We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a 'Resort' but decent enough lodgings.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris

Save Saved
You added Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris
159M Jalan Loyang Besar, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not really a 'Resort' but decent enough lodgings.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

When my cousin said that he had booked us this 'resort' in Singapore, I thought that it would cost an arm and a leg. I was pleasantly surprised at the price, but then it was not the 'resort' atmosphere that I had envisioned.

It is ideal for a family vacation and there are BBQ pits just outside the units. The down side of this is that some of the unit's refrigerators emit an unpleasant odour and we had to request a change of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It's a long distance from the beach but the beach is not somewhere you would want to swim in anyway.... good location as quite cosy for families to stay in. Lots of other families there as well.... good for gatherings locally....

NO WiFi in room.... only at main lobby.... please do something about it.... how is it going to be without it....

Unit is a bit worn out thou.... and it sucks when they don't allow external catering companies.... they own catering restaurant really sucks.... the food quality is really bad.... the amount is so little too..... and parking is chargeable when we booked the chalet. It used to be free for the guest as we'd already paid for the chalet, shouldn't it be included for the package?

BBQ pit is easily accessible for guests as its right in front of the unit. When there aren't many guests, it should be a good experience. But when all the units are taken up and everybody starts to BBQ, then the smell gets really overwhelming, especially we are all side by side.... i think this is inevitable. SO perhaps during the peak period, this might not be a good choice then....

Room Tip: Rooms away from swimming pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a 4 days 3 nights staycation away from home at the resort to celebrate my daughter's 1st birthday.

Location: A bit off the main road but it is still accessible. Can always walk over from Downtown East if you wish (simply done by cutting across the park).

Service staff: Friendly and helpful. The check-in was considered straight forward and fast. The night shift staff was kind enough to help with a fax that silly me forgot to send out during the daytime. The housekeeping lady was cheerful and accommodating. My daughter was asleep in bed when she came by to carry out her duties. So, instead of not changing the bed sheets, she trusted me and left the new bed sheets with me without even bothering to record that she had handed me the new bed sheets.

Room: We had one of the double storey units with a bedroom upstairs. The unit came with a TV in the first storey and another in the bedroom. There was also a refrigerator, a microwave and a thermopot to cook water. The living/dining area on the first storey was simply furnished and spacious. The toilet/bathroom was clean and had hot water. If you forgot to bring your own bath wash, you can choose to use what they have in the dispenser in the shower. The flooring for the entire unit was dated but in good condition. You have a little patio in front of the unit where you can sit around and relax. There is also a BBQ pit for each unit so you can always enjoy some roasted meat or seafood if you wish. The bedroom comes with 2 single beds and two additional mattresses and a little cupboard and is air-conditioned.

Facilities: Within the resort, there is a bicycle rental kiosk that is open during the daytime. There is also a swimming pool, a wading pool, a mini mart (or convenience store) and a cafeteria. Most of the stuff you need can be found inside the resort. If you really can't get what you want, you can always either walk out to Downtown East for a little shopping or take the shuttle service out to the White Sands mall for your needs/wants.

Environment: Can be a bit noisy due to the large crowds around during the evening hours. Sometimes even a bit rowdy. Security seems alright as they do patrol around. Cleanliness is a slight issue though probably due to the large amount of BBQ ongoing around the resort. Pests appear once cleanliness is an issue. We had to deal with a cockroach that probably visited the wrong unit (We did not do any BBQ during our stay and I slaughtered it). Noticed a fair bit cockroach carcasses lying around.

Activities: You can go to the beach and park just behind the resort or walk out to Downtown East for a movie or other activities. If you are adventurous, you can even take a taxi to Changi Village for a meal and a leisure walk or take a boat from Changi Jetty to Pulau Ubin for a date with nature and rustic Singapore.

Overall experience: Enjoyed my 4 days and 3 nights there with my wife and daughter. The service staff were friendly and helpful. All the needs were nearby or at doorstep. Will look to them again if I want to have another staycation. Hopefully they have improved their cleanliness by then. We were lucky to get a unit away from the crowds. It is important to know that during the weekends, the crowds can be a bit loud and even overbearing due to the large numbers and celebrations regularly seen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here in Mar 2013 for 3D2N with my 3 kids. Aloha Loyang is really much better than Aloha Changi (don't confuse the two). The place feels safer as there is some access control driving into the resort and there is only one gate to the beach (which is closed at night for security reasons).

Aloha Loyang has various offerings. The terraces are for younger people who want to BBQ and party through the night. NOT for people who want some quiet and rest in a resort. The Garden View Bungalows are nice but they face the nearby private housing hence not so ideal. My personal favourite are the sea view bungalows. If you would like some nice quiet moments with the family, book early and choose the bungalows at the end of the road (Bungalow Number 12-15 perhaps).

Each bungalow is well endowed (they provide you with 2 blankets and towels per room) with air-coned 4 ensuite rooms (hence it can accomodate 8 persons). The unit comes with a living room, a dining room, a fully equipped kitchen (with a freezer, a fridge, a microwave, a stove, a double sink, pots, pens, knife, plates etc and even washing liquid for cleaning the plates), a common toilet (for guests so they don't use the toilets in the rooms), a small yard, a private driveway for parking your ride, an outdoor table for outdoor eating and a BBQ area. The resident supplier would even call you in the afternoon of checking in to see if you would like him to arrange BBQ stuff for you - quite reasonably priced.

The shared facilities includes a free form pool, a newly renovated indoor kids play room, an indoor arcade, a basketball court, and a small corner for foot reflexology. If you have kids below 12, the pool, playroom and arcade would appeal to them. There is a shop on site selling foodstuff (coffee, instant noodles, snacks) and they also rent out bicycles that you can take out for an hour, 2 hour or even overnight. The bikes can be used to explore the Pasir Ris Beach/Park just outside the backgate of the resort. The shopkeepers are very nice people if you talk to them.

The resort is out of the way. There is a free shuttle service takes takes guests in and out. For more shopping therapy, there is downtown east nearby that offers more serious dining, shopping, getting groceries and even a water theme park.

Having said all the good stuff, I would agree that the resort could do with more professional housekeeping. The walls are oily and stained (probaby from the BBQ and cooking). The toilets and rooms can sometimes be infested with ants, lizards and coackroaches. Afterall, it is a 'beach' resort of sorts so pests can somewhat be expected. The toilets are the most disappointing. The water pressure is poor, the toilet bowls are stained and looked dirty. One of my rooms had a resident lizards who greeted us each time we entered the room. The living room is also not air-coned and has old fashion furniture. It gets warm in the afternoon. The beds are not so comfortable as well and the pillows are quite stiff.

Finally, they have upgraded the TV (to flatscreen) recently so that is a plus. The resort also provides free wifi within each unit so i had no problems getting online anytime.

In summary, i would come back again although i wish they would clean up the place and make the toilets more comfortable - afterall, the toilet is oftentimes the most important place in the entire resort. For the price, the range of things you can do, the rooms, and the close proximity to the beach, i would say this is good value for money.

Room Tip: If you want some peace and quiet, go for the bungalows. they are stand alone buildings with your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Costa sands pair ris is a very nice place to spend with your family and friends. Place is very well maintained. Great for outing. They have barbecue pit outside each villa. Rooms are very nice. Some already upgraded to modern interiors but some still are not. But when it comes to cleanliness and value for money, I truly recommend this place,

Room Tip: Choose a room near the restaurant and swimming pool for a better wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

to be honest, i didnt find it too bad...i mean for the price i paid,i don't expect first class service or facilities.consider ourselves that the air-cons are even functioning properly.i also found it a good point that the barbeque pit in front of the chalet is very convenient as you can easily grab frozen food that may be heavy from the freezer(also a well-functioning facility) to the pit.however i must say that cleanliness issues are present.of course i didnt expect 5 star cleanliness when i booked it.on the whole....not a bad accomadation for one who is looking for a lively gathering with friends or family.not advisable for people seeking a relaxing/quiet getaway.and last but not least,to all those idiots complaining about poor service,poor cleanliness vice-versa,if you really want those services and standards you demand at a budget price then keep dreaming :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You get what you pay for but I expected at least some privacy. The walls are so thin and the adjoining door between my room and the next was so flimsy I could hear every word of my neighbours. That was bad enough but the party they were having went on until 6am despite the "noise curfew" mentioned in the resorts blurb. I complained but it was a waste of time. One night a group of youths decided to spend some time on my patio drinking and talking loudly at about 1am until I told them to [--] off. To be fair they did shout an apology as they ran off.
Not recommended if you want some peace and quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris

Address: 159M Jalan Loyang Besar, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#201 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris Hotel Singapore
Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sands Resort Pasir Ris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.