We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good self catering apartment in city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascott Raffles Place Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ascott Raffles Place Singapore to your Saves list
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Finlayson Green, Singapore 049247, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very good self catering apartment in city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at the Ascott Raffles Place end of Dec'12, family with kid 2.6 years old.
Best things to mention:
- location is wounderful, close to MRT and major attractions
- no noise from the street (I was afraid of it having read previous review about renovation work)
- room is very large and bed is huge, very comfortable for all of us
- bathroom and shower is very convenient, l'occitane shampoo and gel are beyond praise
- enjoyed washing machine with dryer, very convenient if you travelling with kid. And there is iron in the room at your disposal.
- infinity swimming pool on 19th floor is beautiful. The only drawback it it was very cold, could not use it during this time of the year. Unfortunately jacuzzi was closed for maintenance during our stay.
- there is lift at the entrance, very convenient if you are travelling with stroller

Enjoyed a lot and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    75
    14
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
37
14
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a staycation here for NYE countdown. The lobby though small was well decorated and welcoming. The rooms were superb, two rooms, both pleasant. One had a good view where we caught some of the fireworks. The apartment was well equipped with everything we needed, loved the kitchen and bathroom was designed very thoughtful as well with a separate toilet. One of our rooms, which was bigger, had two televisions, very convenient if you have a bigger crowd. The location is also not bad, if you want to be in the CBD area (accessible via MRT), very quiet on weekends. The famous La Pa Sat food centre is also nearby.

A few minor things that could be improved, there's no instructions on how you could dial for room service or housekeeping, perhaps there should be a "telephone directory" beside the phone. Friend requested for extra pillow but didn't arrive. I didn't quite like the pool which felt more like a fish tank, the water was also freezing and I thought it could be quite an hazard as you couldn't climb out of it easily (only via one entrance/exit with the ladder). We also noticed some rusty parts of the pool. It was also small and when we had a few people in there, it was difficult to swim, and the waters easily swaying when people swam by. Checking out could be more efficient.

Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay... and definitely the spacious rooms are worth coming back for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We got a suite and it was spacious and the bedding was extremely comfortable. Overall the hotel is located in the financial district and thus not much shopping around unless you head to MBS. Raffles place station is only about 100m away hence getting arouund singapore isnt an issue. Overall, a pleasant experience and will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliffe, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at the Ascott Raffles Place between Christmas 2012 and New Years. We were very satisfied with the overall quality of the hotel, security and housekeeping. As others have said, the location was great for us being first time visitors to Singapore - right across from the Raffles Place MRT station, 2 short blocks from Lau Pa Sat hawkers market where we got very good and cheap food for take out to eat in our room, 10 min. walk to the Cold Storage grocery on Cross St., easy walk to Marina Bay Sands complex, and easy walk to Chinatown.
The hotel staff were very good, helping with my husband's lost luggage, and if you need any detailed help, please ask for Cynthia - she was knowledgable, went out of her way for us, and as a former Singapore Airlines attendant, understands customer service.
Our room, a studio, was very well appointed but could have used a bigger table for meals. The bed was very comfortable, AC was quiet and easy to control, and the room was very soundproof - we faced the front of the building 10 floors above the entrance and there was no street noise heard in the room. I even slept through the fireworks New Years Eve which were not very far away at Marina Bay!
The kitchen appliances were great but there were not very many pots and pans to cook in, so we did a lot of heating up of take out, since we loved the hawker food and did not want to spend a lot of time or money eating in restaurants. The bathroom was fine for the 2 of us, plus we really liked the bathtub/shower combination. Internet access was easy and reliable. The little gym and lounge up on the 19th floor was adequate for a good cardio and basic weight workout - the weight machines were not that great quality.
There are 2 hot tubs up on the 21st floor which were not working for most of our stay, which was a little disappointing. And on New Years Eve, they closed the 19th floor and 21st floor outside areas so you could not go up there to watch the fireworks! For everyone's safety, they said. We were disappointed since we did not want to go out in the huge crush of people around Marina Bay. If I were going to be there again over New Years, I would book a different hotel with a view of Marina Bay that was not going to be closed! But any other time, and especially for first time visitors, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a great hotel if you want a kitchen and public transport right out the door. It is less than a couple of minutes walk to the marina and about 15 minutes walk to Marina Bay Sands. There is a hawker market 2 blocks away. Our twin room was huge and the bathroom was huge with bath and separate shower. The gym was acceptable with about six running machines and some bikes and weights. The outdoor pool is small but perfectly fine. This was my second stay and I will come back. It doesn't have the glam of other hotels but it has the space and small hotel service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a weekend stay-over with my friends at Ascott.

First impression was very nice and grand. The location was excellent as well, just 30seconds walk upon exiting Exit I from Raffles Place train station.

It has good security system, as you need to tap your room card in order to go to your room level.

The room was much bigger than usual hotel rooms in Singapore. The bathroom was big and awesome. There is both standing shower and a bathtub, suitable for couples. Ascott provide L'occitane toiletries.

I can say the room is well-equipped, you can cook inside as well.

The bed is super comfortable and big.

Oh and there's swimming pool at the 19th floor.

Overall, I felt everything is good and the money spent is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It is a nice service apartment. Everything you expect. The drawback is that there is a huge construction site at the back of the property. I did not stay. But visited a friend in the evening and noted the noise. I then walked over to the construction site and saw that there is an office project there, going to rise up to 200+m. They are doing piling work now. Work appears to go on for 24 hours. Light sleeper may have a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, but I am not sure whether you will find one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascott Raffles Place Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Raffles Place Singapore

Address: 2 Finlayson Green, Singapore 049247, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#59 Business Hotel in Singapore
#64 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Raffles Place Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is a paragon of cultured living set in the heart of Singapore's financial cityscape. The heritage building restored from its 1950 splendour, is a distinct and exclusive residential experience with its Art Deco architectural facade set against the modern cityscape. The prime location grants immediate access to the multitude of business and financial institutions in the CBD area. Also close are the renowned entertainment and shopping districts, international restaurants and cultural destinations unique to Singapore.Each of these serviced suites at Ascott Raffles Place Singapore is designed to articulate sheer luxury and ensure absolute peace of mind. Be lavished with unrivalled personalised services and extensive business support in the comfort and privacy of an elegant, fully-equipped home. With a commanding view of Singapore and designed for optimum luxury, Ascott Raffles Place Singapore provides the extravagant comfort, elegant suites and the supreme privacy desired in a luxurious serviced suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ascott Raffles Place Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Raffles Place Singapore Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascott Raffles Place Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.