We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regret” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Service World Backpackers Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Service World Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Service World Backpackers Hostel
Block 5, #02-82 , Banda Street, Singapore 50005, Singapore (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Surabaya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Regret”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just only cheap hostel with supreme location next to outrampark MRT 2-5 min walkaway.

I stay on a share room for 10 ppl. The sheet just so so. The toilet was very small, but still ok for me. But the cleanliness of the toilet was so bad.

Breakfast just so so, but they have their own restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in chinatown and the mrt is enough close, just 5min walking from it.
The hostel is not easy to find, it's at the second floor of a block, the batroom is really small and quite dirty. A.wifi connection is also available
The staff is pretty much nice but not always present at the hostel, in fact we have to call the owner for having a room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Don't come in here expecting more than a place to sleep at night, take a shower in the morning and continue your tourist experience in the city, after a delicious, but definitely basic, breakfast. The beds are bunkbed style, and I was most impressed by the security setup, whereby there was a security code to enter, and spacious lockers to stash your stuff in. I only stayed over a weekend, so did not have too much trouble. i'm assuming the line for the bathroom would be the most frustrating part for people, but if you get up early enough you can avoid that hassle. Overall, the owner/staff are fantastic people, the location couldn't be easier to locate or more central to the city, and the rates are very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Sorry for the late review , but I stayed here back in April 2011. It was during the rainy season, and I stayed here only for one night . The owner of this place Mr. Andrew is a great guy. Even though I chatted with him for only a few minutes, i know that he's friendly. The bed and toilet are all clean and in the morning they even give us some bread to make toast . On the downside, the place is kinda hard to find. It is very hidden, and during my search of this place, i have to call Mr Andrew a few times for some directions. Oh and also, when i stayed here I slept in the top bunk, while the ceiling lights are really close to me. Hahaha .
But anyway, good price for a good place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Myself and 2 other backpackers passed through Singapore, with the intentions of staying only 1 day. After a long day of airports, traveling, and hauling heavy baggage, we finally arrived at Service World Backpacker Hostel. Because our flight left at 7am the following morning, we didn't need a place to sleep. We just needed a place to set our bags down for a few hours so we could explore the city. The staff at this hostel were extremely rude, unaccommodating, and quite frankly, we felt very disrespected that they rejected our service. We offered to pay for a room to just leave our luggage for a few hours. They wouldn't allow it and the worst part about it was, they didn't even supply a reason! All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone. They handled the situation with very little class and with complete disregard to accommodate backpackers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I believe the Service World Backpackers has two properties. We were sent to the smaller hostel. This place was not only smaller in the amount of guests they can accomodate, but small all around. It felt like it was once one unit in a retail & housing block in Chinatown, but has been modified to squeeze as many beds in as possible. We couldn't walk to our room (through the main dorm) with our rucksacks on our backs - it's that much of a squeeze.

The hostel is hidden in a random block so isn't too easy to find, especially as not all lifts go to the floor.... However Chinatown is a good place to be based for exploring Singapore, it's close to the MRT and some good eateries too.

The facilities in the hostel are also miniature. The bathroom are pods that have been squished into the kitchen, there are only two.

The member of staff was really friendly and tried to communicate with us the best he could. We were allowed to check in at 10am which was really helpful.

I would only stay here again if I couldn't find anywhere else, as it is too small when busy. However it is kept really clean.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I love this backpackers hostel. I have enjoyed my all days and nights. it is situated in such a place where you can easily connect to other happening places. staffs are very nice and helpful. Big thanks to Mr. Andrew, Arvel, Karen, Mitch and tressa. Miss you all.
Best Wishes
Pema from INDIA

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Service World Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Service World Backpackers Hostel

Address: Block 5, #02-82 , Banda Street, Singapore 50005, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Service World Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Service World Backpackers Hotel Chinatown
Service World Backpackers Hostel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Service World Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.