We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms the size of a matchbox” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Classic

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 Classic to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 Classic
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427353, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rooms the size of a matchbox”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had to extend my Singapore stay for a few more days and the only place I could find close by to where I was staying earlier was this hotel. The rooms came at a premium cost ($130 a night) and at that cost, they were pretty ordinary.

When I walked into the room, I was surprised to see the size! It was about 8feet by 8 feet. There was nowhere I could place my luggage and this meant that movement was restricted in the already small room. The shower took almost 2 full minutes until it dispensed hot water and the AC fluctuated from really cold to really warm in 30 minutes. The staff itself was not very cooperative and were almost gruff when asked for any request. Suffice it to say that I was very happy to move out of the hotel after 2 days.

Room Tip: Don't commit the mistake I made. Ask to see the room before you book it. Only book if the room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    14
    8
    10
See reviews for
11
5
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Whatever you do - don't stay here. It is filthy, disgusting and tried to ruin our visit to Singapore. Even with a budget, we decided to leave after having paid for last night as we couldn't stand it any longer. We wondered about catching something and also wondered if we might be dirtier coming out of the bathroom than before going in to shower. Reception staff we very nice but it is disgusting. Extremely noisy, plastic covered mattresses made it hot, especialy when covered by sheets with holes in them. What more needs to be said - nothing - don't bother. Pay a little bit extra and enjoy your visit.

Room Tip: Look for somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

It is what it is. A budget hotel ideal for a short stay.

I only needed a place to sleep on a stopover in Singapore.

Yes it's small etc, but that's what I was expecting so it wasn't a concern. There is NEVER an excuse for dirty, filthy unkept rooms however.

The bathroom was covered in mould and the floors obviously had not been cleaned for a long time.

The rooms smell like cigarettes but that is to be expected I suppose.

It served it's purpose but for SG$80 a night, it should be clean at the very least.

Cheap cab ride to the airport (between SG$12-15) but I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a window. They are like prison cells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Got a cheap hotel since I was in SIngapore only for the weekend. The desk staff was nice, but the room had no windows, smelled musty, the sheets were scratchy, no shower curtain, could not control the air (too cold), and it was very noisy at night (which I found out later it is in the prostitution district of Singapore... There is really not much in the area, the only saving grace was the Paya Lebar Metro stop is about 15 minutes away. Pay a iittle more money.

Room Tip: Book ahead, make sure to get the room details so you don't get put into another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel is based a short way out of the city centre but is only a 15 minute walk to the nearest sky train stop, then 20 minutes into the centre. Based in a predominantly Malay area it gave a real insight into the real Singapore rather then just the usual tourist trails. Worth knowing that the road is at the end of the red light district but this had no impact on our stay at all and felt safe at all times even late at night.

Very helpful staff, the room was just what you need in Singapore and it was great value for the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, MS
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

After a long bus trip to Singapore, my girlfriend and I settled on The Hotel 81 'Classic' on Joo Chiat Road. We originally planned for the Hotel 81 Sakura (and a higher rated hotel), but we noticed from the taxi that this one was an easier walk to the train station. However, we were "walk-ins" against our better judgement as we knew nothing about Singapore on our 'spur of the moment' trip down here. A VERY helpful person at the Harbor information desk helped us find the areas of hotels that interested us. We checked in for one night and noticed the price was higher than advertised on the web,, but still within the stated range. The guy at the desk wanted to check us in for one day at a time for some reason. OK then.
We told the manager the next morning that we wanted to stay another night and he simply indicated that he would take the key and check us 'back in." When we arrived again in late afternoon, the price shot up to $109.00 for the second night, and he claimed that he told me this in the morning. Au Contraire, my friend. Had we known the new price, he KNOWS that we would have left, as he and I had discussed my original plan the night before (to stay at the Hotel 81 Sakura). The manager's arrogance and his lies to us are why this place gets 2 stars. On top of that, he disrespected my girlfriend at counter. Maybe that is the culture here? I don't know.
The room was small but OK, wireless internet kept asking you to reset with the passowrd...so WiFi was LOUSY. But this is somewhat superfluous considering the devious price gouging that the manager bestowed upon us. He knew that we were 'stuck' much after the normal check out time on the second day. Oh and...I mentioned that the internet rate is always lower, and he did a song and dance around that. I confirmed this...$93.00, not $109.00. These type of guys have done it long enough to know who to gouge, who is at a disadvantage, and how to do it. STAY AWAY from this one and especially DO NOT walk in without a reservation and proof of the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The room/hotel is clean.
The food / cafe is just around the corner.
The MRT station is walking distant.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 81 Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Classic

Address: 12 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427353, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#210 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Classic 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Classic Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.