We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tresor Tavern Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tresor Tavern Hostel to your Saves list
Tresor Tavern Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   243 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208916, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I only paid $32 SG for 2 nights. It's cheap if you compare it to other hostels in SG. But then, you get what you pay for. Dorm is fine for me since the sheets were clean. HOWEVER, I really hated the bathroom. They clean it once a day only. The staff was nice but most of them are too busy with their own lives. I had a problem with the internet and the main person for the job didn't bother to even help me. He said he'll try to fix it because he's too busy (I was like, busy with what? Folding sheets?). I just think the manager needs to re-train the staff. It's a pity that they're all friendly but they work really hard to make the hostel livable. I'd recommend if you're the type of person who only cares about sleeping and that's it. But if you're particular about the bathroom, the breakfast, and the overall ambiance, then settle for another hostel.

Room Tip: The dorm for me is fine even if it didn't have a window.I stayed on the 3rd floor by the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have booked it for almost a month, but when we came we decided to stay here just for a week. First, BECAUSE OF THE BEDBUGS, UNTIL WE STILL HAVE THE MARKS ESPECIALLY ON OUR LEGS. Secondly, they dont clean the rooms everyday, its so messy. Third, everyday, they transferred you to different rooms, so you have to packed up your things, so hassle. Fourth, BREAKFAST IS ALWAYS THE SAME, BREAD, EGG, PEANUT BUTTER OR BUTTER. DEFINITELY, WE DIDNT ENJOY OUR STAY HERE! IT WAS A DISASTER! THE PICTURES AS SHOWN WERE NOT REAL.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Rooms very cramped, reasonably clean. Not bad for money!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed in this backpacker numerous times since the place opened up, unfortunately the standard of the staff commitment and friendliness have gone down the drain and so have the cleanliness of the toilet and shower facilities. The staff working now seems to be very vague and don't really care for the guest like they used to do. I am very disappointed the management are not aware that the staff are in need of better training in how to serve and speak to the guest. What used to be a (pleasant and great) place to stay have now been just a place to stay. Bring back the old staff please.

P.S to the new staff on the front counter, it doesn't cost much to smile n be pleasant.

Room Tip: The more you pay the less people you have in the room, u can choose between an 8 room to a 12 bed do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We're planning to go to Singapore next month. There are only three of us. I visited their site (tresortavern.com) and I saw there that there most expensive room is $32(singaporean dollars) per night, per head. The room has 4 beds and it's a mixed dorm. Now my question is, since we are only 3, does that mean that there will be 1 stranger that it going to stay with us since the room has 4 beds??? That we would have to pay for the forth bed so that we can have the whole room to our selves?? Is that how it goes? Pls Pls Pls I need an answer. Fellow Philippines if you can read this post, please reply. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure about the cleanliness of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My child together with other delegates from the Philippines stayed here for 4 nights. On their first night, one kid lost his money at the lobby. On their second night my kid's classmate left her camera inside her bag and went down for their short meeting. In a matter of few minutes, they went back to their room and found out that it was gone. The room was occupied by all 8 female delegates and accompanying teacher. The only people who had access to that room were the 9 of them and the hostel employees. When they demanded to see the CCTV recording, the hostel could not produce it. They said it was not working. No police report happened because they (the hostel personnels in-charge) asked the accompanying teachers to discuss about what to do with the incident . Nothing happened. No police report.

The sad part is that all their employees are Filipinos and the occupants of the two rooms are also Filipinos.

Good facilities can not cover up the crimes committed. This is Singapore, it seldom happens.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Good service, very affordable room rates, clean rooms and bathrooms.
When you are on a tight budget and not so picky about your accommodation, i recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Recommended for a large group as most of their rooms are for 6 to 8 people with common bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tresor Tavern Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tresor Tavern Hostel

Address: 243 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208916, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tresor Tavern Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Tresor Tavern Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresor Tavern Hotel Little India
Tresor Tavern Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tresor Tavern Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.