We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in Malayan, muslim area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81-Tristar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel 81-Tristar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel in Malayan, muslim area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Very average hotel with our room in need of a thorough clean- mould could be seen in all the cracks in the bathroom , no cake of soap supplied & one towel had already been used.. The control panel on the air/control had been trashed so it looked as if adjusting the a/c was not possible . Fortunately the a/c settings were ok for us..
The roomy bedroom was adequate , the bed was comfy with clean linen while the tv & free wifi all worked.
Staff were efficient, not overly friendly but helpful to get a taxi quickly and it's not far from the airport
Overall, disappointing for the money !

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    72
    58
    17
    8
See reviews for
42
25
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, QLD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel 81 Tristar for 8 nights from 12 September, 2013. The room was spacious but very basic. Bed was ok but a bit firm, the TV worked but there were limited channels. The bathroom was ok, with the shower over the bath and the shower head was very low but the water was hot. There were two complementary toothbrushes and a shower cap and soap in a dispenser on the wall near the shower so take your own toiletries and soap if you are staying there. When we checked in there were only 2 towels and no bathmat but when they gave us fresh towels each day they usually left one towel behind which we used as a bathmat. Two small bottles of water were left in the room each day and the bed linen was changed. Not much other cleaning was done in the room. We had two rooms and they were on the same floor and close together on level 3 which was the level the pool was on. The pool is quite large but only 1 metre deep but it was fine for cooling off after a day of sightseeing. There were several sunlounges around the pool but not much else. Next to the Hotel entrance is a small Cheers store which sold drinks and other basic grocery items etc which was very handy. There is a supermarket in Joo Chiat Road (road behind the hotel). The MRT station was a 10 minute walk and there is a small shopping centre with a couple of coffee shops and supermarket and McDonalds. There is free WiFi in the hotel, we were given a password on check in which worked for the whole stay. The WiFi was a bit weak at times but it worked most of the time. If budget is a consideration I would stay at this hotel again .

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 304 which is close to the door out to the pool and not far from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

For less than the price of a city hotel you get a room 2 or 3 times. Staff very helpful and friendly. Close MRT (airport line) and in an interesting area, eg Joo Chiat Rd, with plenty of places to eat. We have stayed there several times as we think it's excellent value for money in a city that has now become very expensive for hotels. Rooms vary a bit and are a little tatty but they are fine

Room Tip: Try room 407 the 'honeymoon suite' for something different!. Some rooms on the top (4th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Room floor was very dusty. On my first day, the fire alarm trigger repeatedly in the early morning waking up all hotel guest. On my last day stay, the airconditioning got heavy leaks due to condensation. Free wifi but bad connection. Room telephone is not working. Swimming pool was okay and towel is provided without charges. Hotel staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntly, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel 81 Tristar. We have chosen to stay here twice (for a 2 - 3 day stopover on our way to other Asian destinations) because it meets our criteria of:

- Family rooms that will allow 2 adults & 2 teens (most budget family rooms only allow a maximum of 3 - or children under 12yrs)
- Budget priced (Singapore is not cheap and we just want somewhere to sleep)
- Good location - close to airport (for late arrivals and early departures) and public transport (walking distance from Paya Lebar MRT & buses within meters)
- Pool (most other budget hotels don't have a pool)

The hotel itself is fairly basic and somewhat dated but is more than adequate if like us you will be out & about most of the time and just need somewhere to sleep. The family rooms are very large and spacious and the surrounding area is safe & has many good hawker stalls (including a mini-mart and food center right under the hotel)

The one things that in my opinion lets this hotel down is the standard of day to day cleaning - the bedding & linen are great but while the hallways & rooms are clean enough to be acceptable a really good deep clean (eg dust under beds, removing scuff marks from the walls, polishing floors) would make all the difference!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Normal hotel, average service.
Normal speed of internet.
The best thing is near to the MRT station (Paya Lebar).
You can get a convenience shop and food just a corner of hotel.
I stayed here for 1 night because of business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was a plesant experience. We could easily walk to the train station and after we finished shopping it was nice to relax in the pool. In addition the staff was very friendly and informative. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Address: 1 Onan Road, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81-Tristar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.