We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W Singapore Sentosa Cove to your Saves list
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island 098374, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
A NIGHT ON THE HOUSE
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our second experience with the W brand of hotels and it was just as enjoyable as the first. A wafting air of familarity in the lobby, the unmistakable signature W scent, immediately invoked great memories from our last W experience. Contemporary artwork from the likes of Damien Hirst and a classic sculpture by Rodin carefully adorn the walls and various pockets of space on the second level of the hotel lobby. The W store is tucked in a corner, near to one of two languidly paced glass bubble elevators transporting guests one level up from the main driveway.

The staff on duty for the afternoon were smartly attired, courteous and attentive. We hung out at the Woobar for some drinks and light snacks as our room wasn't ready for check in. The Korean female staff (sorry we didn't get your name!) that attended to us was friendly, pleasant and made good recommendations. The drinks and snacks were well made and presented.

We were given an upgrade as housekeeping wasn't able to handover the room we signed up for in time and that bonus turned out to be a real pleasant surprise! The Away suite is decorated in typical W fashion with an eclectic mix of modern yet comfortable pieces. It is equipped with a generously sized lap pool, 2 slim HDTVs each equipped with a Bose sound system, quality bathroom fittings and Bliss products for luxurious bath times. The climate control system was a little bit of a letdown as it was generally cool in the living area but somewhat warmer in the bedroom. Even when the thermostat was set to the lowest level at18 degrees celsius, the overall room temperature did not correspond accordingly. Anyhow, we still managed to get a decent night's sleep. The other thing to note about the Away suite is that it is situated on level one of the property and the privacy levels in the lap pool area aren't the greatest and not completely shielded from rooms located on the upper levels.

The western themed restaurant, Skirt, has of late been chalking up a decent reputation serving reasonably good steaks with a reasonable price tag and we were not disappointed. Skirt dry ages their cuts of beef from Argentina, Australia and USA in 2 LED lit customized glass enclosures for not more than 25 days.

We were attended to by Navin, who we must commend for his product knowledge and passion especially displayed when making that lovely aged rum drink. Lovely dinner bread arrived in the form of an olive foccacia acoompanied with a seaweed cream dip. The meat doneness was spot on and we couldn't fault the side dishes.

Whilst we were enjoying dinner, my wife had sneakily SMS'd Shilpa from the concierge team who put together a really cool birthday surprise! I was greeted by a strawberry sponge cake made to look like a sandwich and served with a single candle on a black tray in the living room accompanied with a host of coloured balloons and a greeting card. What a fantastic way to end the evening with a really nice touch!

Our package came with a buffet breakfast at The Kitchen Table. The spread is international and the quality of most of the food was prepared to a high standard. Of worthy mention are the grilled chorizo sausages, a twist on french toast topped with nuts and raisins with sliced bananas in the middle, the fabulously crunchy and not too sweet chocolate cookies and the cold cut and salad selection. Again, we were attended to by another friendly and enthusiastic male staff (possibly the manager of the place. you showed us to the "chef's table" and were decked out in a light gray suit - cheers mate). It was busy in there alright but kudos to all the staff who were attentively clearing plates and refilling drinks.

W Hoboken has a great restaurant in Zylo and we're certainly blessed with Skirt and The Kitchen Table here at W Singapore.

Thanks to the W team (the valet boys, concierge, housekeeping and whoever we've not named) for a fabulous staycation experience! We've definitely been WOWed and will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello Leon L,

Thanks for your great review, I'm glad you have noticed Navin in our SKIRT restaurant. Navin has a passion for his for wine and cocktails. We do hope you will visit us very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    272
    116
    53
    55
See reviews for
254
335
26
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner and I went for a two-day staycation on the third day of the W's opening on 18 and 19 September.

What we liked:

- Friendly staff who went out of his way to help us at check-in
Hafiz, one of the check-in staff, immediately gave us an early check-in and late check-out without guilt-tripping us with the "oh, we are actually really full / we will make an exception for you / just this once" type of nonsense. What was especially lovely was that he went out of his way to give us a tour of the display suite after our swim at 2am when we asked about how the refurbishing of the hotel was coming along. This made us feel very special!

- Friendly staff who went out of her way at dinner
We had dinner at Salt, the meat restaurant on Level 1.
Kudos to Wati, who knew all the dishes and the differences between the beefs from different countries. Not at all snooty or pretentious.

- The swimming pool is opened 24-hours. Perfect for a water junky like moi who likes to cram her day choc-a-block with things to do.

- Witty lines on the toiletries, beverages and signs such as "Sew, did you break something?" on the sewing kit and "Close shave" on the razor packs. Always a novelty for an adverting person!

- Clear signage to the hotel. Our taxi driver was unsure of the location, but the signs on Sentosa made it relatively easy to find.

What can be improved:

- Faster coordination between the telephone and housekeeping staff needed. Whilst the Whatever Wherever staff (ie the telephone customer service) were enthusiastic and polite, housekeeping only came two hours later with our additional pillows, which meant we had to wait in our room instead of leaving to explore the grounds.

- Empathy from the Salt matradee
My partner and I went down for dinner, all smiles as it was his birthday dinner and I had arranged for a cake for him with Salt. When we got there, the matradee said "Oh yes, your table is ready. You need to go up to your room and change out of your slippers though. Otherwise, you cannot come in." I was completely taken off-guard by her instruction. Whilst I was indeed wearing slippers, I was also in a long black silk evening dress and make-up, so I was technically dressed formally. I would have definitely been appreciative if she had said "I'm sorry, but we do not allow slippers in the restaurant. Do you mind changing into covered footwear please?" instead.

Room Tip: I recommend booking the rooms with the balconies. You get a outdoor coach and table to chill out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments,

I'm happy to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry for your experience at SKIRT but we had to impliment a minimum dress code to keep this restaurant align with our concept "casual fine dining". Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the newly opened W on Sentosa Cove and we couldn't have been happier with our experience. (I have to admit that we were a bit concerned going into our stay given all of the negative reviews that we had read.)
From the moment we stepped out of our taxi (yes, they did in fact know how to get to the hotel) we were greeted by warm, caring staff members who made sure that our luggage was handled properly and that we were settled into our beautiful room.
I'd like to give a huge thank you to Joe who checked us in on the afternoon of our arrival. After checking into our BEAUTIFUL room, we quickly realized that we had inadvertently requested a smoking room rather than a non-smoking room. We called Joe to see if there was an available non-smoking room and he immediately moved us not only to another room - but an upgraded room with a balcony that overlooked the pool and marina. Spectacular!!
We ordered room service for dinner and Guna (our lively server) could not have been more accommodating. A true treasure here at the W! (As a side note, the food was good and hot - and delivered within 20 minutes.)
Our experience was nothing less than wonderful and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, upgrade to a pool/marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello gwennpdx,

Thanks for your feedback, I'm glad to see you have enjoyed your stay with us with a beautifull view overlooking the Yacthclub! We do hope to see you coming back very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Trying…Very Trying

We stayed at the W Hotel at Sentosa Singapore for 2 nights in November 2012, in a “fabulous room”, after being upgraded from a “wonderful room”. Overall the stay was pleasant enough, but being only about 8 weeks old there are a few issues that still need straightening out. Before booking we had read some of the earlier negative reviews on here and were a bit hesitant to book. This apprehension was further increased when the hotel failed to reply to any emails, which were querying the best transport options to the hotel (as we were coming from another hotel rather than the airport).

Check-in/out was efficient, no complaints and we were given a complimentary upgrade as an SPG gold member.

The décor is quite funky and modern. It was very fresh and new, but in some areas felt a bit ostentatious. This encompasses my overall impression of the hotel- that it was trying too hard to be hip and happening, and in the process lost any feeling of welcome.
The “Fabulous room” we were upgraded to was nice, the bed was large and the décor was tasteful, with added bonuses of mobile phone chargers and integrated sound system for your iPod. The amenities were great, all the standard items you expect plus a facial cleanser and body butter, although the shampoo/conditioner/shower gel come in one small bottle of each which doesn’t adequately provide for 2 people. We had a couple of issues with the shower. Both the rain shower and standard shower heads produced very low pressure, and the standard mobile shower head kept rotating to one side unless you twisted the hose a particular way. The Television and Sound system are also a bit buggy, turning pink or producing no sound requiring the TV to be turned off and on again. The air-con is not very effective and is quite noisy and night time, making for a disrupted sleep, further complicated by the glow from all the electronic devices in the room. The lighting, although beautiful and colour adjustable to your mood, produces too much heat and doesn’t really allow for just a single light to be put on- it is all or nothing.
Overall the room was large and very nice but too bright at night and had a few quirks. And with the whole room being so wired, surely electric curtains are a must? (They are manual)

We were luckily in a room far from the elevators but I can imagine they would be very annoying if you were close to them. Both the request button and arrival bell are very loud, and if possible it is probably best to request a room away from the elevators. The elevator music is very cool though.
The W hotel offers a shuttle bus from the hotel to Vivo city and orchard road, which is very convenient and takes less time than waiting for a taxi although it only leaves every hour. We used it a couple of times both for drop-off and pick-up. The doormen do not seem to know very much about it and encourage you to take taxis, so much so that it gives the impression we are second-rate for taking the shuttle bus. After returning from a day out, a female greeter asked if we needed any help, which was rather confusing given that we just wanted to go to our room. Instead a “welcome back” or “good evening” would have sufficed, as I again did not feel welcomed.

We did not have breakfast included and chose to have a la carte at Kitchen Table one morning instead of the buffet. Over half an hour after ordering, we decided to ask how much longer until our food would arrive. In response, our food magically appeared, leading us to wonder if it had been sitting there waiting. We also had to ask repeatedly for water refills, despite seeing other guests being topped up with their watering can jugs. Once again, we didn’t feel very welcomed.

The pool is fantastic and not very crowded, with floating mats in the water and ample sun lounges and hammocks surrounding it. There is also a swim-up bar. We ordered 2 smoothies from the bar and after finally getting the attention of someone to serve us, they ended up getting both drinks thoroughly mixed-up. My banana and basil smoothie turned into banana and mint, while a banana and vanilla milk shake became just vanilla. Upon recognising one of the mistakes, another banana-vanilla milkshake was made free of charge. It is nice to see that although there are some issues they are trying to provide good service, and the managers are frequently around making sure everything is running smoothly.

We also had the dinner buffet at the Kitchen Table. The food was very good and we received excellent and friendly service. Both the breakfast buffet and the dinner buffets provided a very large and fresh selection, with dinner having several ‘made to order’ items such as fresh meats from the grill, pasta, noodle soup and pizzas. We have been to more than a few buffets in Singapore and the W’s dinner is definitely up there with the best. The service in the restaurant at dinner time was the complete opposite of breakfast with plenty of staff, frequent drink top-ups and no shortage of food. Hilda, our waitress on the night, provided very friendly and seamless service.

The gym is large and modern and has some excellent equipment, enough for almost every workout. We did not try the spa.

We only used the Whatever, Whenever service twice- once to work out what was wrong with the TV (turn it off and on again) and secondly to request 2 bandaids/sticking plasters for blisters. In response to this I was told to look in the “revive kit” in the mini bar ($10). I didn’t think my request was unreasonable and I was not willing to pay $10 for 2 bandaids. I have asked for bandaids for blisters before at other 5 star hotels (Fairmont, Pan Pacific, Fullerton) and shopping centres (Ngee Ann City) in Singapore before and have never had any problems so I was very disappointed.

Location: It is important to note that the hotel is not convenient for going anywhere. Seriously. There is very little of anything within walking distance, although some shops and restaurants are being built (there may be a convenience store). It isn’t even convenient to visit the rest of Sentosa, as you are on the far point of the west side and Resorts World is in the middle and the other attractions and hotels are on the West. The shuttle bus comes every hour (although they do not tell you this unless you specifically request the information) and taxis are possible but charge an extra $3 to pick-up from Sentosa and do not routinely wait there, so you may be slugged a call-out fee on top. More information on transportation needs to be volunteered to
guests when taxis may take 15-20 min to arrive when called.

Altogether the stay was pleasant but I wouldn’t return in a hurry until the service has had more experience. If you are after a resort holiday and won’t be venturing out much, then this place has probably one of the best pools in Singapore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was lucky to stay on the first day of W Hotel Singapore. Everything here is the best, I need the 6th dot to rate W Hotel :)
As the first day, I expected some mismanagement - there's none, some less-than-professional staff - they're the best, some unfinished works on the property - it's perfect!
I love the decorations, modern, artistic, and elegant.
"Whatever Whenever"? Yup! they mean it - I wanted to fill up 4 hrs between checkout and the next flight, they came up with couple of suggestions, which turn into written plans, then book everything accordingly.
W Hotel truly make me enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you so much for being one of our first guests!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the W Singapore - Sentosa Cove very soon!

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the third hotel I've stayed in on Sentosa and the fourth on my annual staycation with my BFFs. It is the best. I cannot say enough good things about the W. The hotel itself is gorgeous. Decor is modern, elaborate and slightly over the top but there's so much to see that you are never bored. The rooms carry on the theme in the lobby and never becomes mundane.

I loved the large pool and the floats provided. There's tons of deck chairs and cute little hammocks. The lobby bar was a great place to hang out in the day to people watch and in the night for a drink. There was great attention to detail. The door mat leading to the pool was changed at least three times a day to reflect the time - good morning, good afternoon and good evening.

The restaurant served a fabulous buffet breakfast. The menu was actually differentiated on the two days I was there. We also had lunch off the ala carte menu. Though relatively pricey, the food was decent.

Service was another highlight. Everyone was friendly and this was further backed up by sincere and efficient service. We ran out of toiletries as three of us shared a room. We called the 'whatever, whenever' people for assistance and in a short while, someone arrived with three sets of everything. At 3am, I was woken as the pillows were too soft. Called again and got two more delivered. The next morning, we asked for harder pillows and got foam pillows delivered. Between the three of us, we had 12 pillows in the room although I do wish they had delivered the foam pillows instead of more of the same softer down versions.

One slight quibble - the W is so cool that they name the lighting in cool imaginative ways. However, that really took some figuring out. I might need a manual to operate the stuff in the room. Oh and the hair dryer was pretty weak.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Our aim is to provide extraordinary experience and i'm pleased to read that we have succeed with you!

Hope to see coming back soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the W sentosa for 5 nights recently and I must say that we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is new and looks great. Most of the staff are courteous and really go the extra mile to help. They now have a return shuttle service and the ala carte food in the restaurants is really quite good. I would however say that the staff at breakfast could benefit from further training. We found that they sometimes struggled to understand English and instead of allowing guest right of way in narrow areas of the restaurant, chose to barge theirs way around- thus creating a sense of chaos and rushing around. Despite this, we left feeling very impressed with W sentosa and particular credit should go to the staff at reception and housekeeping.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments,

Just would like to inform you that we have started english classes for a few of our talents (employees for W) so they can comminucate easily with our customers. The second restaurant called SKIRT is open for breakfasts when we run high occupancy so our guests can enjoy a relaxing breakfast time!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Singapore Sentosa Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Address: 21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island 098374, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Singapore Sentosa Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a resort island with sparkling sea views, W Singapore - Sentosa Cove is Asia's new tropical playground and the perfect destination to sip, play and flirt. An oasis of modern luxury for discerning business travellers, vivacious staycationers and sophisticated globetrotters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your W Singapore Sentosa Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Singapore Sentosa Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.