We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite salad fix” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seah Street Deli

Seah Street Deli
1 Beach Road, Singapore 189673, Singapore
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,455 of 7,086 restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My favorite salad fix”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Every time I feel like having anything American & salad , this is it ! The Cobb salad is to die for and the sinful onion rings ain't too bad either .(. Don't forget to ask for the b'cue sauce to accompany the onion rings )

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

26% Recommend
    1
    5
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just to say you've not been (again) to the Long Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A nice place that is perfectly recreating the NY experience. The extensive menu would definitely meet any desire any time of the day. Pastrami is quite good and generously served. But it is expensive! Be ready to spend S$29.00 for a small plate of Mac&Cheese or S$34.00 for a Cotton Club sandwich...
Kids love it though because of the decoration, and all the variants of ice cream sodas!
The good thing is that you can enjoy a relaxing break as the staff is not as sweltering as the heat outside. They even propose magazines, if you plan to extend your stay with a good coffee ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing... A rip-off... Won't be going back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lunch on Saturday, expensive sandwiches, could have made better and more appetising at home for a fraction of the cost. Chips undercooked, BLT - plenty of bacon, but stuck between two pieces of white toasted bread, one lettuce leaf and three bits of tomato. Other sandwich wasn't much better - ham in between egg fried bread, soggy, limp and unappetising... Bill came to well over 60 sgd for two mediocre sandwiches... Raffles food and beverage outlets are seriously losing the place over the past couple of years... Afternoon tea is disappointing - sandwiches and cakes already plated and waiting on tables for customers to arrive - food drying out in the air con, birds flying around inside etc... Courtyard, notorious for bad service and poor quality expensive cocktails, long bar the same. Ah tengs bakery is an apology for a colonial style tea room, the chinese restaurant used to serve good dim sum but the last visit the pork dumplings were barely cooked and pink raw, again expensive... Billiard room brunch and buffet still seems to be hanging on in there just with good quality, hopefully it. An be maintained... A great pity as raffles did used to be a place of reliable quality, style and indulgence... It's shabby, going downhill, ripping off tourists and expats who now avoid it. Changeover in management and ownership evident - think take over and Arab owned since the past 18 months...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hugely overpriced for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hugely overpriced for what it is, and that is just a fairly average American styled food joint. I have no idea how southern fried chicken, a burger, and two beers came to $120, but it did.... I have had better chicken in greasy cafes in London.

You weren't even paying for good service. The waitress brought us our food before she brought us our drinks, she hadn't even brought us table water. And when I chased the beers, after we had nearly finished our food, she rolled her eyes at me as if I was hugely inconveniencing her.

I wouldn't recommend, and definitely wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
450 reviews 450 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Would eat here if I was around Raffles and wanted a quick snack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I have stopped here when I wanted a snack but didn't want a formal sit-down meal. You can take the food out to the courtyard and eat there. Overall, the food is average. I think that if the same cafe was in a different location, it would not get as much business.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seah Street Deli also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Seah Street Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seah Street Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.