We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Selegie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 Selegie to your Saves list
Hotel 81 Selegie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 Selegie Road, | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Do not stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Upon checkin everyone was nice... But when we got upto the room it was a shoe box. My cousin and I couldn't fit 2 suitcases in without it knocking between the front door and bathroom door. It was soooooo small. I wouldn't recommend it, spend the bit extra and stay somewhere better. Also it wasn't really as close to the shops as we thought, yes it's near orchid road but the shops are at the other end.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicitycogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the smallest hotel ( I mean room ) I ever stayed in. you could almost stretch your arms out and touch the sides of the wall. Despite being soooo small They provide a coffee making system free coffee and tea. I paid $129 .00 Singapore dollars. My family hails from Singapore. Singapore used to be inexpensive, but not anymore. Singapore is a clean city, in fact the cleanest city in all my travels.The hotel staff was good, helpful. This hotel's location is great, walking distance to many places..

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant. They are a lot of places to eat just around the hotel. Food from ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairplayj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, 2 days. We are a family of 4 adults and booked a 'Family Room' for our stay. The hotel is situated in 'Little India' area, and close to Orchard Road, Train station and many shops and restaurants. Our Family Room was big,clean and new with plenty of storage space. Room had fridge, kettle, hair-dryer, tv, ac free bottles of water, tea & coffee. WiFi is also available for Free and its fast (just ask the lobby for password) Bathroom was also decent size, clean and new with soap, shower cap and comb (all free), however its like a wetroom, so when you shower everything gets wet. Also our room didnt have a window, but we were not bothered about that. To the left of the hotel (going towards Serangoon Road Little India) there is a 7/11 supermarket for drinks and snack (very small) and indian restaurants. To right of the hotel (towards Orchard Road) if you walk for 5 min on Selegie Road between Sophia Road and Orchard Road there is McDonalds, KFC, Starbucks and a food court. The hotel staff are ok and looked after our luggage the next day when we checked out, so we could do sightseeing. Singapore Flyer & Marina Bay Sands is 20-25min walk from hotel. Overall a great stay, safe area and family friendly.

Room Tip: Many hotel rooms in Singapore have no windows, and ours did not. Make sure you do your research if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritzxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed for 4 days. The total time I spent was only around 12 hours in this hotel. It is really suitable for those backpackers and those who are into shopping. I think this is the only Hotel 81 that allows 4 adults in a room plus its near to Little India MRT. It's really clean ! Though there will be flood every time u shower.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hause M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Picture in the internet and actual are stark contrast. Exceptionally small. It's like trap in can of sardines. Clean though. Consistent flow of hot stream water. But basically not recommended for family. We clearly noticed this hotel is for lovers' short time stay as relatively heavy influx of them were noticed in the lobby queuing. Some receptionist on the other hand are rude. Very far from MRT station.

Room Tip: stay in corners. walling sound proof is very poor. You could hear in the other room clattering, soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

You get what you pay for so we did not expect a 3 star hotel or a backpacker bunk beds type lodging. For a budget hotel room, it was clean but very crammed, with hardly any space for luggage or movement. Toilet/bathroom was clean but be prepared for a flood when you have a shower!! Downstairs lobby was equally cramped, don't expect a warm welcome here. Good thing it is pretty central.

Room Tip: 7th floor seems ok, expect all rooms are equally tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank omega7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I book this hotel at the last mi ute through latestays.com that provides a better price then agoda and more accurate picture of the place you will stay.

This is not a tourist place and dont promote this place as it. Its a transit hotel with a good location. Near mrt so easy to reach from the airport, 15 minutes by walk from orchard and the walk is in interesting since you will discover the university of art and other i terting things. You cannot get lost the way is really easy. You are near little india too.

The other good thing you have near by a 7/11 and restaurants open 24 hours.

Regarding the hotel i didnt expect much but at least you can get some sleep or rest after a busy day.

You can hear everything from your room you hear people walking in the corridor and the other rooms on the same floor. I didnt find any sleep at all since this hotel even at 3 o'clock since to be busy by short stays guest "guy with girls."

The room was small 20 sqm, the shower with the toilet but good point hot water but no pressure.
They provide free internet that i needed this one reason i stay there coz in singapore they charge crazy prices for internet. So free internet is good when its working! It was working but u need to setup the password every twenty minutes. So annoying.

I didnt upload any pictures since you got all already here. So please dont stop there for tourism, for one night transit its ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fragrance Hotel - Selegie
#185 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#196 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Hotel 81 - Heritage
#177 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#169 of 305 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#238 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#189 of 305 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Selegie

Address: 161 Selegie Road, | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Selegie 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel 81 Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Selegie Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing