We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but not the cheapest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bark Cafe

The Bark Cafe
1000 Upper Changi Road North, Singapore, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #602 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sale, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty but not the cheapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Bark Cafe is attached to the Changi Chapel and Museum, so we dined there because of it's location. We had the sambas nasi goreng which was tasty and filling but, at about $14, easily three times what we would have paid at a hawker stand. It cam with a fried egg, some crispy fried chicken pieces and a serve of vegetable acar (pickles).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Quiet, friendly, a little pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On the plus side, this café is dog-friendly (though it might be wise to ring ahead because you'll need a table on the edge of the dining area) and entirely alfresco with a garden setting. Service is prompt and the mainly Filipino staff are friendly and all seemed to be having a good day.

If you're visiting Changi Museum, and you should because it's incredibly powerful and touching, then it's on the same grounds and an ideal spot to fuel up.

If you're not visiting the museum and you're headed here for a meal, then it makes up for so-so food with a very nice ambiance. The food isn't bad, but as a previous reviewer noted, it's very much cafeteria food at restaurant prices. Expect burgers, fish and chips and the like in the $17++ to $23++ range. There are no chefs mixing seasonal flavours here... it's café plates built to a formula. Our mains were incredibly average, but I can recommend the ginger mussels starter, which had stunning flavours. There's 17% added to your bill at the end, so budget around $40ph plus drinks if you're here for a meal.

The beer is cold, the fans throw a nice breeze and the garden lights up nicely at night. It's probably not the type of food you want on a romantic date, but if you wanted to gather with some friends and have a couple of drinks and some bar snacks you could do worse.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Away from it all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bark Cafe is comfortably tucked away in a quiet area in Changi. Surrounded by greenery, it gives a peaceful atmosphere to enjoy your dining experience. Besides the cafe dining area, they also have an open bar area if you fancy just drinks.

Take note, though, that parking space is very limited. The crowd starts to build up around 7pm. Do make a reservation if you are going in a big group.

Pictures are uploaded to http://effandbee.sg/bark-cafe-away-from-it-all

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice open air cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Taken here for lunch and was not disappointed by the food. I went for the three small duck burgers served with salad and a small corn on the cob. The duck was cooked to my liking and it all tasted fine. As my colleague only had salad his arrived quite quickly with mine following about 10 minutes later. This would be my only complaint but it is a great stop off before or after the museum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“I don't want to be served fat for lunch!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Went to this restaurant for a snack before visiting the Changi Chapel Museum. We ordered fish and chips which was OK, chicken ceasar salad - the salad was OK, but the chicken was fried with a lot of FAT and SKIN, the pork satays - or should I say pork FAT sticks, they were absolutely terrible, 2/3 fat. We also had potatoes wedges which were OK. I would not recommend eating in this restaurant, but OK for a few beers. Our overall experience was not enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bark Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Bark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bark Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.