We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for a long stay in Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Raffles Place Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Raffles Place Singapore to your Saves list
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Finlayson Green, Singapore 049247, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic for a long stay in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my friends booked this service apartment just for a venue for us to get together and chill out.It is amazing,fully equipped with sink,microwave,washing machine and etc...
Very clean with modern furnishing.We booked the 'studio room' and it was perfect for us.
The swimming pool was amazing with the gym nearby, and I remembered taking fresh apples(provided) from somewhere around the pool.As, you can see,I cant stop praising this apartment.Thumbs up! ;) So,for expats planning to stay Singapore for a month or more,this would be a goood choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    16
    2
    8
See reviews for
16
38
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Ascott is more a serviced apartment than a hotel, so rooms are larger, but on-site facilities in terms of restaurants, bars etc. non existent.. Being Singapore, this is not an issue though as countless places outside. Kitchen was unused by me (other than making Coffee), but had all appliances (high end Gaggenau), including a clothes washer / dryer. Would not term it a room with a view, but was easy access to most places I needed to go, so again not a problem. Good WiFi and also cabled internet (included in price!) Bathroom was excellent as were 2 TV's and Bose sound / DVD system.

Only, and pretty major gripe, is that the bed was on a raised floor with a step down to living area (I guess intent was to differentiate the areas). At night if I wanted to get out of bed to go to living area / bathroom this resulted in a potentially stumble as the step was at head of bed.. They should mark it in some way when dark.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel is easily accessible and very convenient. It is a great place to stay if you don't mind the below average services. The staff both at the front desk and concierge were not entirely friendly.

However, the room is simply marvelous. It came with a small kitchen area complete with quality cooking utensils. There were also a refrigerator, washing machine, dryer, 2 LCD TV as well as a BOSE home entertainment system! The hotel has a roof top swimming pool, gym and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was a little run down and dirty though.

Breakfast was nothing to shout about. There were not many choices at the small restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
492 helpful votes 492 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed here during the weekend. Location is subjective as if you are looking for shopping, there is only the Marina Bay sands which is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away. But if you are staying at the hotel for business, its right i the centre of the business district. However, getting around is easy with the MRT just under the hotel.

Service wise, there is not much to speak of as its a serviced apartment and not a full fledged hotel. The rooms are clean and huge. They have a mini kitchen for you to cook and wash your dishes. Oven and fridge can be found in the room as well.

On level 2, there is actually a coffee machine and therefore, one can proceed there for a free cup of coffee anytime during the stay.

The pools are pretty small and located very close to the next building which happens to be some offices.

The Lau pat sat (singapore style food court) is only 5 minutes walk away and you can try the different hawker food here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

From the moment you walk in, there is no one to help you out of the taxi with the bags. You have to drag them up the stairs and push the doors and shout for a help with the bags.

I regret deeply for not choosing other competitor's with excellent services. I chose this place for its location--5 min walk to work.

Hardwares of the hotel is far impressive. The soft side, people management is by far the worst I have ever seen. No one ever greets you "welcome" or "Good Morning." They use the Concierge as a working office. They seem simply too busy to notice any complaints by customers. The staffs were ever so rude. Made me wonder why they would bother staying in the hospitality industry.

I have made many suggestions and provided feedback during my stay for one month. I was trying to constructive. However, I was punished by the staff for complaining. They gave me a dirty look every time they saw me, standing behind the Concierge desk--hoping to threaten me?? I am quite impressed though about how strong the ties were amongst the staffs--clearly they are protecting one another. But this is not a spirit of the hospitality industry.

The doorman/ bell boys were never to be seen outside of the door. They stay in a nice cool air-conditioned environment behind the Concierge with Concierge staff gossiping the customers.

I was puzzled by how no one seems to manage this hotel at all. But then I realized this hotel is NOT owned by a hotelier, but owned by Capital Land--a property developer in Singapore. The cultures are different here.

I said repeatedly to the management in writing, what is the point of spending so much money to impress the customers with the fine linens and impressive bathrooms, when they cannot even provide a simple services?

When you need any service, no one is ever around. The only thing worked was the Housekeeping's cleaning services. Nothing ever works around there.

The whole hotel makes more sense as a serviced apartments. If you are looking for a five star hotel services, this is NOT the place.

My rating of the services were at 1 star only. The rooms, I would rate at 5 star. Nice design, expensive china, etc. But in the end, if you have to live there for a month, you just could not.

I remember my stay being very unpleasant (leaving out the small details) and I also have heard from other friends who stayed for one month seeing the same problem. Obviously they never bother fixing any problem that I have written on the comments cards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The rooms are huge with all the ammenities. We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our trip. The room had a washing machine so were able to catch up on all our washing ready for the flight home.

The staff are friendly and attentative. Although there wasn't much for them to do because it was already done.

It is a minutes walk to the train station and shops. Also a 2 minute walk to La Pa Sat. Excellent cheap food! I recommend you stop for dinner there. We went there both nights we were staying at the Ascott Raffles Place.

Using the train in Singapore is so easy and the best way to get around so it was a bonus to be so close to the train station.

China town is an easy walk away if you can handle walking in the heat. I purchased some open walking shoes while in singapore and wore them everywhere. Don't bother bringing any other shoes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Ascott during our brief trip to Singapore during the GSS (Great Singapore Sale). It was one of the few service apartments which not only accommodated our short stay in Singapore but met our family needs and requirements. The plus points about the apartment was that it was certainly luxurious beyond our expectations and especially comfortable. The hotel concierge was very helpful with our needs since we needed an extra cot and bed to accommodate our family and nanny. The apartment was very well-equiped. It has a very modern kitchen and a washing machine/dryer which were very well-used by us during our short stay as we had an infant and a young child with us on this trip. The apartment has a good view of the harbour and my son was delighted with the high rise buildings in the vicinity. The only downside is that it has no car park facilities unlike the other hotels in the city. Since we drove down from KL, we had to park in a public cark park adjacent to the building and this may be costly if you intent to keep you car there overnight. Additionally, the drop off and pick up point at the apartment very narrow and slightly unshaded. Hence, if it rains, you may find youself getting slightly drenched when getting out of the car from the left side.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Raffles Place Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Raffles Place Singapore

Address: 2 Finlayson Green, Singapore 049247, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Singapore
#63 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#66 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Raffles Place Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is a paragon of cultured living set in the heart of Singapore's financial cityscape. The heritage building restored from its 1950 splendour, is a distinct and exclusive residential experience with its Art Deco architectural facade set against the modern cityscape. The prime location grants immediate access to the multitude of business and financial institutions in the CBD area. Also close are the renowned entertainment and shopping districts, international restaurants and cultural destinations unique to Singapore.Each of these serviced suites at Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is designed to articulate sheer luxury and ensure absolute peace of mind. Be lavished with unrivalled personalised services and extensive business support in the comfort and privacy of an elegant, fully-equipped home. With a commanding view of Singapore and designed for optimum luxury, Ascott Raffles Place Singapore provides the extravagant comfort, elegant suites and the supreme privacy desired in a luxurious serviced suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Ascott Raffles Place Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Raffles Place Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.