We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vey comfortable and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“vey comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The only negative is that it is a bit out of the way of all the main hotel areas, (close to Chinatown though) so if we went out we had to plan it and most taxi drivers didn't know of it coming home.
However, there were so many pluses:
Being a smaller hotel it was more personal and comfortable.
Only been operating as a hotel for 3 years or so. Quiet location.
We got early check in at about 8.30-9am without any fuss.
The extra 1/2 day at the end we paid for was so worth it with the late airline departure time.
The hotel staff without exception were totally helpful charming and went out of their way to make things work for us.
They have a regular free shuttle bus that takes guests to several popular locations.
Taxis are quick and cheap, clean and AIRCONDITIONED!! Taxi drivers were all exceptionally delightful and patient.
Rooms although small (ex student accommodation) had wild but interesting decor but were really comfortable and beds were oh so good, linen was good and finally after 4 weeks of travelling, so were the feather pillows.
Room cleaning was of very high standard with all linen changed daily.
Dinner was of a reasonable standard and manager took a lot of pride in his service.
Breakfast, well what can I say, good coffee and cooking eggs... they don't get it. It was acceptable. A pool would have been a nice addition.
We took it as part of Singapore airlines stopover deal and it was very good value with all the touristy add-ons

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    238
    121
    49
    20
See reviews for
49
233
71
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Put up here for one night by Singapore Air after they changed our flight from Monday to Sunday. Not the ideal location for sightseeing but right next to Pearl Hill Park which leads you into China town.
Funky room, good bathroom with separate shower and nice toiletries (L'Occitaine).
No restaurant which is a bit inconvenient given the location, breakfast was ok first day (at least some local dishes) second morning it was disappointing particularly as we had to pay extra for it - bit mean that Singapore Air!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Having arrived after a long flight were disgusted to be given a room in which someone had slept in the bed! and kindly urinated in the toilet without flushing it.After complaining and some considerable time we were eventually allocated another tiny room which had body fluid stains on the duvet-dont ask use your imagination uck but we could no longer be bothered to move again.A real shame because in general the staff wanted you to have a good time but cleanliness is everything to me I am afraid and I dont want to get into someone elses bed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRe, Marketing Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, July 19, 2009
Dear Ms Richardson,

Apologies for my tardy reply and our sincerest apologies that your stay with Hotel Re! was not ideal. We have looked into the matter and found that you were actually checked into an occupied room by mistake. We sincerely apologise for the distress caused during your stay with us. Please be assured that this is not a common occurance in our hotel, and we do our utmost to achieve the best possible standards of service and cleanliness.

We value your feedback and once again extend our apologies.

Best Regards,
Jessica Loo
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Based on the excellent ratings on Trip Advisor we decided to try the Hotel Re! for 8 nights instead of a more conventional downtown chain.

The Re! is certainly very clean with comfortable beds and although rooms can be small it offers reasonable value.
These are room sizes as given to me
Superior room - 14sq m
Deluxe room - 18sq m
Executive room - 20sq m
Business room - 24sq m
Premier room - 28sq m
Family suite - 35sq m
Themed suite - 35sq m
We ended up with a deluxe which is about as small as I'd be prepared to rent for two people. Space in the bathroom was very limited.

The hotel's trendy design may or may not be to your liking ( I like ! ) but it can't disguise that the Hotel is still a modified school. As you enter the building it looks like the YMCA. The absence of a garden or pool confirm this as a night stop retreat only and not somewhere you'd wish return to - to escape the midday sun.

The slightly out of town location needn't be much of an issue.
Taxis are quite cheap ( about 6S$ to town ) or a 5 minute downhill walkway to the Outram MRT station is easy if you're fit - remember the heat and gates at the hotel exit are locked at midnight.
Also be aware that many taxi drivers have never heard of the new Hotel Re so you need to keep a map and address handy.

Less happily we had an issue with the billing.
I booked directly using the Hotel's own website and ordered a room with breakfast.
On arrival things were not quite as agreed but we appeared to resolve the issue and continued our stay.
On checkout the bill totals didn't appear unreasonable but the room rate had been crossed out and a higher one put in.It was suggested that I must have agreed to that as my signature was at the bottom of the sheet.
I knew nothing of that alteration and had not initialled it.

I don't think that there was any malpractice it just seemed that there was confusion over what the internet site lets you book and how they interpret things at the front desk.
All I would suggest is that you check your bill carefully on arrival and at departure.

To conclude the staff were generally helpful and friendly but no more that I would expect.
The food was adequate.

For us the killer was the cold atmosphere.
It may be that the Feng Shui expert got it wrong but more likely that once a school always a school and the staff are perhaps inexperienced in genuine hospitality.
There was no charm about the place. That extra oomph! that makes a great place to stay has nothing to do with start ratings. It's that feeling that you are surrounded by people who care and want you to experience the best. Sorry guys this hotel may suit the 2 day Twenty-something on a tight budget but us oldies have moved on!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-Super-Mare
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Situated within a 10 minute walk from a centrally positioned underground stop. This no-frills hotel offers stylish, spotlessly clean and well manicured accommodation at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was not lavish but perfectly adequate with a good choice of European and Asian fare. The staff were charming, courteous and well informed. Complementary wireless Internet access from the rooms was a nice touch. Because our standard room was not ready on arrival we were immediately given an upgrade to a room that was !Even the courtesy bus went out of its way to be accommodating. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton Uk
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I booked at the cheapest end of the scale because of an enforced Singapore Stopover due to flight connections, I had very little expectation. What a surprise, what an experience! Very new,spotless, friendly and helpful staff and a decor to cheer up anyone, young or old!
The bar,run by Charlie, unfortunately closed at midnight,but just one chance of a drink on the lovely upper terrace overlooking Pearl Park. I had a day free and I could not have been in a better spot to take a leisurely walk through china town and lunch in the amazing Lau Pau Sat adjacent to Raffles Quay. then a walk through Merlion Park.a stroll around the river past the theatres, Parliament House to ClarkesQuay for a coffee or a drink at the many and various bars. The hotel gave me a late room departure gratis. Small rooms and shower only at the basic rate....but fantastic decor and fully equipped with occitane shampoos etc. But pay a little extra and you could find yourself in the James Bond or John Travolta Suite with supersized beds and baths! A fantastic find..forget Raffles and you could probably could stay a week for the same money!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Stayed here on a Singapore Airlines Stopover package. I support the comments made below about the hotel. I think its out of the way location is an issue. The shuttle bus is not reliable on the pick ups from the city so it is quicker to take the metro back. The walk up is short but take it slowly in the heat.!! The rooms are not as garish as I thought and we had no problems with the size of the room either. The stopover package gave you half price on your evening meal which was just as well..the first night we ordered a mince curry which the waiter said was very mild..wrong.!! Too hot for me. The next night my husband ordered a fish dish which arrived promptly and I ordered a pizza as these were new to the menu and was recommended by the staff. It arrived 30 minutes after my husbands meal and then was the wrong type. I waited another 10 minutes for the correct one and then was disappointed as it lacked any spices/flavour. (They didn't charge for the pizza which was good) Later we ordered room service ice cream and again got the wrong order. So the restaurant needs some help here.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and they extended our check out until 2pm free of charge. The lack of a pool or large outdoor area is also a negative so I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and décor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone’s throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel’s convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.