We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad and it is value for your money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris to your Saves list
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris
159M Jalan Loyang Besar, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not bad and it is value for your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed with the receptionist who was extremely helpful. She helped me look for a bike shop and helped me call around until she found one. Then she gave me a map with the location of the shop marked on it. The hotel is quite nice for the price that we paid and I am satisfied with the facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
16
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Based on past reviews that i read. I think the managment and staff have done a lot of improvments. Keep up the good work. i don't see any moldy and smelly rooms, and dirty toilets. though the toilet lights are a bit dim.

Facilities like plumbing & electric points are working fine. There are security guards hard at work policing the area on a regular & frequent basis.

Room Tip: family room s02 is good,near to pool and capark.if peace and quiet is your thing then take other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

10 of us from UK & US & Msia. Rented the place for Monday & Tuesday night.
The 3 rooms that we rented were clean. We could actually have walked with bare feet in the room without feeling the dust on the floor. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful.

Receptionists were helpful with answering our questions about surrounding area and internet access.

It is in a perfect location, with walking distance to Wild Wild Wet, and the nice 3K+ trail. Free Shuttle to Bus/MRT station. Close to food courts/deli/convenience stores.Taste of local food. Good size swimming pool. Bike rental on site.

We paid to go Wild Wild Wet at 1p. When checked in at 2:30p (check-in time) - we were given free tickets to Wild Wild Wet. If we had known that there will be free tickets, we would have waited to check in and make use of the free tickets, and we wouldn't have spent an extra S$150. If the free tickets to Wild Wild Wet is a promotion, they should specify that or advertise it, it will definitely get more business. We ended up not using the free tickets.

Too bad some of the outdoor facilities/climb structure can't be utilized by room guests.
The bike rental guy was not very friendly and was late to work - but he is not part of the hotel staff.
Beware that Wild Wild Wet does not open on Tuesday!

Room Tip: If you like swimming, perhaps request a room closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When my cousin said that he had booked us this 'resort' in Singapore, I thought that it would cost an arm and a leg. I was pleasantly surprised at the price, but then it was not the 'resort' atmosphere that I had envisioned.

It is ideal for a family vacation and there are BBQ pits just outside the units. The down side of this is that some of the unit's refrigerators emit an unpleasant odour and we had to request a change of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's a long distance from the beach but the beach is not somewhere you would want to swim in anyway.... good location as quite cosy for families to stay in. Lots of other families there as well.... good for gatherings locally....

NO WiFi in room.... only at main lobby.... please do something about it.... how is it going to be without it....

Unit is a bit worn out thou.... and it sucks when they don't allow external catering companies.... they own catering restaurant really sucks.... the food quality is really bad.... the amount is so little too..... and parking is chargeable when we booked the chalet. It used to be free for the guest as we'd already paid for the chalet, shouldn't it be included for the package?

BBQ pit is easily accessible for guests as its right in front of the unit. When there aren't many guests, it should be a good experience. But when all the units are taken up and everybody starts to BBQ, then the smell gets really overwhelming, especially we are all side by side.... i think this is inevitable. SO perhaps during the peak period, this might not be a good choice then....

Room Tip: Rooms away from swimming pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a 4 days 3 nights staycation away from home at the resort to celebrate my daughter's 1st birthday.

Location: A bit off the main road but it is still accessible. Can always walk over from Downtown East if you wish (simply done by cutting across the park).

Service staff: Friendly and helpful. The check-in was considered straight forward and fast. The night shift staff was kind enough to help with a fax that silly me forgot to send out during the daytime. The housekeeping lady was cheerful and accommodating. My daughter was asleep in bed when she came by to carry out her duties. So, instead of not changing the bed sheets, she trusted me and left the new bed sheets with me without even bothering to record that she had handed me the new bed sheets.

Room: We had one of the double storey units with a bedroom upstairs. The unit came with a TV in the first storey and another in the bedroom. There was also a refrigerator, a microwave and a thermopot to cook water. The living/dining area on the first storey was simply furnished and spacious. The toilet/bathroom was clean and had hot water. If you forgot to bring your own bath wash, you can choose to use what they have in the dispenser in the shower. The flooring for the entire unit was dated but in good condition. You have a little patio in front of the unit where you can sit around and relax. There is also a BBQ pit for each unit so you can always enjoy some roasted meat or seafood if you wish. The bedroom comes with 2 single beds and two additional mattresses and a little cupboard and is air-conditioned.

Facilities: Within the resort, there is a bicycle rental kiosk that is open during the daytime. There is also a swimming pool, a wading pool, a mini mart (or convenience store) and a cafeteria. Most of the stuff you need can be found inside the resort. If you really can't get what you want, you can always either walk out to Downtown East for a little shopping or take the shuttle service out to the White Sands mall for your needs/wants.

Environment: Can be a bit noisy due to the large crowds around during the evening hours. Sometimes even a bit rowdy. Security seems alright as they do patrol around. Cleanliness is a slight issue though probably due to the large amount of BBQ ongoing around the resort. Pests appear once cleanliness is an issue. We had to deal with a cockroach that probably visited the wrong unit (We did not do any BBQ during our stay and I slaughtered it). Noticed a fair bit cockroach carcasses lying around.

Activities: You can go to the beach and park just behind the resort or walk out to Downtown East for a movie or other activities. If you are adventurous, you can even take a taxi to Changi Village for a meal and a leisure walk or take a boat from Changi Jetty to Pulau Ubin for a date with nature and rustic Singapore.

Overall experience: Enjoyed my 4 days and 3 nights there with my wife and daughter. The service staff were friendly and helpful. All the needs were nearby or at doorstep. Will look to them again if I want to have another staycation. Hopefully they have improved their cleanliness by then. We were lucky to get a unit away from the crowds. It is important to know that during the weekends, the crowds can be a bit loud and even overbearing due to the large numbers and celebrations regularly seen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here in Mar 2013 for 3D2N with my 3 kids. Aloha Loyang is really much better than Aloha Changi (don't confuse the two). The place feels safer as there is some access control driving into the resort and there is only one gate to the beach (which is closed at night for security reasons).

Aloha Loyang has various offerings. The terraces are for younger people who want to BBQ and party through the night. NOT for people who want some quiet and rest in a resort. The Garden View Bungalows are nice but they face the nearby private housing hence not so ideal. My personal favourite are the sea view bungalows. If you would like some nice quiet moments with the family, book early and choose the bungalows at the end of the road (Bungalow Number 12-15 perhaps).

Each bungalow is well endowed (they provide you with 2 blankets and towels per room) with air-coned 4 ensuite rooms (hence it can accomodate 8 persons). The unit comes with a living room, a dining room, a fully equipped kitchen (with a freezer, a fridge, a microwave, a stove, a double sink, pots, pens, knife, plates etc and even washing liquid for cleaning the plates), a common toilet (for guests so they don't use the toilets in the rooms), a small yard, a private driveway for parking your ride, an outdoor table for outdoor eating and a BBQ area. The resident supplier would even call you in the afternoon of checking in to see if you would like him to arrange BBQ stuff for you - quite reasonably priced.

The shared facilities includes a free form pool, a newly renovated indoor kids play room, an indoor arcade, a basketball court, and a small corner for foot reflexology. If you have kids below 12, the pool, playroom and arcade would appeal to them. There is a shop on site selling foodstuff (coffee, instant noodles, snacks) and they also rent out bicycles that you can take out for an hour, 2 hour or even overnight. The bikes can be used to explore the Pasir Ris Beach/Park just outside the backgate of the resort. The shopkeepers are very nice people if you talk to them.

The resort is out of the way. There is a free shuttle service takes takes guests in and out. For more shopping therapy, there is downtown east nearby that offers more serious dining, shopping, getting groceries and even a water theme park.

Having said all the good stuff, I would agree that the resort could do with more professional housekeeping. The walls are oily and stained (probaby from the BBQ and cooking). The toilets and rooms can sometimes be infested with ants, lizards and coackroaches. Afterall, it is a 'beach' resort of sorts so pests can somewhat be expected. The toilets are the most disappointing. The water pressure is poor, the toilet bowls are stained and looked dirty. One of my rooms had a resident lizards who greeted us each time we entered the room. The living room is also not air-coned and has old fashion furniture. It gets warm in the afternoon. The beds are not so comfortable as well and the pillows are quite stiff.

Finally, they have upgraded the TV (to flatscreen) recently so that is a plus. The resort also provides free wifi within each unit so i had no problems getting online anytime.

In summary, i would come back again although i wish they would clean up the place and make the toilets more comfortable - afterall, the toilet is oftentimes the most important place in the entire resort. For the price, the range of things you can do, the rooms, and the close proximity to the beach, i would say this is good value for money.

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet, go for the bungalows. they are stand alone buildings with your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris

Address: 159M Jalan Loyang Besar, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris Hotel Singapore
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.