We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and confortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied

Save Saved
You added Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Geylang Lorong 22, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean and confortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room is clean and we have kettle for cooing water. that's very good regarding we bought some noodles from Jakarta.
the bathroom is okay. and near (about 10 minutes) walking from Aljunied MRT Station.
there's an indonesian food around.
although located in red district, but the environment is quiet and secure.\
i took 1 family room and it's a quiet big.

Room Tip: i chosed 1 family room (for 3 of us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. We are extremely pleased to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
13
16
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed here overnight whilst in transit. The taxi driver had not heard of the hotel and finding it proved a challenge. That said it is in an interesting part of town - colourful with a strong emphasis on red lights. The hotel staff were helpful, the room was smaller than the photographs but comfortable and quiet enabling a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such a pleasant review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied situated in a very interesting part of Singapore where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. We are pleased to read that you've enjoyed your short stopover in Singapore and that we made your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Considering the prices for a non-hostel room in the country, with the discount rate we got online for a 3-person room - what we paid for what we got here was pretty much a good deal overall.

The room / hotel:

As expected however, the rooms were small and the amenities basic, but feels old and worn, but at least it was available and working. No complaints about the beds, washroom feels antiquated, but serviceable. Service from the counter staff was prompt and sufficient, but I've gotten friendlier service from cheaper accommodations.

One incident worth mentioning was how we came back one night to our room to see our TV on, even tho we left with the TV off. We assumed the cleaning crew felt he/she needed some entertainment while he/she was working, haha.

The location:

It's about a brisk 10 minutes walk from the MRT Aljuneid station, which was mostly straight down the road, although some familiarizing with google maps streetview might be needed to avoid feeling lost.

Knowing what sort of a neighborhood the hotel was at helped to give a proper expectation of what to expect, and I was not surprised about what we saw. It was definitely a fun experience being there compared to the slick and polished look of the rest of the Singapore that I know and experienced previously.

Overview:

Taking into account all proper expectations, I would have giving it a 5/5 rating, but in the grand scheme of things, an overall rating of the property is more appropriately 3/5 - average.

In other words: it's a great budget hotel, just don't expect too much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the housekeeping, we have since counselled the housekepeers and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue improve our service level.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in between flights. It is in the red light district of east Singapore. That said, I never felt threatened...it was just seedy. At 4:20am somebody opened our door and walked into our room, only to quickly disappear again. When I complained the hotel staff seemed to find it funny and were laughing as opposed to apologising. You don't get back to sleep too easily after someone opens your room door (with a key).
It costs about SD$20 in a taxi to get to this hotel from the airport. The taxi driver was the best part of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied provides safe, secured and value for money accommodation. It is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and lifestyle. As the location may not be preferred by all travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis to meet the diverse need of customers.

Without a doubt, the experience you have had at Santa Grand is unacceptable and we have investigated the incident. It was a system error on our part as our staff was assigned a wrong key to inspect a vacant room. We apologize for the incident and assure our guests that it shall not happen again. As well, security has been tightened to ensure our guest safety.

Please do feel free to contact us directly at santagrand@santa.com.sg when you make plans on your next visit. We will be pleased to make you an offer and take care of any other arrangements that we can prepare for you. We thank you for your feedback as this will help us improve our service to our guests.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Well located and not too far from the airport, the Santa Grand Aljunied has rooms much bigger than the Santa Grand West Coast. There is a nice view from the 7th floor. The staff is very accomodating and the friendly woman at front desk explained to us where to walk to get to the restaurants area and she was kind enough to lend us an umbrella as it was raining. Of course it is not the Hilton but the price is not the same either.....Considering the price of hotel rooms in Singapore the Santa grand is a fair and honest deal. And thumbs up for the front desk lady !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Your valuable compliments on our front desk staff have been passed on to the top management to recognize her effort. We are sure that she will be even more motivated in maintaining a high level of customer service.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor with us and look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Its closed to Paya Lebar mrt station if taking bus no.70 and 70M instead of mrt Aljunied station.
The hotel is nearby 7-11 and many restaurants there. Howerver, hotel should has more international plugs.
Anyway, over all is good but the elevator is too small.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied is situated in a precinct where guests can experience Singapore's varied nightlife amidst old local shop houses serving authentic local food and also easily accesible with the public transport, malls and acttractions just a stone throw away. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback about the international plug, we will look into it and make improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great to always know that SantaGrand Aljunied frequently has room promotions which are really worth to spend for the neccesities u can find in the room..Love the location that is by the roadside..so many convenient stores around..7-11 is just less than five minutes away along with 3 petrol kiosks within sight from your room. Love the quiet ambience..the staff are friendly too.Lastly..free wifi available n great tv channels with a dvd player.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied

Address: 34 Geylang Lorong 22, Singapore 398691, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.