We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suburbia

Suburbia
30 Allanbrooke Road, Sentosa Island 099983, Singapore
6376 5938
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Private Dining
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here for dinner as we were staying close by. The staff were attentive, the food was tasty, the wine was discounted. What's not to love? I really enjoyed this meal and recommend Suburbia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in Sentosa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having decided to dine in Suburbia, I was positively surprised with very elegant and tasty dishes and good choice of wines. The final check for three course meal was as well reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We live close by so it was nice having this place nearby. Our meal was tasty and very good. The staff were very helpful, especially when it started to rain and our car was parked over the road. One waiter followed me with an umbrella so I wouldn't get wet.
We ordered a set meal which we felt was value for money. We will return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Island restaurant a million miles from fresh seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We visited this restaurant having seen good reviews on tripadvisor and were extremely disappointed. For our starter we shared a plate of prawn vol au vonts, which came out stale, as if they had been prepared several days ago and left in the fridge. The main courses, although well presented, were no better. The cod was utterly bland, the prawns literally rotten, and the crab cakes scarcely better. When asked about the prawns, the waiter explained that they were "fresh", but perhaps the supplier was at fault. It seemed remarkable to us that the chef hadn't thought to check that the prawns were of a reasonable quality before cooking and serving them.
The wine menu was carefully annotated, but the choice of white was very limited. We chose a South African chardonnay which was actually very good, and was the only positive thing about the meal.
We will not be making the trip to Sentosa to visit this restaurant again. I also feel that some of the previous reviews are questionable; the reviewer who claims to have been dropped off 4 miles from the restaurant could barely have been in Singapore, never mind this tiny island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Ice ambience but warm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We attended a wedding dinner there, so we're seated in the open area. While there were blowers, hey don't rotate, so in tropical Singapore heat, it can be quite unbearable. Food was so-so though setting is nice.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suburbia also viewed

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 

Been to Suburbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.