We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cameron Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cameron Hotel
393F Upper Changi Road, Singapore 486917, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Penguin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Living history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I describe The Cameron Hotel to fellow road-weary travellers as Singapore's second Raffles.

Redolent of the country's colonial past, it was once the spiffing digs of British Airforce Officers, only scrambling distance from their Spitfires at the nearby Changi airfield.

At the Cameron they could relax from the rigours of winning wars with a gin of tonic under the slowly circulating ceiling fans, playing hands of cribbage and having their mustaches waxed.

A local legend even has it that one of them successfully shot Singapore's last surviving wild boar under the hotel's ping pong table late one night in 1958 having mistaken it for an Indian burglar.

Much has changed around the Cameron. The thriving suburb of Simei has shot up. Now, instead of Jap Zeros and Betty bombers, high-rise apartment blocks dominate the skyline. Speedy modern trains ferry the vibrant populace in minutes to the teeming city and beyond. And multi-level shopping malls throb with bustling tropical commerce.

But the Cameron has remained unchanged. It's as if time itself has passed it by. Or, more likely, as though the Cameron does not want anything to do with the 21st century.

Who needs it anyway? There's enough of that around.

The staff at the Cameron Hotel are 20th century friendly. You know, the way people used to be? Welcoming and warm. Nothing is beyond their request. When my lovely wife Beryl wanted her ashtray emptied the staff were at our door in minutes with a fresh one.

And the facilities? We'll, what do you want? A shower and toilet, a cupboard to put your clothes in, a bed ( with pillow and sheets) and air conditioning to give you a comfortable night's sleep. Somewhere safe to return at night to repair from a long hot day of sighting the sees.

If I wanted to watch colour TV or Monopoly I'd have bloody well stayed at home.

Breakfast is included in the hotel's modest tariff. And, to me, this was a highlight. I am something of a boiled-egg connoisseur, and the eggs at the Cameron are among the finest I have encountered anywhere is South East Asia. There is also Green Cake and toast and jam, as well as tea and coffee for those who don't wish to start the day with an alcoholic libation.

The Cameron Hotel is perfectly located - just minutes by foot or rickshaw from bus and train and close to major tourist attractions. Stroll into Simei for a haircut or lunch at the excellent food stalls in the town centre.

The infamous Japanese POW camp at Changi - a place of torture, starvation, boredom and hardship for a lot of men in the 1940s - is close by. And, for me, staying at the Cameron provided a unique opportunity. Most hotels only offer you a chance to visit history but at the Cameron you get to live it first hand.

Fellow time travellers I recommend this hotel highly.

- Terry Towelling
Upper Penguin
Tasmania

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Cameron Hotel is located near the interchange and the Airport Terminal We stayed for 2 nights as there is no other lodging/hotel near Simei Town or Changi Airport which is convenient for us to get to our destination . Its a budget hotel inclusive of simple daily breakfast. The room is simple but comfortable , To us its more like a home stay. as its a 2=storey bungalow house. Lobby is cosy with all stoneware decorative. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free wifi provided through the whole premise which is a added value to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Never go here! Its a hotel where hookers takes their clients which means that its VERY noisy! The rooms a filthy with hair and condoms on the floor.. Close to the airport thought, but don't stay here, not even for 1 night...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

First stayed here in 2007 with a mate. We were on a stopver on our way to Cambodia and it was close to the airport & pretty cheap for Singapore. It is an easy walk to Simei station, so it is easy to get into the city for a while. The rooms we had then were basic but OK. However when arriving back this time with someone else, I got put into one of the rooms we had previously. It was simply disgusting. The filthiest room and bathroom (absolutely gross) I've had on my travels throughout Asia over the years. They were full so couldn't move. For the price they charged ($55), I cannot believe they could seriously consider renting this room out in that state. Got to see one other (my friend was staying in) and it was only marginally better, though the bathroom was much cleaner than mine. Everything was dirty & a kind of slimy feel. Will definitely NOT be going back. A shame, because it is in a nice area, looks nice from the outside & it could be good if it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Arrived December 12 and went to bed around 10:00 and woke up feelng itchy.Went to check in the mirror and had 5 bed bug bites.I showed the front desk man and he said move to another room quick as we will rent this one immediately.They put me in another room that was smalller than a closet.I looked at the bed closely and noticed more bed bugs.I decided to check out immediately although I paid for one week in advance.There is a constant coming and going of short visit to this hotel for prostitution.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Cameron Hotel, Upper Changi Road, Singapore.
A budget hotel very close to Changi airport. That is all the good news.
My wife and I stayed here some years ago, and returned as we had been quite happy then. This time, we were given the same room (#32) which was in a disgusting state. Paint was peeling off the walls and the door frames were largely rotted away. The bedside cabinet was missing a bottom to its drawer, and was thick with dust. There was only one sheet on the bed which sported multiple cigarette burns, the bathroom door was split in half, and there was a hole in the floor beside the sink outlet which would have allowed a small cat to emerge from the sewers (luckily the only thing that emerged – as far as we knew – was an enormous cockroach). The “shower fitting” was a plastic rose on a dangling hose with no way of fixing it to the wall. We asked for another sheet to cover ourselves with, and were given a piece of material less than the size of a single.
Breakfast was toast your own bread with butter, a boiled egg, and a piece of cake. Coffee was the ubiquitous three-in-one sachet mix, very good for diabetics.
The Cameron does not accept credit cards, so make sure that enough hard cash is available when booking in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is an awful hotel, I am staying in this hotel due to I’m arriving in the budget terminal therefore I don’t have any access to changi transit hotel. I booked in for 65SGD for a block of 6 hours, comparing to 90SGD for changi transit hotel, I rather pay the extra of 25SGD if I have access to terminal 2 building.

* The cigarette smell of the room is unbearable even for a smoker like me.

* The room does include with an ensuite, but the toilet and shower is just plain dirty and seriously unusable for a decent shower.

* Due to the hotel allowing to charge by the hour, thus this attracted numerous patron who brings in prostitute. You can pretty much see them come and go during the night and you can easily distinguish them between prostitute and normal couple.

* Seriously in need of renovation, the room is just so run down and old that it doesn’t worth even the amount you paid to stay in there for 6 hours. The bed and linen is so old and dirty that I can’t even stay in there. I couldn’t help but think how many bacteria infected the bed considering countless prostitute use the bed for their dirty job.

I couldn’t get a good night sleep after a long transit especially with the cigarette smell; the smell is so thick that you will get a cancer if you stay for several hours more. The reason for the awful cigarette smell is because of those patrons who bring in prostitute for a quick 1 hour hit then after doing their thing; almost all of them will have a light in the room.

Pretty much to conclude, avoid if you want a room for a decent sleep but if you decided to bring in some mainland or filipino prostitute from geylang for a quick 1 hour, then this might be an appropriate option.

Room Tip: If you need transit hotel in Singapore, I strongly recommend the transit hotel located in the Changi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Hotel

Address: 393F Upper Changi Road, Singapore 486917, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
#270 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Cameron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.