We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Qasr

Al Qasr
Holland Village, Singapore 277698, Singapore
64698984
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,360 of 7,382 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Let's start with the positives. They offer microbrewery beer on tap, its actually quite nice, and before 9pm it is reasonably priced (S$8.9 per pint) for Singapore. The ambiance is pleasant.

Hmmm.... cant think of any more positives. So on to the negatives...

The service is slow. Often didn't see my server for 30 mins or more. I wouldn't mind if the food was worth waiting for. But it was not. It just doesn't taste how it should. I don't know if has been toned down for the Singapore market, but it lacks those gorgeous flavours of the middle east. The kebabs from Shiraz are much better, and even their kebabs I would rate as "average".

That said, the restaurant was quite busy. Taking a look at the scores for this restaurant, it is quite an unusual profile, quite polarising. In other words, some people love it, whilst others hate it. Well, I am definitely in the hate camp. But you may well love it, you can only really tell by giving it a try. But it doesn't come with a recommendation from me!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Will never come back again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been sitting here for 2 hours. First one hour, we waited for drinks. For the next hour, they only change the charcoal for the sheesha once. After we asked for more charcoal, we waited for half an hour only to be told that the kitchen has closed and there's no more charcoal. Not only was the kitchen closed, the toilets were closed too and we couldn't use it.

Okay, so about the drinks. The coffee was watery and the Martel was mixed with water. The only dish we ordered was four pieces of nuggets on a scattering of fries. It looked like what you would get in a primary school canteen except it costed $7 excluding tax and gst.

Unless you have plenty of patience, wish to smoke only a few puffs from the sheesha and just want to eat a few pieces of nuggets, there are better options in Holland Village.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“consistently delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been to Al-Qasr many times and it never fails to deliver quality as far as food is concerned. If you are adventurous like me, try the mince raw lamb (reminiscent of steak tartare). It is a must have with a very delicate flavour. The kebabs are all good and the mainstay for me.

Prasad the manager is always at hand to help and he aims to please. All in all, satisfying experiences.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced & extremely underwhelming fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went there for the 2nd time last weekend. I thought they were okay the first time. The second time confirmed that they are overpriced ($28 for a lamb kabob khash khash) which was average tasting and confirmed they are inconsistent with their food quality. Our guest thought her shawarma tasted like fast food from a mall. And the most ridiculous part is this is the only restaurant I have been to where they offer a humus dish but no pita accompanying it. Yes, you have to order the pita bread separately and pay extra for it! The waiter looked confused when I asked how one ate the humus if there was no pita. Clearly a rip off. Smelly washroom to boot. I would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Decent (overpriced) Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went over the Holland Village for dinner and of course all restaurants were full, except Al Qasr, which was maybe 1/2 full at best. We were seated quickly, then it went down hill from there. The waiter convinced us to order the most expensive foods on the menu, though we told he we just wanted light portions. We were with our young son who was very hungry. It took a long time to get our food, then the person serving had vast confusion. Then it went even further down hill. Our waiter seemed to morph into a cashier and the new waiters (who over I could flag down) would say "yes yes yes" then never come back. It took so long to to get the check that I eventually had to stand up and walk towards the door. The original waiter came back and apologized saying how busy they were, but the restaurant at that time was less than 1/5th full (I now understand why). The service issue was not unique to us, tables around us had the same problems - wrong orders, slow service, highly confused asian waiters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Qasr also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Al Qasr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Qasr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.