We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81-Tristar to your Saves list
Hotel 81-Tristar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Common Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I always book this hotel just to relax with my fiancée. There's a swimming pool open for 24 hours where we chill out till 2-3am with no disturbance. Good food can be found almost at every angle downstairs. Value for money. Nothing extravagant but better than other hotel 81.

Room Tip: Ask for Level 3 cos that's where the swimming pool is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    79
    61
    18
    8
See reviews for
44
30
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel may not be of a very high standard, but it's very conveniently located especially if you're Malay. It's close by to the food stalls and within walking distance to the shops that sells traditional Malay clothes. My family always stay here whenever we go to Singapore. We were there for 9 nights. The air con was cold, the room was clean and the toilet was clean. Only the bath may need abit of work. The staff were friendly. Can't complain, you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: The west side rooms are quieter. Level 3 rooms are good, nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for a family of 2 adult & 2 child.
On the first day, the room was dusty, but we managed to inform the housekeeping guy, which he had helped to make the room more cleaner.
Would recommend for this hotel if anyone is planning to not spend time a lot in the hotel.

On positive side, the hotel is located at Onan Road, Geylang, where halal food for Muslims will not be a problem. There's a restaurant nearby (checkout the putu piring, its very yummy)The nearest MRT will be Paya Lebar, its about 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Paid for a family room for 4 adults. Only bedding for 3 in the room. They tried to charge extra for a rollaway bed. Our room had cockroaches and bugs in it along with a leaking toilet all over bathroom floor. We asked for toilet to be looked at but noone came. Airconditioning didnt work so room was hot. If we were staying for more than 2 nights we would have moved hotels. Would not go back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The room is huge enough,however the toilet pipe is leaking non stop , obviously will disturb your sweet dream ~ you can hear clearly when someone walk by your door ,soundproof is very worst ~
When The 2nd day we back from outside , there is a big cockroach in our room and walk thru infront of me , it is terrible disgusting ~ I Dont even know the bed is still clean anot ~
The distance from Paya Lebar MRT station to the hotel is quite far , took more than 10 min~ Will not come back anymore ~
There is a food court and mamak near the hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

As I heard about Singapore being an expensive place I was not surprised being charged around £70 per night in this hotel. On the other hand our room was spacey and the swimming pool on the third floor was a very nice surprise. The hotel staff was really very helpful with giving us tips and recommendations where to go and what to see on our first visit to this beautiful city. So overall experience is positive. I would just probably expect a bit more for the price, but well...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Singapore hotels seem to be expensive and this one was no exception. It doesn't offer much for the price however I couldn't find anything else much cheaper. Its in an OK location and not too expensive for taxi from the airport. Its cheaper than catching a taxi to the city. Its old but rooms were clean. We stayed one night only as a stopover. Dale, Andy and Liz.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Address: 1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81-Tristar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.