We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality

Save Saved
You added Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality
20 Havelock Road, Singapore 059765, Singapore (Formerly Central Square Village Residences )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Perth, Australia
1 review
“What a fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Exceptional customer service, we arrived very early in the morning and they were able to accomodate us with a room so we could sleep and enjoy our the start of our holiday.
Rooms were very clean and spacious.
The pool was very clean and is located up on the fourth floor, easy to access.
Location was 5 minutes from the MRT.
Staff very efficient and friendly and were determined to give their customer the very best of service.
An excellent experience can highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Michelle,

It is really such an honour to receive your great compliments for TEAM Central Square Village Residences.

I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
2
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nerima-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed three months.
Front staffs are very polite.
Guests can have breakfast every weekday.
breakfast staffs are friendly and they have good manner.
I like this service apartment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Tetsusi,

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The TEAM will be encouraged to know that their service and efforts have been appreciated.

We certainly hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Regards,

Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

After a very long search in Sydney for serviced apartments that would accept our large dog we finally found this place for our initial stay in Singapore before finding our own place.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on level 4 which was the same level as the pool and garden which if it was planned was really thoughtful so our bear didn't need to go up and down in a lift when he needed to go to the toilet.

Firstly the apartment - It was a good size for what we wanted, clean with a well equipped kitchen. The apartment was quiet and often felt like we were the only ones on this floor. Cleaners can three times a well on Monday's, Wednesday and Fridays, which was great! They did a great job and was lovely having fresh towel and linen.

The property - is in a great location, you are short stroll to Clarke Quay (if you want lots of bars to drink in, a bit tacky but fun). Robertson Quay for nice riverside walk, food shop, good restaurants (Boomerang allows dogs so we would walk the dog down there for a drink and something to eat), there is also an unofficial off leash area a but further down where locals let their dogs case the ball (everyone is really friendly) and of course the great China town. Clarke Quay MRT and Buses are right on your door step.

The Facilities - Great is all I can say, good sized gym and pool which was constantly clean and nice BBQ area. There was a free BBQ on the Friday night we arrived and I would strongly recommend you go. Food was really nice and free flowing beer so my husband was happy. But gave us a chance to meet some new people.

The Service - Was really good, from the grounds people to the maids everyone would say good morning. The reception team are really helpful and if you have a question just ask they will give you great advice. Once again couldn't fault them.

My Dog - He settled in really well. The maids where a little scared of him so I would take him out for a hour when they wanted to clean the room but apartment from that he was well liked. Even had the reception watch him while I had to pop back up to the room to grab something and when I came back he was getting a lot of love which he lapped up!

Only thing that annoyed me a little bit was that they had to change the light fittings on rooms and I was told it would only take 2 hours but ended up being the whole day. So my dog had to be out of the room and being in a very hot country he couldn't stay outside for all that time. But the team was very help, gave us a spare room and even followed up by calling and apologised.

If you are looking to relocate to Singapore with you dog and worried. Don't be. Its not as bad as some of the blogs say. Yes there are times when people get scared and run away but that's their problem and I can only just laugh as I know that all my bear would do is lick them to death. Singapore does love dogs and Central Square Village is a great place to stay with your dog until you find somewhere more permanent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Barnsley,

It has been great to have you and your 'large' family member with us!

I would like to apologise again on the inconvenience caused to you during the lighting replacement. I was equally disappointed that the time took longer than expected. However, I am glad that we managed to cut down your inconvenience with a temporary room arrangement for you then.

We wish you and your family all the best at your new home.

Best Regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Central Square has service apartments located next to the happening place ‘Clarke Quay’.
There are many pubs on one side of hippos river and other side has got a mall on top of Clarke Quay metro station.
Facilities:
Staff is friendly and always willing to help you on places to visit in Singapore. They also have information cards for package tours to Zoo, night safari, bird park, sentosa etc.
On top of parking floor is swimming pool, next to it is gym and Sauna bath. There are some plants to give it garden pool look, but don’t expect outstanding view from pool.

Apartment:
We stayed in one bedroom apartment.
Next to entrance gate is small kitchen with utensils, microwave, fridge, kittle and storage cupboards.
Living room is big with nice LCD, sofa for 5 people, 2 ACs and a dining table with 4 chairs.
Bedroom is bit small compared to living room but bed is comfortable, so sleep quality is excellent.
Bathroom is ok, toiletries are also ok. There is no bathtub, which was disappointing.
No balcony attached to apartment.

Breakfast:
Standard breakfast with variety of stuff. However to have breakfast, you need to walk a bit and go to another building altogether.

Laundry:
This being a service apartment should contain washing machine and dryer in the apartment which is not there.
There is dedicated laundry room and you need to be in queue to get your clothes done.

Enjoyed one month stay at Central Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ashwin81,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We understand the importance of having a washing machine in the apartment and we are trying our best to make this possible in some of our units.

Be sure to request for a unit with washing machine the next time you stay with us. We await to welcome you in our residence, which has been renamed to "Village Residence Clarke Quay".

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile


It was a nice experience to stayed here.. I was skeptical as a friend was the one that made all the arrangement and not really ever experienced stay besides at usual hotels.. but glad to stay at this serviced apartment, its clean ( such a friendly housekeeping staffs to attend to our extra request) and spacious enough and such great location to 2 major areas : clarke quay and chinatown!! Both very short walking distance within 3-5mins.... Easy to find supermarket and eateries at anytime.

The front desk staffs are great, one occasion that they were busy but they were willing to help us in explaining about our many questions on singapore's attractions. Especially for being tourists, we simply have not much clues....unlike many concierge usually only gave us map, points and thats it...thank you again ms Ace...hope i recall her name correctly? the chinese lady in the black suit with the big smile, shes enthusiast and patience enough to tell more about interesting places for us to visit here without getting lost at the end ;)

The pool also one of the nice thing, medium size and clean and not crowded one so we had our truly relaxing time.

Overall, we had a great time staying here and highly recommend to any visitor to singapore than staying at just a usual hotel....
Till next visit....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ceb88ceb,

Thank you for your review and compliments for the TEAM, especially my Duty Manager, Ace Tan.

We certainly hope to host you again in our residence soon. Our residence has been renamed to 'Village Residence Clarke Quay'.

Best regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Smart modern accommodation in a variety of apartments with excellent access to the city and many of the visitor attractions. Central Square village is serviced apartments and so lacks the amenities of a holiday hotel although typical to Singapore has well laid out gardens , wonderful pool area with gym, sauna and Jacuzzi and easy access to shopping and food outlets.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the attention and friendliness really made our holiday fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Gill G,

We are glad that you had a fabulous stay with us. Nothing is too much trouble for us as it is important that you have a comfortable stay.

We hope to serve you again in our residence, which has been renamed to "Village Residence Clarke Quay".

Regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay here for at least one week every 2-3 months. We considered to change another hotel or service apartment before, but never found one that could be better than here! The room is very clean and nice design; the kitchen is important for us to cook simple food when necessary; the most important thing to attract our continue support is the friendly staffs! They could satisfy all special requirements! We confirm to suport Central Square Village in the future, because of the friendly and beautiful staffs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seowyn, Residence Manager at Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear DONGXING,

It gives me great pleasure to read your review on my wonderful staff, again and again.

The TEAM is much motivated to see your compliments for them and will definitely look forward to serving you in our residence, as frequent as you can.

Regards,

Seow Yen Nee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality

Address: 20 Havelock Road, Singapore 059765, Singapore (Formerly Central Square Village Residences )
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 182 Specialty lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance away to Singapore’s Central Business District, Village Residence Clarke Quay provides easy access for executives on short stays in Singapore who have regular work commitments or frequent business meetings at Raffles Place and Tanjong Pagar areas. The serviced residences is also accessible by foot to a wide range of dining and shopping options along the Clarke Quay riverside and the rich cultural heritage which awaits at Chinatown. A brisk 5-minute walk will also bring you to Central shopping centre and Clarke Quay MRT, which connects to rest of Singapore. In addition, the Orchard shopping belt is only 5 minutes away by car.Village Residence Clarke Quay has Straits Chinese elements with its corridors’ decorations of wood carvings and hand painted ceramic tiles. Each of the 128 service residences comes with a fully-equipped kitchen, cable television, Wi-Fi and wonderful city views which include the subordinate courts, and even some authentic Peranakan terrace shop houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Square Village Residences Hotel Singapore
Village Residence Clarke Quay By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Residence Clarke Quay by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.