We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at 81 tristar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 81-Tristar to your Saves list
Hotel 81-Tristar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“stay at 81 tristar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean but very basic. Bathroom was ok. The WI FI was weak and to connect we have to go to corridor. Advantage is close to MRT station and taxis are available just outside. Not many restaurants near by. The location is away from major attractions in the country. If no option then ok for budget hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    77
    60
    17
    8
See reviews for
43
28
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Very average hotel with our room in need of a thorough clean- mould could be seen in all the cracks in the bathroom , no cake of soap supplied & one towel had already been used.. The control panel on the air/control had been trashed so it looked as if adjusting the a/c was not possible . Fortunately the a/c settings were ok for us..
The roomy bedroom was adequate , the bed was comfy with clean linen while the tv & free wifi all worked.
Staff were efficient, not overly friendly but helpful to get a taxi quickly and it's not far from the airport
Overall, disappointing for the money !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, QLD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel 81 Tristar for 8 nights from 12 September, 2013. The room was spacious but very basic. Bed was ok but a bit firm, the TV worked but there were limited channels. The bathroom was ok, with the shower over the bath and the shower head was very low but the water was hot. There were two complementary toothbrushes and a shower cap and soap in a dispenser on the wall near the shower so take your own toiletries and soap if you are staying there. When we checked in there were only 2 towels and no bathmat but when they gave us fresh towels each day they usually left one towel behind which we used as a bathmat. Two small bottles of water were left in the room each day and the bed linen was changed. Not much other cleaning was done in the room. We had two rooms and they were on the same floor and close together on level 3 which was the level the pool was on. The pool is quite large but only 1 metre deep but it was fine for cooling off after a day of sightseeing. There were several sunlounges around the pool but not much else. Next to the Hotel entrance is a small Cheers store which sold drinks and other basic grocery items etc which was very handy. There is a supermarket in Joo Chiat Road (road behind the hotel). The MRT station was a 10 minute walk and there is a small shopping centre with a couple of coffee shops and supermarket and McDonalds. There is free WiFi in the hotel, we were given a password on check in which worked for the whole stay. The WiFi was a bit weak at times but it worked most of the time. If budget is a consideration I would stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 304 which is close to the door out to the pool and not far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For less than the price of a city hotel you get a room 2 or 3 times. Staff very helpful and friendly. Close MRT (airport line) and in an interesting area, eg Joo Chiat Rd, with plenty of places to eat. We have stayed there several times as we think it's excellent value for money in a city that has now become very expensive for hotels. Rooms vary a bit and are a little tatty but they are fine

Room Tip: Try room 407 the 'honeymoon suite' for something different!. Some rooms on the top (4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Room floor was very dusty. On my first day, the fire alarm trigger repeatedly in the early morning waking up all hotel guest. On my last day stay, the airconditioning got heavy leaks due to condensation. Free wifi but bad connection. Room telephone is not working. Swimming pool was okay and towel is provided without charges. Hotel staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel 81 Tristar. We have chosen to stay here twice (for a 2 - 3 day stopover on our way to other Asian destinations) because it meets our criteria of:

- Family rooms that will allow 2 adults & 2 teens (most budget family rooms only allow a maximum of 3 - or children under 12yrs)
- Budget priced (Singapore is not cheap and we just want somewhere to sleep)
- Good location - close to airport (for late arrivals and early departures) and public transport (walking distance from Paya Lebar MRT & buses within meters)
- Pool (most other budget hotels don't have a pool)

The hotel itself is fairly basic and somewhat dated but is more than adequate if like us you will be out & about most of the time and just need somewhere to sleep. The family rooms are very large and spacious and the surrounding area is safe & has many good hawker stalls (including a mini-mart and food center right under the hotel)

The one things that in my opinion lets this hotel down is the standard of day to day cleaning - the bedding & linen are great but while the hallways & rooms are clean enough to be acceptable a really good deep clean (eg dust under beds, removing scuff marks from the walls, polishing floors) would make all the difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Normal hotel, average service.
Normal speed of internet.
The best thing is near to the MRT station (Paya Lebar).
You can get a convenience shop and food just a corner of hotel.
I stayed here for 1 night because of business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Address: 1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81-Tristar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.