We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for Singapore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Alexandria, VA, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good deal for Singapore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We found a really good deal for Hotel Re! when we were looking for places to stay in Singapore. Most of the hotels in the area were charging twice as much. This hotel was super cute, rooms were really really clean. But, the hotel is a little bit off from the food that you want to get to when in Singapore. It's right next to a beautiful park, so in those hot humid Singapore days, you can wander around there. But, I didn't go to Singapore for the parks. So, it was a little inconvenient when it came to walking to/from the hotel. And, taxi drivers didn't really know that this hotel existed. They can get you to the address, but are surprised by the hotel. If you can get a good deal, definitely worth it for Singapore.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear NinaB703,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking time to write this review on the go. We hope our shuttle service is of service to you during your stay, if not the next time you visit us. For food choices, we do have our own Re!Fill Restaurant and Re!Wine Retro Bar to fufil your hunger throughout the day. For more options, famous spots such as Clarke Quay, Robertson Quay, Chinatown, Sentosa are easily acessible from our hotel.

We hope you found your stay an enjoyable one, and we look forward to you "Re!laxing in Modern Retro Comfort" again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    250
    131
    53
    22
See reviews for
53
248
79
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wow! Very Asian decoration with a distinctive aromatic sent where ever you go. Was on a business trip so the hotel was not chosen by me alone. The interior designer must have been on a pink trip while visioning the hotel. Not my bowl of rice, sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Toni L,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for your feedback. We hope you have enjoyed the overall staying experience with us especially our service as per your higher rating as compared to other components. Perhaps, you can try out our Business Rooms or request for a color theme that suits you next time you visit Singapore.

We look forward to your next return to Hotel Re! and have the opportunity to be of service to you soon. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Re for 2 nights in July last week. First of all, its fairly out of the way but not that far from the CBD. the room i stayed in was stylish but super small - even for Singapore standards and so was the bathroom.

Positive experiences:
- The room was clean, well laid out and functional
- The food at the lobby cafe was decent quality

Negative experiences:
- This has never happened to me ever in a hotel especially in Singapore. On the first morning when i had to get to work, i kept standing for 20 minutes on the 9th floor waiting for the elevator. Only one was functioning, it was unmanned and there was some snag due to which it kept going to floor 3 and returning back to ground. Because the gates were inside the corridor, no hotel staff could see this anomaly and hence I kept standing, sweating and waiting. Finally out of no choice, i climbed down 9 floors and paraded to the reception to report the same. I was told that i should have used the staff or service elevators which were concealed on the other side of the passage. No apologies, nothing - ridiculous!
- The TV did not function and the housekeeping never responded to a call to get the same functioning
- Worst is, I forgot a pair of clothes in the cupboard and I promptly remembered and called them about the same 3 days later. They pleaded ignorance and despite several follow-ups, I was told that the staff didn't find anything in the room. This was absurd as there is no way my clothes wouldn't have been found by the housekeeping staff yet they pleaded ignorance and offered no help at all.
- When I landed for breakfast at the lobby cafe, the steward who was serving was also the guy making live eggs. Hence my request for a coffee after the elevator episode went non-attended. and then there was nothing vegetarian
- The cab usually takes 10-12 mins to get there and the staff refuses to call for the cab even if you pre-request them the previous day. They will hail the cab only once you request them at the lobby in person. I was 20 mins late on day 1 for work due to this.

Definitely not meant for business folks and leisure folks as long as they find it really cheap.

I would give it a total miss next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear eagerAmit,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking your time to draft this feedback. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had at our hotel. Your feedback has been brought to our Heads of Departments' attention (namely the Food & Beverage, Front Office and Housekeeping). We treat our guests feedback with utmost importance and we have since taken extra measures to prevent such incidents from happening again.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A complimentary shuttle bus takes you the 6 mins to Outram Park MRT...which makes the hotel ideally situated ! It looks somewhat 'wacky' - luminously garish colours, but the service is friendly and attentive, the rooms are small but well appointed and the beds are to die for !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear nauj63,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for your short and sweet feedback. Our beds are indeed of great quality especially when we have a range of pillows for your selection depending on your sleeping habits!

We look forward to your next return to Hotel Re! and have the opportunity to be of service to you soon. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I am shocked people are saying that their rooms were dirty or dusty.
My wife and I stayed at Hotel Re for 8 weeks in March-April (so people working there definitely remembered us) while I was doing a 2 month fellowship at a local university in Singapore. We had the room cleaned a number of times and we always came back to find it incredibly cleaned with nice attention to detail. Any snacks eaten were re-stocked in the mini bar as well.

The room was paid for by my university so I cannot comment on the price, but from what I could tell it is in the budget range for central Singapore.

The walk to Outram Park MRT is not terrible, maybe 10 minutes, but after 8 weeks gets boring. If we weren't in a rush and saw the driver by the shuttle we'd take that and it was fine. By Outram Park MRT is the Pearl's Hill center, with a nice little foodcourt where we'd often go for laksa dinners.
Walking in the other direction for 10 minutes took you first past a Sheng Siong supermarket, followed by People's Park shopping center and hawker center (a great place for a meal), a little further after that there is Chinatown Point mall with a Fair Price supermarket and after that all of Chinatown.

Just behind the hotel, down some stairs, on Chin Swee Rd is a bus stop (closet bus stop to hotel) which takes you further into center (by National Museum, SMU, Fortune Centre, and a short walk to Bugis, etc) and then heads out to Orchard Rd.
Given all that the location of Hotel Re is pretty great. Only downside is yes, you'll have to walk a little to get anywhere, as there is nothing directly around you, but you can get around fine with a little walking and some buses, and if you take a taxi then I would guess it's even easier.

The staff is friendly, my wife needed an ethernet cable since the wifi was in heavy use when she was having a Skype meeting and someone brought up a cable which sped up her connection.

We never ate there so can't comment on the food, as so many good hawker centres are nearby (Maxwell is within a nice 20 minute walk through Chinatown; Chinatown Hawker Centre is maybe 10-15 minutes, people's park is less than 10, and there are more if you want to walk further).

The TV in the rooms have HBO, the Australian Network, mtv, and a number of local channels in every local language.

You couldn't open the windows, but I don't think that is much different from most hotels in Singapore, and for most visitors it won't be a problem, but when you live in a place for 2 months you sometimes want to air it out, or just open the window in the morning and breathe in the fresh air.

Pearl Hill park is directly next to the hotel, a great place for a run if you love running up steps and hills. There is one loose rooster that lives in the park, if your window faces the park you might hear him calling out hoping to find a hen, but as far as I saw there are no loose hens, so he wanders the park aimlessly looking for a mate. He's a cute little guy with a lonely life, but it was always fun to spot him out the window pecking away.

There is a little gym on the 10th floor (for some reason their website still says 2nd floor, but it's definitely the 10th). And it is very little. Some weights, one treadmill, and one sorta bowflex/weights for the arms-legs, pecs,etc machine. Small but had enough for someone to get a good workout, plus I rarely saw anyone else in there so it was fine for just one person working out, especially if you're just in town a few days.

For the 2 months we were there at first we felt a little strange living full time in a hotel, but in the end it did become our little home in Singapore. It's a comfortable hotel and I'd recommend it if the price looks good to you for a very comfortable hotel. The rooms aren't huge but it's a hotel room, what are you doing in there really? The bathrooms were clean and the shower had a good pressure.

Room Tip: Facing the park is a much nicer view than facing Chin Swee road (which is more like a highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear MikeBinos,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We appreciate your detailed feedback on your 2 month's staying experience with us and trust that you have had a wonderful stay with us especially the proximity that our location brings! Noticed that you often go for laksa dinners (Our Re!Fill Restaurant's signature dish is the Abalaone Seafood Laksa), you may wish to give it a try at our restaurant next round you visit us!

We have definitely revised the website information on our Re!Charge Gym location (as level 10) as well. Thank you for your feedback once again, and we hope to host you again when you return to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Location is not very good, the walk to outram mrt has to pass steep stairs which is not good for elderly people. The room is very small and dirty. Dust around the corner of the room and a lot of hair on the bathroom wall after the room has been cleaned. Chair inside the room is dirty and have stain on the fabric. Air con is noisy and fridge not very cold. Shuttle bus service is unreliable and not on time. Only positive thing is staffs are very courteous and friendly. This is our 1st and will be our last stay at the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Miss H,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you have had at our hotel. Your feedback has been brought to attention to our Head of Department for Housekeeping . We treat our guests feedback with utmost importance and we have since taken extra measures to prevent such incidents from happening again.

We hope that you would allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at Hotel Re! and to impress you with our commitment to improve. Welcoming you back to Re!lax in Modern Retro Comfort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

In a city like Singapore where finding a decent place to stay is not difficult, but finding a not so expensive place to stay is, Re! was a breathe of fresh air. Situated a 4-5 minutes walk away from Outram Metro Station, making it as accessible. The walk to Outram Station is also so peacful and calming that it just adds to the fun of stay at Re!. The moment you enter Re! you are hit with the brightness of the neon colours that just make you so happy. The hotel is extremely clean and even though the rooms are really just small the window provides a view of the world outside keeping you in check with the outside world, even though it it really so cut off from the noise and chaos.
There is transport available to and from Outram station, but the distance and walk to the station being decent we never really needed to time ourselves.
Re! is a a good option for the budget traveller and being so close to the Metro is only an added advantage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Nopanickhere,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for your great feedback! We see that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially the proxmitiy of our hotel to the train station. Let us welcome you back on your next visit to Singapore, and hopefully you will discover more greatness within and surrounding our hotel. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and décor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone’s throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel’s convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.