We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa to your Saves list
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“General”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

First, when we first arrived to the hotel we asked for early check-in but there was no room that's ready.
Then, we waited until 3p.m. but the hotel still didn't has room for us since they wanted to meet out requirments and gave us an adjoining room.
After that,we waited until 4p.m. and we became impatience and we talked to the staff and they just asked us to wait for a few more minutes and escape from us rather than helping us to solve the problem.
But, after we checked in everything is okay and the staff is very polite too.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear jenny h

Thank you for your invaluable review.

In response to your request for Early Check-in, please allow us to assure you that the Resort has no intention to be inhospitable. Like most hotels and resorts internationally/islandwide, every request for Early Check-in is subjected to room availability, and especially so for us due to our limited room inventory. At the time of your request, there was no guest checking out earlier than the stipulated check-out time at 12 noon nor were we able to enforce unfair early check out to any guests without valid reason. Bearing in mind that our Houskeeping Team would also require several hours to turn the room around therefore our standard check-in time has been set at 3pm. Nevertheless the Front Office had been firmly instructed to assign you with the first available room the moment any guest checked out.

To redeem ourselves, we have taken it upon ourselves to ensure your request for an adjoining room was met. Due to the only available adjoining rooms (at that point in time) being pre-booked and paid for a late check out way in advance, we would only be able to turnaround the room after the previous guests had checked out much later than the normal check out time at 12pm. This had inadvertently delayed the room cleaning which resulted in your delayed check in encountered. There was no inkling of hesitation on our part to check you in promptly at 3pm should you be agreeable in accepting other rooms which were not adjoining in nature. Your understanding in this matter is greatly appreciated.

In closing, thank you for your review and we shall continue to remain at your disposal if you require further assistance/information.


Best Regards,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    203
    147
    91
    98
See reviews for
186
229
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

hotel was nice, very peaceful, 10mins from siloso beach
rooms were superb, just breakfast was too continantal, not of indian taste,
it was well connected to the monorail stations and tram in sentosa and univercal studios

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear horizonholidays

A big thank you to you for your wonderful review of us. Your generous comments are our greatest source of encouragement and motivation. We are committed to strive for better performance in hope to be of service to you again.

Please come back soon; we'd truly love to see you again!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My friend and I went to their restaurant, Shutter, this morning. Although we were just enquiring about booking the restaurant for the event we are currently planning, we were really impressed with Mr Jason Choong's service. He provided us with a lot of recommendation despite the restaurant was busy preparing for their seminar buffet lunch. I will definitely visit the restaurant with my family next time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear renelyjoy

Foremost, please accept our sincere gratitude for your generous compliments, specifically on your high praise of our colleague, Mr Jason Choong.

As you point out, the interest shown and service provided (by Mr Jason Choong) make real friends for us at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa and are the kinds of action that make us particularly proud of our associates.

No doubt, all of us, especially Mr Jason Choong will be encouraged by the time and trouble you took in reviewing us with your kind remarks.

In closing, thank you for taking the time to review us so favorably. We sincerely appreciate your thoughtfulness and are grateful for your support.

Do come visit us soon!


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

For our trip to Sentosa Island we choose the Amara sanctuary,we where there from the 6th until the 9th of August.

The hotel overlook a tired propertie,bad smell in the elevators,our room was located on the third floor,after check in we decided to go to the pool with our one year old daughter,we went to the top floor swiming pool,no staff where present,no towels where available,the whole area looks old and abandoned, no guest ment to use it i guess,so we decided to go to the other pool instead,out of the hotel,same condition no staff present to attend us,no towels either available,not what we would expect from a hotel on Sentosa Island.

Breakfast buffet was just ok,same food every day,i had to ask three times to get a well done scramble eggs for our little one,i was pointed that they had it already on the buffet i just need it to be well cooked,the cooks are not friendly at all,the cooks eat in front of the customer during breakfast as it is an open kitchen.

After our first night we left the hotel for the day,when we came back the room was barely cleaned,the bath tub was still dirty from the night before,we had to ask the housekeeping to clean it,the bed was not done they just had the bed cover place back on.we only had one clean towel for three of us,no hand towels and no floor mat either,we had to request them,not sure if the hotel was full but on our first night we could not get enough hot water for a bath.
The bed was also very hard,not confortable.

Would not be back for sure,

Hope this review is helpfull.

S.Diaz

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Steve D

Thank you for the precious time taken to review us and please do accept our apologies for the disappointment caused during your recent stay with us.

Your observation that the unmanned pools was indeed true. We implore your understanding that all the pools in the Resort were not meant to be manned and regretted that such arrangement was not up to your expectations. We are, however, committed to replenish the towels every hour and should there be any urgent requests for towels, guests are always welcomed to use the phone at the pool to inform us of your needs. May we also take this opportunity to assure you that the pools have just been inspected by the authority, and we are delighted to have been certified in meeting all criteria required in a proper pool upkeep.

We were extremely concerned on your comments specifically in regard to the chefs eating while they were on duties. A thorough investigation was conducted to discover that this was a misunderstanding. The chefs were doing a final tasting of the dish before serving them. We could understand how easy this could be mistaken and apologize for the misunderstanding caused.

Please also accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall in the room cleanliness standards and in assurances, appropriate measures are firmly in place to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenience in the future.

We believe in anticipating our guests’ needs to our best ability and exceeding their expectations through constant innovation. Your feedback is important in allowing us to continually measure and improve our service standards. We hope these shortfalls will not mar your opinion of the Resort and ask for another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.

In closing, thank you, once again for reviewing us. We shall continue to remain at your disposal should you require further assistance/information.


Best Regards,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Amara wouldn't have been my first choice if not for a deal through a friend. If not for the deal my review would have been spikier.
Good location but service levels and cleanliness have a long way to go. Hotel looks tired and understaffed...
- no towel rack in the bathrooms
- no hand towel in the bathroom
- terrace suite have pool access but no extra towels
- day bed has awning but I wouldn't really sit on it with tears and cigarette stains
- the rooms smell of cigarette
- breakfast cafe needs a new set of upholstery
- bicycle rental is uneconomical
- terrace suite "room" is so small that you cannot even have a meal in there.

Okay this cloud had a silver lining- some of the staff were really nice and made small talk. Rest seemed uninterested or couldn't speak English!

The local spread for breakfast is decent and the fruit cake is quite good. Thanying is really good, in room service was tasty too- delicate fresh flavors. The bar was empty on fri/sat night- just saying !

Surroundings are rustic and sanctuary like..larkhill terrace suite infinity and wading pool looks way better than the grim looking kiddie pool.

If you are looking to relax in the room it's not worth it! If you are looking for a place to crash, only do so at a steep discount.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Adolphd

It was disheartening foremost to receive your review on the shortfall of the service/room expectations specifically on the conditions of the room. An immediate analysis on the said issues have been convened with the relevant Department Heads concerned. In assurance, preventive measures are firmly in place to prevent a recurrence and we will continue to ensure so relentlessly.

We hope these shortfalls will not mar your opinion of the Resort and ask for another opportunity to regain your confidence in us.



Best Regards,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is our 3rd stay and looking at how the hotel's policy has changed over the years, takes little to wonder why the recent swamp of negative reviews. Initially we have thought the current ranking of 2nd last on Sentosa was absurd judging from our previous 2 stays.

We arrived at 1pm to check in after an early morning out the RWS. Seeing that there are no other guests around, we thought the hotel will exercise some goodwill to let us check in early as we have two young ones in toll. They insisted on their official checkin timing of 3pm.

We just sat there at the front lobby to wait and let the kids sleep as we observed the few other guests that check in are told to wait around too.

It is strange the hotel are following the resort world hotels and assume that they can command the same premium by not differentiating themselves in terms of quality and or service.

To the Amara Sanctuary Team, please do not just cut and paste your reply and spend more time seriously to REVAMP your service. It was such a bore reading all your standard reply for the negative reviews. Yes, all these while waiting for the magical 3pm.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, September 28, 2014
Dear Chee Wan L

It was disheartening to learn of your disappointment and our sincere apologies if our level of service did not meet your expectations.

Like most hotels and resorts internationally/islandwide, every request for Early Check-in is subjected to room availability, and especially so for us due to our limited room inventory. With our 140 rooms inventory, we are bound with limitations where early check in can only happen if the guests occupying the room (prior your check in) had decided to check out much earlier than the stipulated check out time at 12noon. Bearing in mind that our Housekeeping team requires at least a few hours to turnaround the room after check out at 12noon hence our standard check in time has been set at 3pm.

At the time of your request, all the vacant rooms were in the midst of room cleaning as none of the previous guests had checked out earlier than 12noon. We trust you would agree with us that it would be extremely unfair to other guests should we enforce unwarranted early check out just so we can accommodate your insistence for early check in. We regret that the Resort simply could not justify any willful behaviors and your understanding in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Do also allow us to reassure you that the Resort will look into our standard replies. In our earnesty, while we regret that some replies were not up to your expectations, we do like to highlight that they were nonetheless valid and reasonable.

In closing, thank you for the time taken to review us.


Regards,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

As a weekend gateway with our wedding anniversary, I booked Larkhill Terrace suite for two nights.

I asked hotel via E-mail if they had any special services for our wedding anniversary. They asked me what service I want. I said I do not know what do they have. Then again, they asked what I want . So I said it would be nice to have some Alcohol drinks to be served, a glass of wine or something.
Then, they suddenly said, we do not offer special service for the wedding anniversary.

I did not understand why they asked me twice what service I want. They should have told me at the first place.

By the way, the room was SGD800 per night including breakfast.

When we checked in a room, I immediately spotted the huge stains on the floor, obnoxious stain and fluffs are all over the place on a daybed, cigarette buds are stuck into the wooden floor. Cleaners are blind??? I saw several long hair on the floor. Cleaners do not tie their hair???

I told the reception to change daybed cover and clean. But they did not turn up. We called the reception again. They said we turned "Do not disturb" light on. So cleaner did not come to our room. We have never touched the light though... but never mind. No point argue over this. Anyway, finally cleaner come and changed the cover of a daybed.

I laid down on a daybed. I immediately spotted many cigarette burning holes on the roof!!!

Why that happened??? The room where a daybed is are half outdoor, kind of balcony. If it rains, a daybed would be soaked and wet!

Roof was made of kind of waterproof fabrics. It is really a bad design; not practical.

It is stupid things I found, there were no hook for towels anywhere. Shower, toilet with a sink, two main sinks, bath tub, all are separated which is OK but why no hand towels in toilet ?

You can plunge into the swimming pool from your room but Hotel is so stingy to give guest pool towels. They only provide two set of towels for two of us.

When you look into the details of the room, a lot of place are not so clean enough.

Oh, no hair dryer found in a room either!

It was nice to have nespresso in a room but they provided 6 pieces of only De-caf coffee capsules. Why?

We wanted to go to Sentosa cove by bicycles. There were many rental bicycles in the hotel front. I asked concierge to take two of bicycles. They said, it costs S$15 per 1 hour. No wonder nobody took them at all.

I found that this hotel is really stingy. We paid S$800 per night x 2 days. We cannot even rent bicycles???? Bicycles do not require insurance and petrol!

Another thing, WIFI is not included in the room of S$800 per night!

The whole things do not make any sense at all.
It was a real joke.

The bar in a hotel was cozy and nice. There is 1 for 1 beer. The price is normal. The price of cocktails are not bad either. I liked a bar. The restaurant was not bad either.

I think i could stay at Park Hyatt Tokyo cheaper than S$800 per night of this ripped off hotel and would imagine to get supurb services from Park Hyatt Tokyo.

We left feedback notes at hotel. I was quite surprised that hotel actually read it and called to my husband for apologies and send us S$100 voucher for the restaurant. We accepted the hotel's effort and attitude. However it is too over priced, S$800 per night for that quality. Singapore should understand the QUALITY. It is ok to mark up the price but we pay for the quality for the price. Without quality, you cannot mark up the price. It could be said anywhere srervice industries in Singapore though.

Hoping amara sanctuary resort will improve services and price plans.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amara_Mgmt, Amara Sanctuary Team at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear ksemple

We are sorry to learn of your concerns and at the outset, please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Please be assured that we have taken good note of all your comments, specifically on the special services for your wedding anniversary. Regrettably, at present, we do not have a Anniversary Celebration Room Package with complimentary privileges. We are, however, pleased to have passed on your feedback to the respective Department Heads for their consideration. Meanwhile, we thank you for your understanding that charges are applicable for all special requests.

We were sorry for not able to meet your expectations in regard to the standard of the room cleaning. An immediate analysis on the said issues had been convened with the relevant Department Heads concerned to discover that you had indeed turned on the "Do Not Disturb" switch, denying the entrance of our Housekeeping Team to see to your room cleaning needs. Your understanding in this matter is much appreciated.

Your comments on the "Roof Canopy" were duly noted. The Resort, has a non-smoking policy, particularly in the confined of the room for safety reasons. Regrettably, there were guests despite knowing our non-smoking policy, had blatantly disregard our policy. The holes in the canopy were the results of the cigarettes thrown from the balcony above your room. It is due to this reason that the Resort, has increased our patrol frequency to enforce the non-smoking policy especially by deterring smoking in the room. There are, however, challenges that we are facing, primarily because we are not able to detect the cigarette smoke from outside the room nor are we allowed to enter the room without compromising guest's privacy. We strongly encourage guests to feedback to us should a smoking violation were spotted.

All Larkhill Terrace Suites on the ground floor are specially designed with a "direct pool access from room" in mind, gaining population and appreciation from most of our guests. The "Roof Canopy" you've mentioned, is also installed with great approval from many guests, following their many feedback and suggestion over the years. We acknowledge that the design and style of each and every room is a subjective matter of taste and in this regard, we regret that we are not to your expectations.

We have also taken good note of your comments on the hand towels. There was no inkling of hesitation on our part to provide sufficient amenities in the room. The Resort, provides in each guest room, full amenities including sufficient towels and ice buckets in accordance to the number of registered guests in the room. As there were only 2 registered guests in your room, all amenities (including hand towels) were provided in pairs accordingly. For any additional amenities, please kindly contact our Housekeeping team and we will see to it.

In response to your comments on the electronic bicycles, we implore your understanding that these bicycles are not properties of the Resort - hence we were not able to offer you complimentary access to them. These bicycles, provided by our recreational partner, are available for rental via our Front Desk.

Ksemple, you have our sincere gratitude for your invaluable comments. We are firmly committed to correcting our shortcoming and, more importantly, in regaining your trust in us again. We hope these shortfalls will not mar your opinion of the Resort and ask for another opportunity to be of service to you again.

In closing, may we thank you, once again, for taking the time to review us. We are grateful for your support and do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa soon.


Yours sincerely,
Amara Sanctuary Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Address: 1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa is a 140-room boutique resort in Singapore nested within 3.8 hectares of secluded tropical gardens on the hillside of Sentosa’s popular Palawan Beach.A ten minute drive from the Central Business District on mainland Singapore, it is easily accessible for both business and leisure travellers.Winner of Singapore Tatler The Best of Singapore Awards 2010 to 2013 - Best Resort.Winner of Singapore Service Class Award 2012.Winner of AsiaOne People's Choice Awards 2009 - Best Resort.Winner of URA Architectural Heritage Awards 2007 - Category A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.