We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa to your Saves list
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost perfect getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall a very pleasant experience, the hotel lived up to its name of being a "sanctuary resort". We left the place feeling rejuvenated. Staff were extremely helpful and polite.

The room however disappointed us a little. Floor tiles just outside the bathroom were cracked and evidently looked like they were there for quite a while. Rainshower was a nice touch, but it was leaking so badly we didn't use it.

Nonetheless, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Landy L,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

We deeply regret the maintenance issues you have encountered, and we will definitely feedback to the relevant departments to ensure that these issues are minimized.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our resort soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    218
    165
    97
    107
See reviews for
208
248
22
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My experience with amara sanctuary resort was wonderful. Checking in was swift and efficient, service provided by the counter staff was commendable.

Upon entering our room, we were impressed! The room is spacious, comfortable bed, nice ambience and the toilet is impressive with big bathtub and rain shower.

Really enjoyed the infinity pool on the roof top with good sea view.

Good hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Siang123,

We're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

We will definitely share your comments with our associates to motivate them and they will be glad that their efforts are appreciated.

We thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our resort soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The only downside of this hotel is the location. Took us quite awhile to find the right bus to get there.

Spacious deluxe room. The toilet is amazingly big. The beds come in king size! But the room we got was level 1 so there wasn't a nice view. There's nothing to pick on the room at all.

Although they stated that the rooftop infinity pool is only for adults, there were kids there. The view is average because the trees were too tall that they block the view infact. We didnt manage to locate the The Dreams pool, so more directions are definitely needed for guests to move around to enjoy the facilities.

Good enough hotel to stay, but not enough for me to return.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear starshar,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will keep your feedback in mind and try to enhance our guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Before heading down I was a bit concerned as I had read a slew of highly negative reports about the resort. As it was my first time, I was naturally apprehensive.

However, any such concerns were proved to be unnecessary during our stay there. Our room (Colonial Courtyard Suite) was as clean as one could hope, was well-appointed in terms of finishings, and extremely well-maintained. The service staff maintained a high level of service throughout our stay and attended to our every need in an acceptable amount of time. These were some of the areas where others had previously highlighted negatives in their reviews, and I am pleased to state that I faced no such problems.

As with most of the other reviewers, the breakfast was very good, with the pastries being especially outstanding. The spread was more than adequate and catered to most palates. We also participated in the cupcake decorating class, which was an enjoyable experience for us.

The sky pool was also relatively empty during our stay, which made for a thoroughly enjoyable experience.This was despite the fact that the resort itself was almost filled to capacity with guests. One down side was perhaps the fact that there was a group of youths who seemed to have just enjoyed a night of late night revelling in one of the rooms near and pools and were chilling out by the pool in the morning. While they were not that much of a disturbance, the fact that they were smoking in a non-smoking area and had clearly violated the resorts visitor policy was slightly unpleasant. However a member of the staff arrived within 5 mins to request they stop smoking and move, even though none of the other guests had called for assistance.

While I agree that the level of service may not live up to the greatest of the Phuket or Bali resorts, it is certainly of a sufficient level and surpasses many of the other resorts in the region. A good quick get-away for couples or families for the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear EJWang,

Thank you for your glowing review on your stay with us! We will definitely relate your comments to our staff to motivate them, and they will be greatly encouraged to know that their efforts and training have paid off.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again for an individual experience.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fairly average service comparing the price. Good thing we had our on special discount. Expected something more on service. But room and amenities wise, four/five star class. Nice glass facade, especially at night.

Room Tip: It's quite a walk to the bus station especially when walking with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear jtsohu,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We will relay your comments to our service staff and re-emphasize our high standards in order to maintain and improve our service.

We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had witnessed a disturbing incident at your resort on Tuesday the 14th of Aug. Sometime between 7pm on that day, I watched in disbelief as a sloppily attired Chinese lady in a black and white uniform started screaming and voicing profanities at the hotel's lobby. Your reception staff were also alarmed to see this episode and it broke the tranquility of the resort's ambience. It was a scary spectacle to behold especially when I had learned later that she was a security staff.

It was ironical that your security staff who was supposed to ensure safety and peace of guests was instead causing alarm with her deranged behaviour. I did not feel safe in such an environment and this has blemished the image of your resort where I had an otherwise wonderful experience with excellent service from most of your staff. This is the first time that I have seen such unruly behaviour of a staff in a Singapore hotel! I hope that this is a one-off incident and such behaviour would not be tolerated. Thank you very much for your attention to the matter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Alicechengms,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We have shared the investigation findings with you via email, and we have terminated the service of the agency staff involved.

We thank you for your feedback and hope your stay was a pleasant one. We hope to welcome you back to our resort soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the pool villa room from 8 august 2012 until the 11th. We thought the room looked amazing from the photos but when we arrived, it was a very different story. From the surface, it looks great! The room was however, extremely poorly maintained and the cleaning was just disgraceful.

The satellite TV didn't work properly and after several calls to have it sorted out, it worked ok for a few hours then back to being horrible again. There were spider webs in the corners of parts of the room, the living area and area near the safe were infested with ants. The outdoor shower was filthy and had mould all over the tiles. The pool looked as though it was never ever cleaned! Leaves and other bits of stuff that had fallen into the pool hadn't been removed at all. The outdoor lounges were absolutely disgusting. The so called complimentary mini-bar had a total of 2 beers, 2 orange juices and 2 cans of pepsi in it and nothing else! The doorbell didn't work, the switches for DND and room service didn't work. Add to that, the entire place in general was of extremely poor maintainance and not very clean. Despite a couple of requests to get some proper housekeeping done and the insects removed, that was also largely ignored or just not done properly. Dead bugs were left there also.

We even managed to see a few mosquitos flying around the place too! In a country where they have strict mosquito control and heavy fines for leaving stagnant water around along with it being heavily policed, it makes me wonder how this is at all possible. The prices for drinks at the bar were expensive but that was to be expected I suppose. The rate for the villa itself wasn't cheap either. This would have been worth it had the room been cleaned properly and well maintained. It is however largely delapitated and for 1/5 of the price you can (and I have done so) get a room in Thailand with the same sort of thing with it being well maintained and cleaned spotlessly!

The only good thing I can say about this place is that we found the staff friendly and well mannered. Otherwise, a waste of money and I'd advise not to go near the place with a 10 foot pole! Just read other similar reviews to get an idea of how terrible this place is. The place is only 5 years old and already in this state, I'd hate to see how bad it is in another 5 years time. Give me Thailand any day of the year over this stinking dump!

Room Tip: To choose a good room, DON'T STAY HERE! Go to another hotel that is cheaper, more well maintaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managemt-Amara-Sing, Manager at Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Rick L,

We deeply regret to hear of your less than satisfactory experience with us. We have shared your comments with our associates and re-emphasized strict adherence to our high standards of cleanliness and service. We also seek your understanding since our resort is open to nature, and cannot completely eliminate the existence of bugs and fallen leaves. However, we will step up our pest-prevention and cleaning efforts.

We sincerely apologise if these incidents marred your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa

Address: 1 Larkhill Road, Sentosa Island 099394, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sentosa Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa is a 140-room boutique resort in Singapore nested within 3.8 hectares of secluded tropical gardens on the hillside of Sentosa’s popular Palawan Beach.A ten minute drive from the Central Business District on mainland Singapore, it is easily accessible for both business and leisure travellers.Winner of Singapore Tatler The Best of Singapore Awards 2010 to 2013 - Best Resort.Winner of Singapore Service Class Award 2012.Winner of AsiaOne People's Choice Awards 2009 - Best Resort.Winner of URA Architectural Heritage Awards 2007 - Category A. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Sentosa Island
Amara Sanctuary Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amara Sanctuary Resort Sentosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.