We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Selegie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 Selegie to your Saves list
Hotel 81 Selegie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Selegie Road, | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 299 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Dont stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Where do I start! This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We stayed in the family room along with ants in the beds & flying insects in the shower/toilet. The bathroom ceiling was covered with mould! The bed mattresses were covered with vinyl & the sheets were too small so they didn't stay tucked into the mattress!
There were no windows in our room so we felt like we were in a basement even though we were on the 3rd floor.
Walls were paper thin, our neigbours woke us up when they chatted in the hallway at 6.30am, we heard every word as if they were in our room!
The hotel provides free WiFi access which would have been great if I had been able to get mobile service in my room!
Only good thing about this hotel is the location is good, otherwise look elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    60
    9
    11
See reviews for
27
16
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon checkin everyone was nice... But when we got upto the room it was a shoe box. My cousin and I couldn't fit 2 suitcases in without it knocking between the front door and bathroom door. It was soooooo small. I wouldn't recommend it, spend the bit extra and stay somewhere better. Also it wasn't really as close to the shops as we thought, yes it's near orchid road but the shops are at the other end.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the smallest hotel ( I mean room ) I ever stayed in. you could almost stretch your arms out and touch the sides of the wall. Despite being soooo small They provide a coffee making system free coffee and tea. I paid $129 .00 Singapore dollars. My family hails from Singapore. Singapore used to be inexpensive, but not anymore. Singapore is a clean city, in fact the cleanest city in all my travels.The hotel staff was good, helpful. This hotel's location is great, walking distance to many places..

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant. They are a lot of places to eat just around the hotel. Food from ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, 2 days. We are a family of 4 adults and booked a 'Family Room' for our stay. The hotel is situated in 'Little India' area, and close to Orchard Road, Train station and many shops and restaurants. Our Family Room was big,clean and new with plenty of storage space. Room had fridge, kettle, hair-dryer, tv, ac free bottles of water, tea & coffee. WiFi is also available for Free and its fast (just ask the lobby for password) Bathroom was also decent size, clean and new with soap, shower cap and comb (all free), however its like a wetroom, so when you shower everything gets wet. Also our room didnt have a window, but we were not bothered about that. To the left of the hotel (going towards Serangoon Road Little India) there is a 7/11 supermarket for drinks and snack (very small) and indian restaurants. To right of the hotel (towards Orchard Road) if you walk for 5 min on Selegie Road between Sophia Road and Orchard Road there is McDonalds, KFC, Starbucks and a food court. The hotel staff are ok and looked after our luggage the next day when we checked out, so we could do sightseeing. Singapore Flyer & Marina Bay Sands is 20-25min walk from hotel. Overall a great stay, safe area and family friendly.

Room Tip: Many hotel rooms in Singapore have no windows, and ours did not. Make sure you do your research if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for 4 days. The total time I spent was only around 12 hours in this hotel. It is really suitable for those backpackers and those who are into shopping. I think this is the only Hotel 81 that allows 4 adults in a room plus its near to Little India MRT. It's really clean ! Though there will be flood every time u shower.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Picture in the internet and actual are stark contrast. Exceptionally small. It's like trap in can of sardines. Clean though. Consistent flow of hot stream water. But basically not recommended for family. We clearly noticed this hotel is for lovers' short time stay as relatively heavy influx of them were noticed in the lobby queuing. Some receptionist on the other hand are rude. Very far from MRT station.

Room Tip: stay in corners. walling sound proof is very poor. You could hear in the other room clattering, soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

You get what you pay for so we did not expect a 3 star hotel or a backpacker bunk beds type lodging. For a budget hotel room, it was clean but very crammed, with hardly any space for luggage or movement. Toilet/bathroom was clean but be prepared for a flood when you have a shower!! Downstairs lobby was equally cramped, don't expect a warm welcome here. Good thing it is pretty central.

Room Tip: 7th floor seems ok, expect all rooms are equally tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel 81 Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Selegie

Address: 161 Selegie Road, | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 299 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Selegie 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 81 Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Selegie Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Selegie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.