We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fragrance Hotel - Oasis to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 Balestier Road, Singapore 329816, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No frills!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a budget stay hotel providing no additional frills to a visitor except for a comfortable night's sleep..the location is good, being not very far from city centre and the hotel service and staff is not bad either.

Room Tip: If on a budget..go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    98
    64
    10
    11
See reviews for
30
51
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

No extras: no F&B, no busisness centre, no spa, no swimming pool, no gym, and almost no parking (there space for 2 cars!), no fridge/wardrobe/bathtub/sofa/etc in the room.

But the hotel scores well on the important points: friendly efficient staff (although there's only one person at the front desk), big comfy bed, very clean, good shower, easy access to public transport, nearby eating places, TV.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machida, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I spent one night at the Fragrance Hotel-Oasis on April 15th. Although the room was a bit small, it was very clean and comfortable. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and taxis frequently drive by. The hotel staff (especially Bella) were courteous and very helpful explaining how to get to a certain location I was going to. One drawback was the fact that I had to pay extra for wifi. Other than that, very nice overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel offers a comfortable space for a reasonable price. Booking was easy, considering we just walked in. The staff were friendly and the location is convenient for tourists. There are a lot of places to eat around the area, there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, and if you want to take the MRT, a few minutes walk or a quick bus ride will get you to the nearest station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The room was adequate for the price paid. I don't have any complaints since on was on a short stay and a limited budget. Buses and trains will get you to the main attractions from here. If you are looking for a great hotel experience be prepared to spend lots of money elsewhere. This hotel was reasonably priced, was clean, and had a friendly and helpful front desk personnel.

Room Tip: Book your room online through a dependable website like Hotels.com and then you'll be ready in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasay
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Clean, basic and simple. These are the things a budget traveller like me looks for in a hotel. The location was quiet and accessible. The rooms are small, I am not looking for a big room since I paid a cheap rate anyway. The hotel is near a bus stop, restaurants, a convenient store and the nearest train station is just 10 minutes away by bus. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those who understand the budget concept of travelling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Room was adequate. 10 min bus ride to nearest MRT. We stayed 2 nights and had 3 more nights booked when we returned to Singapore at end of our holiday. Death of my mother required us to return much earlier than expected and needed to cancel last 3 nights. I asked if we could use one of the paid for nights as we passed through Singapore and if any refund was available. No, no. no. Fragrance hotel management cancellation policy is utterly inflexable. Even with 10 days notice no refund of any sort and no transfer of paid night on our unexpected early return. Knowing that I would never stay at another one their hotels. This is the reason for low rating. Mean and greedy
There are plenty of other hotels in Singapore. Advise do not pay in advance

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Oasis, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Paule, we are sorry to learn the demise of your mother and would like to express my heartfelt condolences to you and your family. To clarify the situation, our Reservations Department had only received a call from our booking partner, Agoda to inform of your situation during the late evening of 14 Mar, which is also the day of your arrival. In order to review your cancellation waiver request, the hotel had requested for the relevant document from you, which we unfortunately did not hear from you or Agoda until this review posting. Nevertheless, we had already contacted Agoda and they are in the midst of notifying you to provide the full refund of your hotel stay.

Thank you for you patience and understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Oasis

Address: 435 Balestier Road, Singapore 329816, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Oasis 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis Singapore
Fragrance Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.