We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raj

Raj
76/76A Syed ALwi Road, Singapore 207655, Singapore (Little India)
62950679
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,439 of 7,750 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Little India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

very tasty and perfect indian foood ... very decent behavior of the people.... even the jalebi and puchkas that my daughter loved to eat were there. It made her soo happy and thus i got happy too... thanks RAJ

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“founded in Kolkatta but no mishty dohi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

the background of this restaurant indicated that it was founded in kolkatta. so i was disappointed to learn that mishti dohi (sweet yoghurt, a bengali favourite) was not on the menu. we were informed that this item is only available on occasions like deepawali.

the strength of raj is primarily in dosai and idli varieties - about sixty vatieties of dosai (including uttapam). the choice is immense indeed.

we tried the rawa masala and as requested it was served crisp with the usual chutney and sambar accompaniments which were in generous quantity.

the thali was very decently presented, with extensive choice of six vegetables, curd and sweet dish (halwa). two chappaties and steamed rice were more than sufficient for one person.

the chaats at raj are also very authentic and delicious.

we however found the palak paneer (over coloured and with too much coagulant) was somewhat different from the usual palak paneer dish.the naans were very goo though.

the kulfi was seriously flawed - cystallized and lacking the subtle flavours.

the staff however were very attentive, smiling serving orders expeditiously.the price at raj is very reasonable and one should be able to get a highly satisfactory meal (with some exceptions,explained above)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really worth the money, wonderful taste and variety.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We ordered different types of dosas and a meal. Surprised to have it in such wonderful mix of flavors. Honestly, I have tried several such dishes in South India like A2B, Sarvana Bhavan etc but this one was quite different and I really loved it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Improvement in service standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I think the service at Raj has actually improved since the last time I visited. The menu looks as good as ever, with plenty of choices. There are at least 30 varieties of dosas alone, along with thalis, chaats and a la carte north Indian food. Good place to go if you are in a large group and different people want to eat different things. The sweets are only so-so.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Raj is simple fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

we love raj restaurant infront of mustafa.we like all snacks here.tamoto soup here is simply superb.North indian and vegetarian dishes are very well made.This restaurant is highly recommended always

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raj also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.