We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   52 Temple Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Jakarta
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great value for money, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is the second budget hotel that we have been to in Singapore, the first one was our beloved New 7 Stories hotel in Bugis area, which has been closed due to the development of new MRT line. Too bad! And now I would like to write review on Rucksack Inn which I might say a very recommended budget hostel in Singapore.

Actually I found the name Rucksack when I was gooling, and I was curious on how the hotel would be. I search in hostelworld, it is one of the top ranked customers' budget hotel. But when I would like to book through Hostelworld, the private room was not available. I keep on searching how to contact the hotel by email, and finally I found their cute website www.rucksackinn.com They have two branches, the Rucksack Inn 2 is only three buildings away from the original Rucksack Inn. From the outside, it may look small, but once you get inside, you will feel homy especially in the common area where there is the reception, the kitchen where guest can have their breakfast, the four internet tables, and also the tv room.

The shared bathroom located in every floor, so it's ok eventhough we only get their twin room and has to share the bathroom. The bathroom is quiet big and very clean. But the room is too crampy. We got a bunk bed, and the room only enough for the bed and a little space where you can put your luggage. But the facility is ok, new aircon, lcd tv and also tv cable. So for me the twin room is ok especially for SGD 75/night. They also have dorms (of course), double room and triple room.

They manage to keep the hotel very clean all the time. They also provide shoes storage for every room, as guess is prohibited to have their shoes on entering the hostel. The staffs are very friendly and helpfull.

The best part of this hotel of course its location. It's only 5-10 minutes away from Clarke Quay station and also the Central mall, or if you prefer to take bus, than the bust stop just outside Central mall has so many buses passing by. Just like what we did, we took bus 33 to go to Ikea, Anchor Point, and also the same way to return to this hotel. While to go to Orchard we took bus 124 directly. Every place is so easy to reach, and this is the advantage of staying at Rucksack Inn.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Singapore with spouse or friends. But for family going with children, the room is too small.

The picture will be uploaded in my travel blog: www.tesyas.blogspot.com. Enjoy:)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
29
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in Rucksack Inn 2, but visited in 1 too and spaces seem similarly. We slept in a dorm, and it was extremely clean, and so were toilets, showers, kitchen and social facilities too, but there were still backpacker atmosphere, so not steril! Great place to stay if you travel alone. Security was ok, and the staff was so friendly and helpful, if you ask something and they don´t know the answer, they will found it out for you. Metro was 2 min walks away. Free internet and computers!
Air con was working only night time, so if you don´t wake up 8am, it might by quite hot. But nothing bad to say about this place!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My boyfriend and i stayed in a private double.

There were two single beds which were comfy, a bedside table, two bedside lamps, air con and a place to hang clothes.

I am a light sleeper and i slept ok, despite being the toom next to the dorm. We got woken up a couple of times by people coming and going but that was to be expected.

The hostel has shared bathroom facilities, there are 2 toilets and 2 showers, all of which are clean. We had no problems waiting for the showers as we were up around 7 or 8 each day.... and they were always hot!

There is a shared kitchen with micro wave, toaster fridge/freezer... and there is free water/tea/coffee along with toast with butter/jam/peanut butter avaliable all day!!

In the lounge there are sofas, tv, wiis and i think playstations too and free wi fi, along with the use of 3 pcs

We did not use the service but they provide washing and drying of clothes.

The location is fantastic!! Right at clarke quay, and is so easy to get around everywhere on the mrt!!

Would def stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed in Rucksack inn 2, located a few doors down from the original rucksack inn. Its a nice hostel, very clean, nice staff, free tea and toast, 24 hour reception, free internet, excellent location; just across the road from Clarke Quay and the mrt station.

The only issues maybe the noise. There is a tacky pub next door to it blaring out awful karaoke until 3am, sometimes later than that. So you definately wont be getting any sleep before then. It can be heard all over the hostel. Very annoying if you want to up early to tour around.
Also you have to pay for towels and any laundry you want to wash. Rooms are a little small as are the bathrooms. And there are only 4 computers so you may have to wait your turn.

Overall, an alright place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Definitely the best location in town for a Hostel. You are literally downtown close to all the sightseeing attractions like The Merlion Statue, Clarke Quay, Boat Quay, The Sands Hotel, River Walk, Malls, Chinatown, MTR ( rail system ) and much more.

The staff is very helpful and very attentive. The girl at the counter interrupted her dinner just to show me around which I insisted she dint but she still did.

The place is neatly clean. Restrooms, common areas, lobby and other surroundings are spotless. They pay attention to detail.

I recommend this Hostel to any traveler looking for comfort and budget at the same time combined with the greatest location around.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights for the Grand Prix. Wanted a private room but they were booked up way in advance so went into the dorm - 30 beds. There were a few people coming in late but overall we enjoyed our stay and the service was great - always a friendly smile when you returned from a day out and the free internet was a bonus too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

rucksack inn is what you dream of when entering a hostel. it is like you are coming home. the hotel is the best starting point for a short stay in singapore. next to nightlife area clarke quay and about ten minute walk to city hall. MRT station is 2mins away. the hostel is very clean, nice rooms also the dorm is a good option, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. they have shared bathrooms but they are like private ones. breakfast is included the hole day just make yourself a tea in the afternoon. They also have 3 computers for internet and free wifi. if you search the perfect hostel in singapore, you found it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street

Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have moved! Now bigger, better and posh! Finally! A backpackers’ hotel by backpackers! Rucksack is conceptualized by a group of backpackers who wanted something on top of the range and yet at very friendly rates! What can we say? Life is demanding and we want the comfort and we want it at a really affordable price, and I mean really affordable! We are newly renovated and touted as the 5 star luxury backpacker's hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.