We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and delicious Indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zam Zam

Zam Zam
699 North Bridge Rd | Kampong Glam, Singapore, Singapore (Kampong Glam)
629 87011
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kampong Glam
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Go here for the Indian food and you will not be disapointed! The food is great and has this wonderful mix of true Indian and a bit of its own and some Singaporean in the middle :)

Go for the bryani rice and try the murtabak!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    147
    39
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious spices & exotic..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a spicy food and spices lover, I think this restaurant is one of the most exotic and delicious Indian restaurant in Bugis area. I came here 3 days in a row for dinner . They serve Nasi Biryani, murtabak with various filling, including deer (!), pity I didn't try that. The place is easy, just the opposite of Sultan mosque close to Bugis MRT. The price is reasonable.I dont have Indian heritage but I just love everything they serve there. I would definitely come here with my family once I got a chance to visit Singapore again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Zam zam = yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

2 words....chicken murtabak. Before today I had no idea what a Murtabak was. Now I do and is good!!! For those not in know a Murtabak is a stuffed pan fried bread (like a roti or naan stuffed with yummy spiced chicken goodness). The dining room itself is basic and you share tables with other diners, the service is ok but who cares when the food is so good. My husband had the chicken biriyani which was also very good, but he kept sneaking mouthfuls of my Murtabak. The bill was very reasonable and we will be back!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovers of Murtabak Rejoice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We didn't know that on a Saturday during lunchtime there would be a wait for a table & to be served but it was worth it. The murtabak came in small, medium & large & the large would easily feed 2 people. We also have the mutton biryani which was excellent. If you're too hungry to wait for a table Victory cafe next door is just as good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Old not always gold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Zam Zam is probably one of the oldest restaurants in Singapore and very popular with the locals for the murtabak. This is not a place to relax over a long lunch, even in the air-conditioned hall upstairs. There are long tables and unless you are in a group of eight, be prepared to share the table with others. There are notices stating that the upstairs is for people who order biryanis and murtabak. As these are probably the most popular dishes, there are constant queues, and the turnover is rapid.
We ordered the chicken, lamb and fish murtabak and a plate of nasi goreng. Except for the fish murtabak, the fillings in the chicken and lamb ones were not tasty or sufficient, although the roti was light and not oily. I’ve eaten much tastier murtabak in Penang. The nasi goreng was below-average. I’m happy I had a meal there, given its history, popularity and the local buzz, but will probably not visit again, as we are spoilt for choice in Singapore. I’d suggest ordering the murtabak and biryani, which is what the restaurant claims it does best, as the other food did not look very appetising.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zam Zam also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Zam Zam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zam Zam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.