We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but slightly pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SKIRT

SKIRT
21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island, Singapore
+65 6808 7278
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Vibrant. Chic. Authentic. Fashionable. SKIRT. A bold and sexy grill, framed by wood panels and leather trimmings, SKIRT turns the heat up on an array of delectable meats, seafood and amazing side dishes, making for a remarkable experience of dining in Sentosa. Enjoy a world class selection and some rare and distinguished vintages from our wine cellars in a sophisticated setting. Child Policy: Please note that only children above 8 years of age accompanied by an adult will be welcome to dine at SKIRT.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent but slightly pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food was excellent and mega tasty, it's served in quirky ways, to keep in line with the rest of the modern hotel .
The chef actually came out to chat to us after we'd finish our meal, so make sure everything was to our liking.
The tenderloin steak I has was cook beautifully , just right.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at SKIRT, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello JoanPrid,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! If you happen to come visit again, please feel free to share your comment with our chefs, they would be happy to hear from you.

See you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went there for a tasting with an associate and ordered the food. Other than the service, it was nothing to clamor about. The drinks list was so so and the meats nothing fantastic. Lighting was good but proximity of tables were too closed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at SKIRT, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Paulings,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your comments; I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I would like to share with you that SKIRT unveiled a new menu since your last stay; I do hope that you would come and give us a chance to deliver you a true W dining experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
2 reviews
“watch out, singapore steakhouses!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Skirt! is an up-an-coming steakhouse with a good range of meats to suit budgets & palettes with equally good service. They might have had some starting issues, as suggested by some of the other postings, but I believe they have what it takes to be succeed in what is one of the most competitive environments. We were celebrating our anniversary, and they certainly delighted us. The decor is also very modern. Good on you mate!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at SKIRT, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello StingraySG,

Thank you for your nice feedback and encouragement, much appreciated it! I would like to share with you SKIRT unveiled a new menu since your last stay, please do come by and let us welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So disappointing. The worst Service. We won't be back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very excited when the W Hotel opened as we live in Sentosa cove and had great faith that instead of heading into town to Mortons or Ruths Chris our favourite steak houses that we would be able to frequent "Skirt" instead for our Fillet Fix. It is a nice Hotel but lacks a bit of atmosphere and there were children running around late the night we were there. The bartender in Skirt was great.They make their cocktails with a bit of a twist so we tried their carbonated Cosmopolitans. He was enthusiastic and we really enjoyed our initial experience when we arrived. We were shown to our table and that is where the service ended for the night!
We sat for 15- 20 mins without anyone coming to us with water or menus.Finally we just got up and got the Menus ourselves. Another 15 mnutes after straining our necks and trying to get the attention of anyone we managed to get the attention of a waitress and gave our order. We finally got some water and wine and the food arrived. The food was nice still probably not as good as Ruths Chris but good all the same. This is where it is such a pity. Nobody came back to us for the rest of the night. We poured our own wine all night. Decided not to bother trying to order more water as it was just proving too difficult to get anyones attention. When it came to the bill again we had to get up and ask for it. At the end of the nght we could see that the chefs coming off duty were happy with their performance and patting each other on the back etc. They were oblivious to the awful service we had endured ( which they should be).I am sure they will be wondering why the restaurant fails to take off when they are delivering good food.At one point we saw a manager sweep through the restaurant at a speed to fast to catch. The restaurant itself is also too bright and lacks the cosy steak house feel. To add insult to injury after spending 450 sgd we came out and they wanted 15sgd for the car valet even though it was parked right outside the door. After being ignored all night and forking out 450 sgd this was the final straw. They said they were not part of the Hotel that it was an outsourced service. So they clearly didn't know or care what we had just spent and endured. We are so disappointed as we had hoped it could be our weekly or fortnightly treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at SKIRT, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Mollydubai,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to learn of the challenges you experienced while dining at Skirt. From your customer service to the food, - things obviously didn't live up to your expectations. I hope that you afford us another opportunity in the future.

I would like to share with you that Skirt unveiled a new menu since your last stay and our talents has been retrained, they are now more skilful and experienced, please do give us a chance to welcome you again and I hope we can let you to have a true W dining experience.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Quality, presentation, promptness of service cannot be faulted. Just about half the price or slightly less than half versus Morton's, Ruth's Chris and Cut but certainly not half the value! Will return for sure.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at SKIRT, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Leon L,

It's awesome to hear such a great review! Our guests are what keep our talent motivated and excited about work. Keep us in mind next time your visit us!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SKIRT also viewed

Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Sentosa Island, Singapore
 

Been to SKIRT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SKIRT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.