to Singapore on Oct 2011, we just need a cheap hostel with easy access to everywhere, nothing more, so we book 2 nights at 98SG. And yes its very close to MRT Aljunied, closed to Halal Restaurant too, its important for us. But you can't find the hostel from the road, its at second floor, we meet kay the manager, and she gave us two dorm for 8 of us. The room was clean, there's a safe locker inside, the kitchen and toilet shared together, free breakfast too. Don't hope so much hospitality from Kay, she talk only when needed and she's got angry all the time if we mesh up the kitchen and play internet till late night. The good think, there's a message chair for us to relax after hanging around Singapore. the wifi was bad..we can't connect at all...glad there's a free PC to connect, but you have to line up with others..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My gf and I stayed there for two nights. Kay the owner/manager is very rude, unfriendly and unprofessional. You are not allowed to turn on a light (!) after 11pm otherwise the "lady" yells at you. The rooms are small, smelly and fairly clean. The bathroom and shower facility are very tiny and dirty. The common area are kinda nice but since there are no desk its a mess because guest leave there bags there before check in or checkout. Breakfast is nothing more than bread and jam with instant coffee. I rather pay a bit than having a "free" breakfast. The location is ok since its next to the train. I never ever going back there and I promised myself to write a review to warn other travellers from this place. You don't want to yelled at like a little boy at your vacation/trip. It's a horrible hostel.

Room Tip: Check the mattress to see if there are bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 98SG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 98SG

Address: 96A Lor 27 Geylang, Singapore 388198, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 183 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 98SG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
98sg Hotel Singapore
98SG Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 98SG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.