We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food makes up for everything else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jumbo Seafood

Jumbo Seafood
Blk 1206 East Coast Parkway #01-07/08, East Coast Seafood Centre, Singapore 449883, Singapore
+65 6442 3435
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 7,412 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific food makes up for everything else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Crowded and long queues mean reservations are essential specially on Friday evening and the weekend. Our group of 4 was lucky to get seating quite quickly when the Clarke Quay location thoughtfully sent us to the Riverwalk instead. We took the 4 person set menu with the pepper crab. The portions were generous, the bibs are just the thing to enjoy the seafood (huge prawns which you have to shell yourself, generous crab hearts and pincers, and a delicious fried tilapia) and the accompaniments of noodles and kailan. The chilled Tigers and sago iced dessert cooled us down. Lack of fans, very crowded seating and surprising charge for even peanuts would have been intolerable but the terrific food makes up for those.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    494
    195
    68
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, That's it!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If not for the problems listed below this restaurant would rate five stars for food alone but the service and seating issues lower the rating considerably. Arriving for our reservation we were seated in the center of a three table wide set up directly opposite the dish washing station and next to the waiters main station. As the two tables on either side emptied they were replaced by waitresses doing set up work, preparing table settings and the like. The table to my left was so close that I spent 20 minutes with the rear end of the server in my food as he cleaned the table top. Three minutes after we sat down we received our Chilli Crab, perfect except for the fact we were only given one 6 inch wide plate for our entire meal. I'm not sure how we were supposed to dispose of the crab shells and put the crab and fried rice all on the same tiny plate. They also only gave the two of us one silverware setting (crab pick and cracker). While the crab was served promptly the fried rice showed up just as we were finishing our meal. The chilli crab and seafood fried were rice were excellent as was the bean curd with mushrooms but the entire meal was spoiled by the noise of the dishwashers and the constant running around by the waitresses working next to our table. Understand that this review is for the Riverwalk location only and may not reflect what happens at their other locations in Singapore. If you go make sure you request a table on the river or in the main dining room. Stay away from anything to the left as you face the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Being in Singapore for a week we tried a few chinese style seafood places - this was the best and most affordable. Best in Singapore and ten times better than the overprices restaurants on Bintan. Make sure to reserve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Chili Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been there second time, I could say that the seafood cuisine is excellent even for capricious visitor. Crab in Chili - superb, lobster sashimi - magic, sharksfin soup - very delicious. Best recommendations !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location - ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've eaten here before (2-3 years ago), and had a much better experience. We ordered chilli mud crab, crispy chicken steamed buns to mop up the sauce, steamed rice, and some Mee Goreng noodles. The noodles and the chicken were great. The crab came, but not the rice or the buns to eat with it, even though the person taking the order read it back to us to check. After about 20 minutes we were able to get the attention of a waiter, and after about another 20 minutes, we got the buns and the rice. By then I given up, as the crab wasn't nearly as nice as I had previously experienced there and I just wasn't enjoying it, particularly without the rice or buns. The service isn't good as others have said, however the young man with the tea was really helpful in finding the rest of our order, so all wasn't lost.

Not the best food experience in Singapore, and expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumbo Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jumbo Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jumbo Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.