We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy hostel but too many beds in dorm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street to your Saves list
Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   52 Temple Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“cozy hostel but too many beds in dorm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Very clean hostel, lovely staff great you at the reception. You keep your shoes in a little box outside. The dorm rooms had 28 beds in them, it was hard to sleep when 4 people were snoring loudly! you get a locker in the room which is great for laptops etc. the free breakfast and internet was good too. Great location to get to places, I would recommend this hostel for budget travellers but remember to take earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    101
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
29
77
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

After reading several reviews and selecting from among dozens of hostels in Singapore, I found Rucksack Inn to be the most convenient and I was definitely right! My stay in the place was comfortable and very convenient. It's near the MRT plus the place is clean and cozy. It was my first time (and my friends, as well) to stay in a hostel, but we didn't have trouble adjusting to the arrangement. :) The staff was also friendly, especially the one who received us. They also host a free tour in Chinatown on Sundays which was a huge bonus! I'd stay there again when I visit the lovely Singapura!

Room Tip: Go for a private room if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at the Ruck Sack Inn 2 for one night. The staff are incredibly friendly - it's the really small things like being given a glass of cold water upon arrival made it ultra special.

The location was brilliant. A short walk to Clarke Quay and MRT station. The only downsides of the stay was the karaoke night in the bar right next door was very audible from my room. Also I would have preferred to have a duvet quilt to lie under rather than a very thin (but pretty) sheet. The Wi-fi was a little unstable during my stay which wasn't a major issue, only a minor inconvenience at times.

Otherwise good value for money and I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 night as our previous hostel was booked up and we had to move next door to Ruck Sack Inn 2. The service was brilliant although a little confusion in the language barrier as the lady said our reservation we had made the previous day wasn't actually in the system but we eventually got in. Incredibly clean, infact that is all the staff did. Communal areas we great too with a nice lounge area and a good selection of Lonely Planet guides to take anyones fancy. Also a 5 minute walk to one of two MRT stations - Clarke Quay and ChinaTown. Overall we had a great experience and would recommend to anyone visiting Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed in both ruscksack inn 1 and 2 in private room. The space for both was really small, and i think a bit overpriced for the size of the room.. but again, it's singapore! don't expect anything cheap! Great ambiance in the living room, spotlessly clean bathrooms. They even provide shampoo and shower gel! I am not used to share bathrooms but this was not a problem at all at Rucksack! I looooooved the staff they were really helpful and nice and just looked happy to do their jobs :) The use for coffee/tea and toast through the day is really nice for those who return for a quick break to the hotel. I recommend Rucksack for those travelling with friends or alone as it is the best backpacker experience ever!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This was our first stop on our 2 month travels away from New Zealand, mum travelling with 2 teenage girls. We found Rucksack Inn's website and book direct, 2 nights in triple room, which was a double bed & a set of bunk beds with air conditioning for sig$198, breakfast included, shared bathroom.

Check in was easy & quick, although I did take a copy of my booking email to present. Our room was of a decent size, enough to hold 3 large suitcases & 3 carryon backpacks. We found the airconditioning VERY good & free wifi kept the girls happy, there was also by memory 4 desktops also available in lobby area, free. Bathrooms were always clean, although a couple of times we did have to wait, but not more than 10mins.

Word of warning, hostel is up 2 massive steep flights of stairs, and travelling with 2 teenage daughters with all their luggage, this indeed was very difficult for us to manage, but if you are all good carring up your bags, then for the price, I think it serves the purpose well.

The MRT is very close, under 5 min walk, and we used that to travel everywhere that we needed to go to. Chinatown is about at 15mins walk which we found to be where we purchased our bits & pieces from, take a bottle of water with you, it's hot work walking around, but great to see the sights.

Breakfast was basic, mainly toast & spreads, but as it is available at anytime of the day, this also served us for a snack when we needed it, usual spreads available.

What I enjoyed mostly, was sitting around the breakfast table, and chatting to people from all over the world, during our trip away, we stayed at many many places, but I rank the Rucksack as one of the best friendliest place that I enjoyed chatting to people, the room is basic, not the Hilton (which we did stay at along the way), but as we were out & about, it did the job. We took a taxi to the airport when it was time to leave, sig$25, and we were able to store all our bags in the morning in a large luggage room, although the room is open, they always had someone on the front desk, until our late evening flight out of Singapore, this was very handy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed at Rucksack Inn 2 recently. Great location as it's within walking distance to Clarke Quay (nightlife) and Chinatown (great food + souvenirs). However it's next to a pub, so expect some noise and karaoke during the night. I stayed on the 3rd floor so the impact is minimum.

Towels are provided for private room. The triple room offered is a little small, equipped with WiFi, air-condition and cable TV. The shared bathrooms are really clean, and there's a bathroom for each floor. There's a kitchen where you can make yourself some coffee or tea and bread with jams. I didn't try the bread though cause it's already way exceed expiry date (1 week+). 3 public PCs with internet connection can be found at the common area, with a large TV and mini library.

Overall, the staffs are friendly and helpful, the place is clean and it is one of the great place to stay for budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street

Address: 52 Temple Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have moved! Now bigger, better and posh! Finally! A backpackers’ hotel by backpackers! Rucksack is conceptualized by a group of backpackers who wanted something on top of the range and yet at very friendly rates! What can we say? Life is demanding and we want the comfort and we want it at a really affordable price, and I mean really affordable! We are newly renovated and touted as the 5 star luxury backpacker's hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rucksack Hotel Singapore
Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rucksack Inn @ Temple Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.