We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coriander Leaf Bistro

Coriander Leaf Bistro
Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
+65 6732 3354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had 2 great platters of mixed appetizers "south east asian" and the quality of the food was great. The fusion of tastes is really interesting and makes you even discover new flavors and tastes. The main dishes also give you the opportunity of experiencing traditional tastes of Asia but revisited in modern key. There is a great attention on the choice of raw materials, I think, and even a single grilled tomato is really tasty. Service also is very good.
The reason why I think it's a very good restaurant but not excellent is that, from my point of view, alcohol is really overpriced (you pay 18 dollars plus 10% of service and 7% of taxes for a glass of normal wine) and the overall price of dishes is a bit to high (expect to pay more than 100 dollars per person for appetizer, main dish, dessert and 1 glass of wine). Anyway, it tastes great and it's worth to give it at try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good river views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We ate here one evening whilst staying on the quay. We sat outside taking in the views of the river. Service was good and enjoyed listening to the live entertainment. Food was presented really well and tasted delicious, would definitely visit again, there is an indoor restaurant but the outside area is great for drinks and nibbles.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ate here based on Trip Advisor reviews. It certainly did not disappoint.. Entree tasting plate was excellent and the mains were very good too. Barramundi better than any we have had in Australia (we eat Aussie fish/seafood regularly) and the tandoori chicken was excellent. The host was very knowledgable about food and wine and had spent time in France so could explain wine and food. Dessert trio of creme brûlée pretty good too and all in all a very good experience. Bonus is that they have a cooking school so we will definitely be back to give that a go next time we are in Singapore. All in all a great experience and thanks Trip Advisor contributors for steering us in the direction of Coriander Leaf.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We tried eating at the Coriander Leaf the first time we were in Singapore but it was closed; however, good Trip Adviser reviews convinced us to try again the next time we were in town and we're awfully glad we did. We especially liked the appetizer plates and the lentil, and sour soup.

The place was fairly empty so the lag in service was puzzling but since we were on vacation, we didn't mind much.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“love the first course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We try to eat here every time we are in Singapore. It is yet to disappoint. Pan Asia food done with care. Good wine list. Not cheap but its a treat. In Clark Quay but really out of place for the Clark Quay crowd

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coriander Leaf Bistro also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Coriander Leaf Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coriander Leaf Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.