We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Hotel to your Saves list
Happy Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Lorong 10 Geylang | Central, Singapore 399042, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My regular hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

My stay was prior to CNY holiday and these are my new experience staying in this hotel:
1) very responsive email follow up & correspondence on room inquiry and booking
2) Clean and tidy room
3) friendly frontoffice
4) parking spot ( i drove to SG)
5) lots of food along the Geylang road

My advice: (1) red light district ard Geylang area hence not recommended to single gal/ female only. (2) Two MRT stations (Kallang & Aljunied) are far away from hotel (min 10mins walk for Kallang & over 15 mins for Aljunied). It would be easier to go to town by bus. (3) very basic toiletries (toothbrush, towel & soap)

Room Tip: for the standard & superior room, the price difference is only a few dollar, so go for superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
2
22
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
home
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We had been warned that the area was the red light district but we saw no evidence of it even at midnight. The area was lively , bustling with locals in the cafes and shops. It seemed more authentic than 'the chinatown' There were several restaurants where the food was excellent and very cheap. There were several late night shops .it is further out but within 2 minutes of the bus stop and 10 from the nearest MRT.
The hotel was slightly away from the busiest road and quiet at night. The entrance was staffed 24 hrs by welcoming and helpful staff.
Our room was small and tired but it had everything we needed . The linnen was reasonable but the matress could do with renewing. The shower room was tiny but the water hot.
The price was very good ,especially by Singapore standards.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This is as budget as you can get. Nothing fancy about the facilities. A room with a bed and a working TV and shower. Nonetheless, the staff was very helpful and offered to upgrade our room for just SGD3 per night. The location is very good, with easy access to transportation and food. The major complaint would be the WiFi that was not working throughout our stay.

Room Tip: Do not expect quiet rooms as it is near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

It was clear to me that this was a budget hotel - with budget I expect simple, small with minimum facilities- somewhere to put one's head down, and spend little time at, before touring the city in the day. I paid for 5 nights to stay and watch the F1. On arrival, I was met by friendly staff and taken to a room which was claimed to be accessible for a wheelchair user like myself, however they seemed to forget about the large step into the bathroom and the other large step over into the shower - totally inaccessible and should I have stayed would not have been able to use the toilet or the shower. That being said the management did offer to get carpenter to build a ramp which would mean a day or 2 without facilities, but the point is this should have been made clear from my email beforehand saying that. I am in a wheelchair and can't do steps.
Then the room itself - dirty, poorly maintained with a bed that was concave like a drain and has been pumped upon more times than the Thames barrage. If you look closely one can see various stains of different descriptions and long hair from previous temporary residents obviously pulled out in the heat of passion! As you sleep at night you can clearly hear the noises 'yes, yes, yes' - clients being made Happy in nature at the Happy Hotel.
And so if you are looking for a simple, clean, no fuss budget Hotel, then this is not the place for you. If you are using a wheelchair and can't do steps like myself, then this is not the place for you. If you are not bothered about cleanliness, nor sleeping with bugs and various other natural human deposits from previous nights, and maybe you would like to participate in the other 'yes, yes, yes' nocturnal activities that are offered in the area and excepted by the Hotel - then you will love it, but sorry, not for me.
I moved out to the Hotel down the road the very next morning!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Yes., I have stayed at this Hotel & HAPPY HOTEL IS DEFINATELY HAPPY and value for money is an understatement .... Located close to bus., MRT and restaurants/facilities ~ with a gr8 team of staff ...... WOWWWWW
..... A perfect stay !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I always go for a spotless clean bathroom with hot and cold powerful showers and blazing cold air conditioner when i book hotel rooms and this one i got in New Happy Hotel :)

The room was small but the double bed was clean and comfortable; TV had cable. Phone worked but wifi was erratic. Place was quiet and elevator was swift. Room was cleaned everyday, towels changed, bottled water given everyday too :))

Staff were great! Always with ready smile and offered information pretty swiftly.

Place is close to bus stop and food shops.

Room Tip: Request for a good room. Spell out what's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

There are only 2 reasons why I've given this place a poor rather than a terrible; 1) The staff were really friendly and helpful 2) the shower was hot and ridiculously powerful - if you put it on full whack it would literally launch itself round the room, which is always a good thing in my book.
The reasons then I give it a poor rating
1) The Bug Life - on arriving we found out we hadn't been given a room for two but in fact a dormitory for cockroaches. Now I've seen by fair share of bugs in hotels, but this was an invasion. You had everything from your finger nail size to your fist size. I think the only reason we didn't leave immediately, and instead began on a search and destroy cockroach policy, was, as mentioned, because the shower was amazing.
2) Stained bed sheets and towels - I'm only glad we didn't have a uv torch with us; I think the mantra - the stains you see, are the stains not to fear, is a useful one!
3) The hotel clearly had a room by the hour rental policy - now we didn't actually hear anything, but thats probably a testament to the places thick walls, there was a stream of guys and women coming in and out of the hotel, maybe you don't mind this, it was more than a little off putting for us, especially as with the point about sheets above.

Overall, while the shower was awesome (especially after experiencing pathetic showers one after the other in east asia) you probably shouldn't stay here for that reason alone. For the same price you can stay at onevof the far superior Fragrance group of hotels which we spent one night, tyere much cleaner and nicer and are definitely worth the money (I have a review about Fragrance Emerald too).

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hotel

Address: 9 Lorong 10 Geylang | Central, Singapore 399042, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Happy Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Hotel is 8 storey budget hotel offering clean and comfortable rooms at reasonable rates. Located near the city, 15 mins drive from airport and easy access for public transportation and many local delights can be found near the hotel. Not forgetting our friendly staffs to assist you at 24 hours reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Happy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.