We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Held the promise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill to your Saves list
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Bern
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Held the promise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel clearly is not a 5*, but it does deliver what it tells you.

Yes, it's about 5 minutes to walk from Outram MRT, but there is a shuttle bus during the day, with the schedule hang up in the elevators. It's about 3 minutes walk to Chinatown also, with a small but nice Hawker center and a cheap supermarket (Sheng Siong) just next to it. So, I certainly wouldn't say the location is as bad as others have described it.

I got an upgrade to an "executive" room on checkin. The room was of acceptable size, with a few non-alcoholic drinks, water, and some snacks offered by the hotel for free. Much appreciated. The bed was comfortable and the room itself quiet from outside. Aircon was ok, but not really great.

Regarding the bathroom, I do agree that there is mold in the bath tub area, but it's not that it's very bad. They should try to erase it, that's for sure, but it wasn't a "game killer". The shower needs to be "heated" first, but that just takes a few minutes. Afterwards, the water is just fine.

Free, quick Wifi, very much appreciated. It's a shame some hotels - especially those calling themselves "Business" hotel or 5*, charge you an arm and a leg, while decent hotels like this one, offer it for free.

For what I paid, this was definitely more than I could expect in Singapore.

Checkin/Checkout was quick and efficient. Guys with purple shirts are certainly weird, but the hotel does call itself "retro", so it's perfectly ok.

Try to erase the mold in the bathroom, maybe make the elevators a bit quicker, that's about all I could ask for. I'll gladly give it 5 points here overall, as value-for-money is perfect. The hotel is not perfect overall, the the value is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear WorldTraveller201000,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Your detailed review is certainly much appreciated! It sure gives our other guests much information on what to expect when they decide to stay with Hotel Re!. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our complimentary shuttle bus service, complimentary minibar snacks & complimentary WIFI! Surely we will look into your mentioned mold in the bathrooms and the elevators' speed so as to continuously improve on our product and service offerings! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    238
    121
    49
    20
See reviews for
49
233
71
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Decided for a short staycation during the weekends. Stayed over at Hotel RE located at Chin Swee road twice business room and premier room. Hotel is located right next to a hill. walking from outram park MRT station would roughly take to mins about a 30 degrees elevation up slope. However there is a shuttle service that is provided at roughly 20 mins interval from outram park MRT. Shuttle service ends at 8 pm . Check in was a breeze greeted by the friendly receptionist. The room view i got was mainly the one facing Singapore General Hospital and Tiong Bahru. Room very very clean had complimentary internet and minibar which was great . Toilets came in mosaic tiles which we of different colours. The premier room had standing showers where as the business room had bathtub and le'occitane amenities.Nice large flat LCD TV with cable channels. Overall a nice stay , only thing is that the location was not too great but i still enjoyed it .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear mohammadshafiq,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

We are happy to have provided you a wonderful staycation! Something which we are very proud of to provide for fellow Singaporeans! Your review had very much describe our rooms so well, and we certainly hope that you will be back soon to try out other of our room themes and see other colours of mosaic tiles in the bathroom! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The rooms were clean and neat. The mini-bar was free with daily snacks and a couple of drinks. The employees were always helpful. Location is good. It is easy to feel at home. We stayed for an Asia meeting with participants from Japan, Germany, Malaysia and Taiwan. Everybody loved it. The food was also excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear exportmann,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

It is heart warming to receive a wonderful feedback from you. =) So glad that you enjoyed your stay and Asia meeting with us and made some friends from over the globe. We would love to have you back on your personal trip in Singapore again. Look forward to serve you again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Booked this hotel which is near Chinatown, hoping to catch all the actions during the Chinese New year.
It turned out to be a wrong decision. Hotel is located on top of a hill and to reach the nearest MRT/ tube station means having to work 600m or ½ a mile. To reach another action spot at night ( Clarke quay) also involves working a mile with a map in hand. The path from hotel to station is deserted at night.
Room – in all my travels this hotel offers the smallest room. Room is ideal only for single occupant. The toilet is so small, a person having a body weight of 200kg or more will find it uncomfortable.
Located high on the hill top offers a consolation being quite and having a nice jogging path, with birds chipping in the morning.
Only travellers who know singapore well,will be this hotel acceptable as it's location is far from ideal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear willysee,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are sorry that you were unable to fully exploit our location. We shall encourage our staff to inform guests who are interested to take the stroll to go by more shortcut ways to improve their convenience. If you opt to travel by train, we also have our shuttle bus service which ferries guests between the Hotel and Outram MRT station from 0800hrs to 2000hrs daily. From there, Chinatown and Clarke Quay is one station away. We still look forward to your return to re!lax in modern retro comfort with us if you give us the chance, and to host you in a larger room the next time. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Yes rooms are small but this is Singapore! Very good location and they take you to the metro in their shuttle bus when you leave. We liked the funky decor.
Free minibar (not alcohol) was welcome after a long journey. Friendly helpful staff but they did not know that Woodlands metro and Woodlands raliway station are not in the same place and this caused us a bit of trouble when we went from Singapore to JB.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Jim H,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Great that you enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience our staff caused you. We shall take your feedback as an improvement example and continue to upgrade our service associates' skills to better serve our guests. Hope to see you back soon Jim H! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in Re hotel from 25th-27th Jan 2013 with family. Staffs are friendly and the rooms are neat and modern.Toilet is a bit small but practical enough. Bed is big and comfy but quite disappointed when we found out that the big bed is actually a combination of two super single beds.

A nice hotel and away from the bustling spore roads as the hotel is located slightly away from the main road and on a hill. However, you would need a cab to get to the hotel as it is quite a distance to Outram Park MRT station. Read reviews that MRT station is not that far. Tried to follow the route given by the hotel and boy IT IS quite far. Not recommended for elderly, family with small children and people with big shopping bags! Better to take a cab to from MRT station to the hotel. There's a one way shuttle to the MRT station from the hotel though.


Overall, it is a good stay.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the Outram Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear anis_azri,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Appreciate your feedback so we know we served you well! You will be glad to know that we do provide value added service for guests should they call in to the Hotel to request for our friendly shuttle bus driver to make a special trip to pick them up from Outram MRT to the Hotel. We hope to see you back soon, and perhaps in the Deluxe Garden View Rooms again! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is well located in Singapore : 5min by waling from the subway, 10min by walking from an area with many restaurant (expat area)

Hotels in Singapore are really expensive for the quality value for money. So according Singapore standards, size and price are fine compare for what you can find there. But after if you compare to the rest of Asia, rooms are really small for a steep price !

Room are clean and nice decorated (disco decoration). Isolation is really terrible. Sounds like no wall between bathroom and room... which is not romantic when you are going there as a couple !

We didn't try the breakfast there.

We enjoyed the 2 nights stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR-HotelRe, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MademoiselleAmandine,

Greetings from Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill!

Thank you for writing us your review. We are glad you appreciate our convenient location, clean rooms, modern retro hotel decorations and value for money stay accommodation! =) Hope to have you back to stay with us soon again, and do try our International Buffet Breakfast the next time! Do take care in chilly Shanghai~ Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill

Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore (Formerly Hotel Re!)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#80 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and décor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone’s throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel’s convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Re! @ Pearl's Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.