We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Classic

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 Classic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 81 Classic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427353, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Livingston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good Budget Hotel - clean safe - Great Staff very friendly - Singapore Hotels are high priced so a good budget hotel is something you need to find. About half way between the airport and city, located in a Malay Area. Next to several restaurants and a grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
5
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and it was pretty unpleasant. The room had no window, was very small and there was no shower curtain.
I'm pretty sure I saw people checking in with hookers when I arrived, seems like that kind of place they rent out by the hour.
I asked them to call me a taxi when I was leaving and the guy said I would be able to find one on the street, it was 10 minutes before I finally got one.
Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Lak, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A lot of better hotel 81 such us hotel tristar which is just beside this one. A quite fr work to the train station. Well the good thing is a lot of food store beside. but the room is the worst. Can you inagine to have a room without window? My partner thought it is 6 in the morning but never the less its already 12 noon. The bath tub is the worst. Looks so dirty and have a lot of molds. This hotel is not for vacation oeople this hotel is for people who wants to have other agenda maybe. We uograded to a deluxe room which has windows, and now the problem is water leaking on the bathroom omg. Just avoid avoid avoid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Terrible experience starting from front desk/reception service to the room itself. Staff were so unfriendly. Couldn't even offer us a smile. The room has no window. It is so small I was lucky I was staying alone. Two people would make it congested. Bathroom is also small with a bathtub. No bidet or water closet so it was kinda of difficult to clean up after doing our "business". Taking a shower in the bathtub was not a problem but the problem is getting out of the bathtub cos there was no handlebar for us to hold. Tv channels were terrible, no cable tv in the room. The only plus point I can give is its location which is right in Geylang Serai so it is very convenient to get halal food. Otherwise, a total disappointment!

Room Tip: Ask for room with window. But I don't know if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My god, the shower pressure was the best I've had in any hotel I have stayed. Apart from that, the hotel was what I have expected for the price paid. Close to the airport. Bathroom, linen is clean. Air on is working well, towels clean, quiet, very helpful staff, free Internet. Again, perfect pad close to the airport if you need to sleep for 12 hours or so. Well definitely choose this hotel again if I need to stay close to the airport.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This a good pick for the ones who come just to rest at night. you get neat but SMALL room. The only thing that might disturb your sleep is the noises and disturbances people make round the clock..as there are lots of people who take rooms for one hour or more...and these people will be coming and going out making lots of noises like the sound of their heels, giggles and loud talks. The people at reception changes twice daily and unfortunately they call up your room and asks whether you will checkout that day. There is no use answering them, because after 12 hours, the next group takes charge and they also do the same!!! The hotel did not have a restaurant but there is a good Malaysian restaurant adjacent to it and the dishes are yummy. There is also no swimming pool. The hotel also has a family room that too is small but neat. The rooms did not have windows though! Not recommended for travellers with children because they hardly get any space to play. No room for luggage too. One thing which I did not understand was their air fresher smelled like cigarette... everywhere from the reception to the lift to the room... smelled cigarette... Its high time they changed their air freshener. The hotel is close to Paya Lebar MRT The malay village is near by and you will also get a food court nearby with lots of varieties. The place is close to airport as well..
Except for the small room, cigarette smelling air freshener and loud noises outside, its a hotel with affordable rates.

Room Tip: If you want rooms with window, you have to ask specifically. Though the windows are sealed from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had never been to Singapore and were just looking for a clean place to stay near an MRT station. This place is great for someone who only wants a "home base" for sleeping. Easy walk to an MRT station (Paya Lebar; also a transfer station). The room we stayed in didn't have a window but it was good sized and clean. An easy walk to a local food court offering Malay and Chinese food at great prices and also a great prata place, clean and well-lighted, on the same block as the hotel that was open late (after 10 pm). We had the superior room which offered the free internet.
Classic 81 served our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: If you really need a room with a window, you'll have to pay more. But this hotel is really just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Classic

Address: 12 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427353, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Classic 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Classic Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.