We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service for restaurant at hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fragrance Hotel - Imperial to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Penhas Road, Singapore 208187, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
kuala lumpur
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“bad service for restaurant at hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed from 3rd to 6th for a triple room. Services from hotel staffs ok. Hotel room was small but just nice for the night after whole day shopping. Near to mrt, abt 5 mins walking distance. Eateries ard r ok. Last day there was so dissappointed, we checked out early in the morning and kept our luggages there. By the time we came back to pick up luggages before proceeding to airport, we asked to use the toilet but were told locked and had to use the toilet in 4th floors, both my parents were too tired and the restaurant there were available without customers. restaurant staff were rude n impolite. Such dissapointed incident that we experienced. Hotel provided us with ab from the restaurant but we decided to hv breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: Overall rooms r ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    58
    26
    15
See reviews for
48
42
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

we came at 11.00pm to hotel and they told there was an energy problem and could not prepare your room,(i think it was overbooked) so they gave us a another room (in an other fragrance hotel). hotel room was small,bathroom is in the toilet,breakfast was basic. have good location, near to metro and foodcourt. friendly staff,but we are not going to stay there,(overbooking is an important problem for us)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is the first hotel we stayed during Easter. Not a good experience. The afternoon we moved in, we already found small cockroaches moving around. The staff is nice enough to bring the pesticides, yet they cannot leave the bottle to us, because there is only 1 bottle within the whole hotel.

We do not mind small hotels, yet to have clean rooms and reasonable service support is just basic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed here on a stopover to Phuket and let me tell you the rooms are super small and the shower is even smaller. You are pretty much showering in the toilet. There is no shower screen so the whole bathroom gets wet. Will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We spend one night, because of delays in connecting flights. We had booked a Superior Room. The room we were offered was on level 2, and was a tiny airless shoebox with no windows at all. Very claustrophobic. The corridor outside the room also smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. We asked to be moved to another room.. The replacement room (which they proudly called a "superior" room) was slightly bigger, but also had no windows at all. At least the airconditioning reduced the level of stuffiness and and feeling of claustrophobia a bit. I wondered what the first room was, if the replacement room was supposed to be an improvement on what we had booked and paid for.....

The hotel had more of the feel of a budget backpackers hostel - there were no carpets on the floors, and the bathroom did not have the amenities to which travelers these days have become accustomed (small soap, small individual bottles or sachets of shampoo and conditioner and shower gel) but rather had a dispenser of anonymous gel of some sort bolted to the wall in the shower stall. Towels were thin and threadbare, and no wash cloth or shower mat to stand on whilst drying oneself. The sheets on the bed were too small for the mattress and thus could not be tucked in properly. This resulted the the bottom sheet coming loose and rucking up around one - most uncomfortable.

The breakfast options were also severely limited - one could have a hot breakfast of fried eggs with ham or turkey slices and greasy hash browns plus toast, or an Asian option of noodles and toast, or cereal plus toast. The cereals on offer were cocopops or cornflakes. The end. This was also the first hotel we found in our 20-day trip around Asia that did not offer soya milk.

On the plus side, the reception staff did try to help us, and were very friendly.

Room Tip: Book in a different hotel, or else get confirmation in writing that you will get a room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed there with my family as a transit before flying back to Bali.
This place looks more like a jail than a hotel. My "family" room was so small, no more than 4m by 4 m, walls are paper thin, i had to knock on our 2 doors away neighbors at 3.00 am in order to sleep. One of the most lifeless room I have ever encountered.
Forget about service, it is all "do it yourself" in this place. Breakfast is really basic.
150$ for this.....forget about it.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood with a food court with a wide variety of fast food stalls located a block away. Marina Bay is within leisurely walking distance through the Kallang Water Park. There is another Fragrance Hotel in the block so make sure you have the complete hotel address to avoid confusion.

The room I reserved was a standard room. Room is generally clean and space is ample for one or two persons, except that the standard room I was given was without windows. It was not really a problem since I only stayed overnight.. . But for those who are claustrophobic and staying for more than 1 day, make sure you ask for a room with a window. Unlike in other similar hotels, the bathroom of Fragrance Imperial is large enough that the shower is separate from the toilet.

The room comes with hot pot and complimentary drinks like bottled water and 3 in 1 coffee mix and basic toiletries like toothbrush, soap and shower cap. The room is equipped with a flat screen TV , fridge and bedside lamp A light switch is also provided by the bedside, so no need to stand up to turn off the lights. The room is generously provided with power outlets which is very convenient for recharging all the electronic gizmos all at the same time. It also has a swimming pool at the roof top.

The front desk staff is really friendly and helpful. I have no reservations about staying in this hotel again during my future trips to Singapore.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Imperial

Address: 28 Penhas Road, Singapore 208187, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fragrance Hotel - Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Imperial Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.