We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but overpriced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor

Save Saved
You added The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 99891, Singapore (Formerly The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice, but overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

On arrival, the lobby was busy and HOT!

We had 2 connecting rooms and shared bathroom. Rooms were nice.
As you open your front door it leads directly into the smelly toilet. Constant funky aromas arose from the toilet drain. Not nice.

Pool was lovely warm and spacious. Don't order cocktails though... You'll need a bank loan. 3 cocktails cost $77SGD++. Do order the club sandwich- You can share between 2.

Grounds are lovely and good access to Palawan beach.

Buffet breakfasts were good. Needs 2 live-station cooks though. The poor chefs were being slammed every morning with hoards of demanding guests.

Food at The Pavilion was atrocious. The waiting staff were slow and not trained. Crab cakes were delivered cold in the middle (obviously pre-frozen). Pizzas also, looked as though they were frozen and thrown in the oven.

This hotel seemed very tired and desperately in need of some money to bring it up to the 5 star standard which we expected.

Concierge staff need training- It seems their memories are relied upon for processing guest requests... Not good practice. Our 2 requests for transport were forgotten and we were left waiting (TWICE)! Although, Shakur gave us a great bar/restaurant recommendation.

Would I stay here again- Maybe, if they upgraded pretty much everything and hired new chefs and overhauled the menus. and don't increase their prices.

Room Tip: Book early to secure the 2 inter-connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    37
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The design of the room is really stylish especially the bathroom.

Ask for a ground floor room to be able to see the free roaming peacocks while enjoying a cup of coffee in the comfort of your room.

Location is near tanjong beach( just down a flight of stairs).

Only down side is the relatively high price and also some parts of the hotel( like the lift) is old and need some renovation.

However, the good location on sentosa island plus the stylish rooms and relax and tranquil surroundings make my stay an enjoyable one.

Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to leaving for Europe. The grounds and the rooms were beautiful. We also loved having the Australia Network to watch the footy. The service was patchy though. Staff were friendly but often slow to respond to requests and the concierge staff never gave us maps to help show where we needed to go or wrote down the names of places the suggested

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a nice and quiet stay, probably it was weekdays. There wasn't much people and check in was fast. The room is big but the furnishing is quite old. Looks the same as many years back when i last stayed in this resort. It will be good if there is some brochures for Sentosa or hotel information/directory provided in the room, all we have is the in room dining menu.

The air con in the room was noisy and the tv wasn't working. The technician came over very quickly to fix it eventhough it was already 10pm but the person who answered the call earlier was quite sarcastic asking if we know how to use the remote controls. I think the resort should do something about their tv system in the room, since it's confusing for guests to use their 2 remote controls for tv and i saw past reviews many people feedback about the tv in the room.

The hair dryer in the toilet was not working too. But I like the bath toiletries provided, it's has nicest scent among all the hotels that i had stayed before. I would suggest not to put the bar soap inside the shower area. Not everyone use that and the shower water spoil the soap wrapper, so it's a waste to throw away even when not used. Furthermore the cleaner didn't replace the soap that is why i can tell that it's left from the previous occupant.

The resort provides shuttle service to Vivocity which is very convenient as we can get out of Sentosa for meals. To get to the beach is a walk of around 100 steps down the stairs, walking back up to the resort can be quite tiring.

The buffet breakfast in the resort quite standard and I feel it's not worth to pay $35++ per pax. Luckily we have the accor card which entitled us to 50% discount, else I would rather take the shuttle bus out to Vivocity to have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the resort in July, the staff were lovely and the grounds and pool beautiful. The only negative and it was a large one for us, was the pricing of the food and drinks. We paid $37 SD for a bourban with soda and a rum and coke. Unneccesary pricing as far as we could see, we knew Singapore would be expensive but this and the restaurant pricing seemed extreme. We had planned on total relaxation and not leaving the resort but ended up emptying the mini bar and filling it with food and drinks bought from the shopping centre. Having said that as mentioned above, the staff were lovely. Rooms were a good size, shuttle service very handy. So we would recommend the resort, but either save up to enjoy the food and drinks or be prepared to stock the bar fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear DavKez5566,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are blessed with expansive lush greenery at our resort with a beautiful swimming pool.

We hope you will continue to stay with us when you visit Singapore the next time.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

So convenient, short taxi ride from airport, lovely staff, great relaxing resort with big pool and massage/ spa.
Have breakfast at golf club 2 mn walk down the road.
Maybe a little too many noisy Australians on our last visit!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Harry H,

Thank you for your comment and for choosing to stay with us again!

I am happy you have enjoyed another stay with us and look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking in

Despite the unfavourable reviews on tripadvisor, our check-in on a Monday was a breeze. The very friendly counter staff even granted us check in at 11am.

Room

Room size is decent. Our room was on the highest floor (5th floor) at the west wing, facing mostly greenery. Cable tv control was a bit complicated. I think almost all guest will have issue. That was saved by friendly maintenance staff who came to our room and showed us how to use the controls.

My wife is sensitive to dust. She started sneezing once we reached there and throughout our 1-night stay there. I guess some thorough cleaning has to be done to the carpet floor.

Food

We were Accor hotel card member. There was 50% discount off all ala carte items. We had chilli crab, curry fish head, satay, kailan for around sgd 50. Super great deal for a meal with superb ambience. Btw, they don't serve buffet from mon to thu. Breakfast was mainly international spread and decent. If you sat outdoors, you got to watch your food or the peacocks will peck at them! We were that close to nature!

Pool

More than 2/3 of the pool was 2.5m deep. Many crowded to the other 1/3 of the pool. It was still fine on a mon.

Service

Generally great. Counter staff attended to us readily and cheerfully. Tv repair and room service to rid toilet of a smell was prompt. Restaurant staff during dinner left us the best impression. Introducing us to the food available and clearing our plates promptly.

Overall

Great value for food (with accor card) and good customer service. Room and pool need a good wash, or preferably a overhaul.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Vacatutu,

Thank you for your feedback which we very much appreciate. I am glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comments and will share your compliments with our ambassadors to encourage them to continue their good work.

The resort will soon be undergoing refurbishment in phases and we are excited to present a rejuvenated resort before we rebrand ourselves as a Sofitel hotel.

Thank you once again for taking time to share this review. We hope to welcome you back to our resort on your next staycation.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor

Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 99891, Singapore (Formerly The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high atop a cliff amid landscaped tropical gardens, The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor on Singapore's Sentosa Island is one of Asia's best kept secrets. It is a stylish, tranquil sanctuary with superb facilities and designer guestrooms in 27 acres of lush greenery, just 10 minutes' drive from the business district. The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa has 174 deluxe rooms, 37 suites and four exclusive villas. Koi-filled ponds welcome guests through corridors to the East and West wings. The rooms exude a luxurious and warm welcoming feel with plush interior and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.