We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Housekeeping poor n Aircon not cold” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 34

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 34 to your Saves list
Hotel 34
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Geylang Lorong 22, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Housekeeping poor n Aircon not cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Used to be excellent condition 2yrs back when we stsy.
But this time room aircon not cold as used to be,housekeeping poor in cleaning.They even let me to see another room,the aircon is the same which is not cold too.
Tourist n reviewer pls don't stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Cleaniness is very important in the room n toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation.

We appreciate your honest feedback and we are constantly working to provide a comfortable accommodation to our customers. We did find some of the rooms air-condition were not cooling enough especially during this humid and hot weather in Singapore. However, we have since rectified the issue and will work to continue improving in other aspect of our product and service as well. As regards our housekeeping standards, we have taken corrective actions to improve our cleanliness as well as the housekeeping procedure. It is through such feedback like yours, we are able to maintain and further improve our hotel standard.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
14
19
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

First of all, im not the type of person who usually complain and leave the comments.
Compare to other hotels around, more expensive than others and the room is not that nice. Everthing is old except the paint is new. Sanitarywares are so old, not clean and no soap provided. I have been to other hotels in this area. But this place is not worth for this price at all. I have read reviews from this hotel before i arrived. I was expecting that all the complains about room should have already been solved, especially the old ages of sanitarywares. Towels are crazy old, i would have thrown away if this is in my own home. I'm wondering if the management of this branch has ever known that other hotels around are cheaper and nicer. Or they probably dont care about this branch at all? I am also the owner of small-medium hotels in Thailand. But i would never let this happen to my hotel.
The size of room is OK with me, eventhough others might complained but i understand, it doesnt have to be bigger, because other hotels are also small.
I feels so regret that i paid for this price with this kind of room. I will have to stay for 1 more night.
If it didnt charge me already i would have changed the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has attracted our management's attention.

Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. This reflects the ambience and local taste in this heritage area. We recognize that the hotel room including the bathroom is time for a refurbishment due to wear and tear, and your feedback makes it a pressing need to do so. Thank you for highlighting the matter to us.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Toothpaste was dry, only one wastebin for the whole room. Good thing there are complimentary drinks and free wifi :) a little far from common tour spots, but near to mrt station. Place was small as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and noted some positive points of Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied. We appreciate your feedback regarding the toothpaste, we will continuously review ways to improve our products and services to ensure better efficiency and quality.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I am a frequent guest to this hotel and i feel comfy and room is reasonably big. No major issues with the room n for a price like that, there is even a bath tub for just a simple hotel with the practical amenities

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a pleasant review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service. We look forward to having you back at Santa Grand again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room is clean and we have kettle for cooing water. that's very good regarding we bought some noodles from Jakarta.
the bathroom is okay. and near (about 10 minutes) walking from Aljunied MRT Station.
there's an indonesian food around.
although located in red district, but the environment is quiet and secure.\
i took 1 family room and it's a quiet big.

Room Tip: i chosed 1 family room (for 3 of us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. We are extremely pleased to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here overnight whilst in transit. The taxi driver had not heard of the hotel and finding it proved a challenge. That said it is in an interesting part of town - colourful with a strong emphasis on red lights. The hotel staff were helpful, the room was smaller than the photographs but comfortable and quiet enabling a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a pleasant review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied situated in a very interesting part of Singapore where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. We are pleased to read that you've enjoyed your short stopover in Singapore and that we made your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Considering the prices for a non-hostel room in the country, with the discount rate we got online for a 3-person room - what we paid for what we got here was pretty much a good deal overall.

The room / hotel:

As expected however, the rooms were small and the amenities basic, but feels old and worn, but at least it was available and working. No complaints about the beds, washroom feels antiquated, but serviceable. Service from the counter staff was prompt and sufficient, but I've gotten friendlier service from cheaper accommodations.

One incident worth mentioning was how we came back one night to our room to see our TV on, even tho we left with the TV off. We assumed the cleaning crew felt he/she needed some entertainment while he/she was working, haha.

The location:

It's about a brisk 10 minutes walk from the MRT Aljuneid station, which was mostly straight down the road, although some familiarizing with google maps streetview might be needed to avoid feeling lost.

Knowing what sort of a neighborhood the hotel was at helped to give a proper expectation of what to expect, and I was not surprised about what we saw. It was definitely a fun experience being there compared to the slick and polished look of the rest of the Singapore that I know and experienced previously.

Overview:

Taking into account all proper expectations, I would have giving it a 5/5 rating, but in the grand scheme of things, an overall rating of the property is more appropriately 3/5 - average.

In other words: it's a great budget hotel, just don't expect too much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Hotel 34, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the housekeeping, we have since counselled the housekepeers and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue improve our service level.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 34

Address: 34 Geylang Lorong 22, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 34 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 34 is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Hotel 34 is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Hotel 34's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 34 Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 34, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.