We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Avenue Clemenceau

Save Saved
You added Park Avenue Clemenceau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Park Avenue Clemenceau
81A Clemenceau Avenue # 05-18 | UE Square, Singapore 239918, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 290 hotels in Singapore
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I say this with sincere Honesty and a real heavy heart.
My stay there ended before it actually began. Me and my Family got a suite there to celebrate a birthday we were not told it was a non smoking room and that we can only have 4 persons in the suite. It was a 21St b'day party! who invites 4 ppl? and were told very rudely that we had to leave and when question why the local mainland Chinese Manager said quote" you Indians alway come here and fight"! I have no idea why he(Skinny tall older Chinese gentleman) said this and continued with further race affiliated statements! We decided to leave and a refund was not offered to us only when we demanded for a refund did they agree to it however they had said it'll take longer than a week to receive the refund?. I shall not dwell on this further as i feel really uncomfortable speaking about this however I am seriously appalled by the rude unprofessional behavior of the hotel . I did call the receptionist to speak to a higher authority and she was really nice on the phone but she had transferred me to the same Manager even-though I had requested to her that I want to speak to his superior and not him. That was a very dodgy move they tried to pull.

Having said all of this the suites are really small and I would never stay there ever again as rudeness/Racism should never be tolerated in the service industrie. There's plenty of other places who provide much better services at affordable rates. We have also recorded the conversation in a phone as we when back to the reception to return the keys and asked the same manager why he had made that statement he again made the same race related statements. And apparently the manager is actually a director "Eddie Chan"?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great hotel, close to rail way station and only 3 stop from Changi airport. New hotel. Great staff and we enjoyed being so close to many shops. We checked in late at night and they still had staff there. All the shops nearby were also open late so we dropped off our bags and went out to see what was around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It is with a heavy heart that I write this review as it has come to the end of my two week stay at Park Avenue and I have tremendously enjoyed the entire two weeks here.

I stayed in a one bedroom superior apartment which comes with one room, one bathroom, a kitchen with washer/dryer, a small dining area with a dining table for four and a small living area with a sofa, tv and a lazy chair. The shower in my bathroom required for me to step into the bath tub so the bath and shower were not separated. It is not safe for older people and is not disabled friendly. My washing machine was a brand called Indesit and each wash and dry took over 3 hours to complete I'm not sure if that's normal.

In terms of service, the staff at this place need to improve on their attitude. I had housekeeping service three times a week, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. The housekeeper cleaned and changed the sheets and towels but didn't help with the dishes. The toiletries were never replenished and they could have been more generous with toilet rolls. Also I had a simple enquiry about parking rates and it took 3 days for the staff to revert with a concrete response. Also one night at 11.30pm I received a creepy phone call from the night guard over a false pretext to ask whether I had received a response to my parking enquiry- it was very disturbing and inappropriate for the guard to call up so late at night.

A light breakfast was provided from Monday to Friday- but the selection was very limited. They only offered some pastries, breads, croissants, fruits, cornflakes, milk, coffee, tea and water.

Aside from the sub standard service, the location is good but not convenient because it is nowhere close to an MRT although there is a taxi stand and a couple of bus stops nearby. I love the fact that Park Avenue is connected to the UE square mall which is not a fantastic mall but its a neighbourhood mall with a jungle gym for kids, art classes for kids, music lessons for kids, nail spa, deli France, o briens, 7-11 store and a cold storage upstairs for groceries! Down the road to the left, there is also a row of Chinese eateries providing food options at a reasonable price.

There are plenty of Japanese and German expat families with their children living close by so there was a very family oriented feel to this place. There are also a good number of wine bars and western dining options nearby and Clarke quay and boat quay are within walking distance.

Travelling to work proved to be a bit challenging as Park Avenue was nowhere near a train station. In the mornings from Monday to Friday, there is a free shuttle bus which travels from UE square to Coleman street which is very close to the City hall MRT. In the evenings the last shuttle is at 6.30pm so the timing did not suit my work hours. Instead I would take the public bus home. From the city hall mrt station, buses 32 and 195 runs back to the river valley road just a minute walk or maybe less to ue square.

I have really enjoyed my stay here and will not hesitate to recommend it to young singles, families and business travellers. Unfortunately due to work requirements, i need to move to a new place on the Marina Bay as the commute was inconvenient for my long hours. For completeness, I thought I would share- parking space is ample. The parking lot is dim and poorly lit- but was safe. The parking charges are as follows: sgd1.50 from 8am to 1.30pm, sgd 2.00 from after 1.30pm to 11pm, sgd 2.00 from 11pm to 8am. Payment is by auto pass.


  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 3 months like 3 days in Park Avenue Suites. This was clean and staff was nice and helpfull, swimming pool was good and never too busy, appartment was clean, spacious with correct equipment.
The location is just great. Just a lift to arrive to a nice little mall perfect for any mood (DeliFrance/Starbuck/midlle size foodstore/ a good quality Wine shop ...) and just a walking distance from Robertson Quay, Clarke Quay but also from many other small local restaurants ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed there this September. I shared a common room with a lovely Vietnamese girl. It cost me only 90 SGD/night. I really love this place. Right in the center, a couple minutes away from the Clarke Quay & It's a good place to shop since the Orchard & Somerset are just about 5' away. The room is perfectly furnished & with swimming pool view, plus free breakfast! Totally love it! Will stay there on my next trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Some blue-collar workers of Int'l companies hire the room for their long-time business trip in S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room are clean & staff is really polite, Some walking distance from Clarke MRT although they do provide for morning & evening drops to City Hall MRT. Swimming pool is good & GYM is decent.Breakfast is really something which they need to improve.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have been staying at Park Avenue Suites for a month, and plan to be here for another 6-8 months. My experience started off as being not-so-great, but the management has been super responsive and helpful.

My initial apartment did not have good internet access, and had a slight problem with ants, so I was moved to a nice, new place overlooking the pool. The apartment is spacious, clean and well-maintained. I love the location, it is very central - right next to Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay... yet silent and not crowded. The place is not very close to an MRT, but there are enough buses and a taxi stand under the building.

There is a shopping mall in the first few floors - with cold storage and all necessities. Many, many places to eat (like everywhere in Singapore). I highly recommend staying here if you want to be here for long. For a short stay, you may want to be in a more commercial, crowded and connected location.

Room Tip: The section overlooking Fort Canning and Clarke Quay is fabulous, but undergoing renovation right no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Avenue Clemenceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Clemenceau

Also Known As:
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel Singapore
Park Avenue Clemenceau Singapore
Address: 81A Clemenceau Avenue # 05-18 | UE Square, Singapore 239918, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#180 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#180 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work in a definitive world-class environment. Live in the lap of luxury. Play in a landscape of never-ending excitement. Such is the tantalising allure of a well-rounded stay in Park Avenue Clemenceau. True to our belief in seeing things your way, this serviced apartment is sited in one of Singapore's most enviable spots, next to the riverside and close to all the thrills of the city. Enjoy a colourful stay where every day brings new surprises in the most delightful ways.Live - Indulge in the best of modern comfort with sweeping views of the city from one of our 150 fully-furnished suites available in one- to four-bedroom options.Work - Get some serious work done in between dips at our poolside or at our business centre that comes complete with office facilities.Play - Choose from an eclectic mix of riverside wine and dine establishments or let your hair down in the up-tempo quayside clubbing district after a hard day's work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Park Avenue Clemenceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Avenue Clemenceau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.