We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good Sunday brunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yantra

Yantra
163 Tanglin Road #01-28/33 | Tanglin Mall, Singapore 247933, Singapore
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,073 of 7,254 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Gratify your senses and satisfy your discerning palate at Yantra, which offers tantalising flavours and creative recipes. Enjoy modern Indian cuisine in the comfort of its dark interiors, sleek leather high-back chairs and warm lighting.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good variety of starters and mains and exceptionally good deserts particularly the Jalebi`s.Relaxed casual atmosphere and the place is usually buzzing with People of Indian origin, which is generally a good indication that the food is authentic.
If anything their main section could be more imaginative.
will be back soon

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    64
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Superb food but the service could be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I are very frequent visitors to Yantra.

The decor is basic but elegant. It's great to have a 'nice looking' Indian restaurant to take guests to finally.

We've had the chance to experience the buffets as well as the A La Carte menu.

The buffets are great value for money and the Sunday buffet is absolutely the best option. A La Carte tends to be expensive but that is to be expected.

The true speciality of Yantra is their stunning Kababs. In my view, the Gaulati Kabab I've had here is simply the best that I've tried anywhere. The variety of Chicken Kababs and the Sheeks are absolutely superb. My wife swears by their tandoor prawns.

On Sundays, they also have an absolutely superb chaat service. I'd highly recommend the Aloo Tikki.

The gravy dishes are a bit of a hit and miss. There's a Chicken Tikka Masala variant that they do infrequently at the buffet which is absolutely delicious. Its one dish that I always try to have if we are going A La Carte.

The biryanis are great too. The mutton biryani is a bit better than the others

The only average cusine is the desserts but these have been improving. The icing on the cake is the freshly made Jalebis. On occassions, the Gulab Jamuns are pretty nice. If you are going A La Carte, don't miss the Paan Kulfi.

The service is a bit average though. If Chintan is around, he takes absolutely superb care of the guests, but the general wait staff could be a bit more responsive.

This is the place to go to for a great meal

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centre france
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good food spoilt by bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We arrived just after 6.30 with no reservation on a Saturday evening but were welcomed and given a choice of where to sit. The menu had plenty of choice and each dish is shown so you have some idea of what you are getting. We were given a choice of still or sparkling water - I chose still and we got mineral water from Italy- I noticed later that locals were given tap water. Our water cost 10SD. The starters were good and well presented. The mains were tasty but were just bowls of chicken or lamb in a thick sauce - no special presentation. The Naans were good. After we had kulfi which came in a bowl over a goblet of dry ice. With two beers and a tonic water the bill came to 270SD or £130. That is what dinner for two would cost us in a one star Michelin in France with wine. Other people have mentioned the buffet lunch and it seems really good value at 19SD so I would recommend going for lunch as it is worth a visit but not worth the price we paid in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“they have real desi stuff spiced and really tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been twice to this place.
once for a networking meetup ..and the follow up was my desire to try their biryani again

have tried few of their starters mushroom ,Prawns & Chicken kebabs are really awesome.

biryani is something that stands out i liked the dum biryani very much just perfect.

Price wise yes little on high side but taste wise its probably among the top 5 destinations in Singapore for north Indian food

overall if you like north Indian food this is a place worth trying

Cheers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch spread but the service staff was clueless!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited yantra today for the popular Sunday brunch for the first time. Have visited them for a la carte dinner earlier as well and food does taste great and is one of the best Indian fare in Singapore.

For $50. The brunch is not cheap but the spread is decent and tastes excellent even from buffet food standards...good choice starters and indian desserts. However the inattentive service left a lot to be desired. Even though there were few guests due to Chinese New Year weekend, the staff was nowhere to be found for performing simple tasks like clearing plates and serving breads...for buffer settings, one doesn't expect much service apart from plates being regularly replaced and breads being served on time!

Full marks to the chef though...just improve the service a little bit... Few smiles here and there would help guests a little bit more welcome!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yantra also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yantra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.