We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not up to Accor's high standards for 5 star resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor

Save Saved
You added The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 99891, Singapore (Formerly The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not up to Accor's high standards for 5 star resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to leaving for Europe. The grounds and the rooms were beautiful. We also loved having the Australia Network to watch the footy. The service was patchy though. Staff were friendly but often slow to respond to requests and the concierge staff never gave us maps to help show where we needed to go or wrote down the names of places the suggested

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
34
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It was a nice and quiet stay, probably it was weekdays. There wasn't much people and check in was fast. The room is big but the furnishing is quite old. Looks the same as many years back when i last stayed in this resort. It will be good if there is some brochures for Sentosa or hotel information/directory provided in the room, all we have is the in room dining menu.

The air con in the room was noisy and the tv wasn't working. The technician came over very quickly to fix it eventhough it was already 10pm but the person who answered the call earlier was quite sarcastic asking if we know how to use the remote controls. I think the resort should do something about their tv system in the room, since it's confusing for guests to use their 2 remote controls for tv and i saw past reviews many people feedback about the tv in the room.

The hair dryer in the toilet was not working too. But I like the bath toiletries provided, it's has nicest scent among all the hotels that i had stayed before. I would suggest not to put the bar soap inside the shower area. Not everyone use that and the shower water spoil the soap wrapper, so it's a waste to throw away even when not used. Furthermore the cleaner didn't replace the soap that is why i can tell that it's left from the previous occupant.

The resort provides shuttle service to Vivocity which is very convenient as we can get out of Sentosa for meals. To get to the beach is a walk of around 100 steps down the stairs, walking back up to the resort can be quite tiring.

The buffet breakfast in the resort quite standard and I feel it's not worth to pay $35++ per pax. Luckily we have the accor card which entitled us to 50% discount, else I would rather take the shuttle bus out to Vivocity to have breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort in July, the staff were lovely and the grounds and pool beautiful. The only negative and it was a large one for us, was the pricing of the food and drinks. We paid $37 SD for a bourban with soda and a rum and coke. Unneccesary pricing as far as we could see, we knew Singapore would be expensive but this and the restaurant pricing seemed extreme. We had planned on total relaxation and not leaving the resort but ended up emptying the mini bar and filling it with food and drinks bought from the shopping centre. Having said that as mentioned above, the staff were lovely. Rooms were a good size, shuttle service very handy. So we would recommend the resort, but either save up to enjoy the food and drinks or be prepared to stock the bar fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear DavKez5566,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are blessed with expansive lush greenery at our resort with a beautiful swimming pool.

We hope you will continue to stay with us when you visit Singapore the next time.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

So convenient, short taxi ride from airport, lovely staff, great relaxing resort with big pool and massage/ spa.
Have breakfast at golf club 2 mn walk down the road.
Maybe a little too many noisy Australians on our last visit!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Harry H,

Thank you for your comment and for choosing to stay with us again!

I am happy you have enjoyed another stay with us and look forward to welcome you back at your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checking in

Despite the unfavourable reviews on tripadvisor, our check-in on a Monday was a breeze. The very friendly counter staff even granted us check in at 11am.

Room

Room size is decent. Our room was on the highest floor (5th floor) at the west wing, facing mostly greenery. Cable tv control was a bit complicated. I think almost all guest will have issue. That was saved by friendly maintenance staff who came to our room and showed us how to use the controls.

My wife is sensitive to dust. She started sneezing once we reached there and throughout our 1-night stay there. I guess some thorough cleaning has to be done to the carpet floor.

Food

We were Accor hotel card member. There was 50% discount off all ala carte items. We had chilli crab, curry fish head, satay, kailan for around sgd 50. Super great deal for a meal with superb ambience. Btw, they don't serve buffet from mon to thu. Breakfast was mainly international spread and decent. If you sat outdoors, you got to watch your food or the peacocks will peck at them! We were that close to nature!

Pool

More than 2/3 of the pool was 2.5m deep. Many crowded to the other 1/3 of the pool. It was still fine on a mon.

Service

Generally great. Counter staff attended to us readily and cheerfully. Tv repair and room service to rid toilet of a smell was prompt. Restaurant staff during dinner left us the best impression. Introducing us to the food available and clearing our plates promptly.

Overall

Great value for food (with accor card) and good customer service. Room and pool need a good wash, or preferably a overhaul.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Vacatutu,

Thank you for your feedback which we very much appreciate. I am glad you've enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comments and will share your compliments with our ambassadors to encourage them to continue their good work.

The resort will soon be undergoing refurbishment in phases and we are excited to present a rejuvenated resort before we rebrand ourselves as a Sofitel hotel.

Thank you once again for taking time to share this review. We hope to welcome you back to our resort on your next staycation.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Greetings Readers!

Salty here with his review of The Sentosa Resort and Spa Managed by Accor. (That is a mouthful of a name for what I think was previously the Sofitel.) Well, it doesn’t matter what the name of the place is, Salty and Mrs. Croc just spent 10 tropical days using the joint as a pad to explore Singapore and its various attractions. This trip was a bit of a treat as I have been working extra hard of late shaking down little Aussie battlers who are up their necks in debt in my brilliant career as a debt collector. Anyway, with my fist bruised and battered from over work, we splurged some filthy lucre to book a nice place on Sentosa at the far end of the island away from Resorts World and the ‘Vomitron’ ride at Universal Studios.

The resort is located on an extensive hillside campus opposite the well-manicured golf club where the local gentry seem to hang out and dig divots into the buffalo grass. The rooms are spread into a number of wings that are about 5 stories in height and are interconnected by covered walkways. The heart of the complex is the pool which sits between the informal restaurant with indoor/outdoor a la carte dining and the more formal dining joint where you need to book (although most of the time it seemed pretty empty to me.) There are also some conference facilities, and for two days of our stay, there was some sort of shipping conference with about 70 people hanging around. This place was probably originally built as a destination conference venue – and it would be a perfect facility for that given the self-contained nature of the establishment. However, corporate travel budgets are a fraction of what they once were, and the Resort is probably struggling to replace lost business with the family and general holiday maker market. There were a reasonable number of people around on the weekend, but mid-week was pretty quiet.

Let me cut to the chase: we had a great time and thought this was a fabulous venue. Our room was lovely and had recently been renewed in a Balinese type theme. There was a great big tub, and a nice walk-in shower. (The drab grey tiles in the shower could have used a repaint, but everything else was in great working order.) The room was big enough for two with a small desk, and the king size bed was very comfortable. Some of the more recent critical reviews on the condition of the beds do not square with our experience. (Mrs. Croc can normally sense a grain of sand like a boulder under the mattress, and this was not the case.) The only issues with the room were: a lack of a hotel directory (I was told it was being updated); and the fact the television as virtually impossible to operate (on two occasions I pressed the wrong button on one of the three remotes and could only recover the picture by calling in the engineering department to fix the matter). Otherwise it was a great room for the price we paid. A tip is to bring your own elastic clothes line and have the bathroom looking like a Chinese laundry in order to avoid the outrageous laundry charges through the hotel.

The facilities away from the room are great. The gym, which is hidden away on a corner of the campus, is fantastic and better than most health clubs. There is a large Pilates studio above the gym and this can also be used as a free weights area. I would have been happy spending ½ a day every day in the gym. The pool is wonderful. It is spacious, warm, and great for just soaking; there was plenty of space on the deck and in the water for everyone. (The place is far enough down the road from Universal studios that it isn’t overrun with little darlings doing cannonballs onto innocent bystanders and running amok on the deck.)

One concern we had in staying at this hotel was the ability of getting in and out of town. This proved no problem at all as there are multiple options available. The resort runs a half-hourly shuttle bus that stops at Resorts World and then crosses the bridge to VivoCity shopping center. From there you can catch a subway train to almost anywhere you wish to go. We were not impeded from any activities in town by the connection to and from Sentosa. (About the only thing that is a hassle to get to is the Zoo, but then it is on the other side of the island and is pretty tough to get to from anywhere.) If you miss the resort shuttle from VivoCity, and you don’t want to wait until the next scheduled service, you can catch the Singapore Transit system bus or a cab back to the resort for about $6.5 SGD. Mobility on and off Sentosa was never an issue for us.

The other concern that we had was being held captive to Resort level prices at the restaurant. This can be an issue at some self-contained places. However, the prices at the a la carte venue were not horrific in comparison to what you find in town or restaurants off the island. (Food is expensive in Singapore as it is almost entirely imported.) I would say the markup is about 20% above prices on the street. There is a suitable selection of local dishes and the usual stodge (i.e. hamburgers and junk food), which the Singaporeans seem to have taken to with a vengeance. We wound up having the full breakfast buffet at 30SGD (+ 10% service charge + 7% GST) and treating it as a huge brunch, which then kept us going through the day with minimal lunch while we were out and about. Some of the staff are young and struggle a bit with English, so a few attempts to use hand signs don’t go astray. There is a good supermarket at Vivocity and we loaded up on snacks and yoghurts to keep in the room’s bar fridge for those mornings when we wanted to get an early start and did not feel like racking up an $82 SGD bill for just two bowls of cereal and some coffee.

So there you have it. We had a great stay at this resort. The new owners are clearly trying spruce he place up. For someone who wants a relaxing venue from which to explore Singapore, this is certainly a good spot. It tries to give you the feel of one of the idyllic places on Langkawi looking out over the blue waters of the Andaman Sea. And as close as it comes to this, it never quite succeeds because you can’t hide the fact that when you sit at the bar and watch the sunset sipping on you gin and tonic, you have a beautiful view of an oil refinery. This is Sentosa in a nutshell – everything is a copy of the real thing. But hey, the point is that it is much more conveniently located than the real thing. And sometimes that is better than the real thing.

Happy travels – Salty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_VincentLelay, General Manager at The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Saltycroc,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review. Our resort will undergo refurbishment in the upcoming months and once renovations are completed, we will be rebranded into Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa.

We do apologise for the inconvenience caused as a result of the television which was fixed by my Engineering ambassadors. We will also continue to retrain our service staff to offer the best in hospitality.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you and your partner back at our resort when you next visit Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Vincent Lelay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor

Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 99891, Singapore (Formerly The Sentosa, A Beaufort Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high atop a cliff amid landscaped tropical gardens, The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor on Singapore's Sentosa Island is one of Asia's best kept secrets. It is a stylish, tranquil sanctuary with superb facilities and designer guestrooms in 27 acres of lush greenery, just 10 minutes' drive from the business district. The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa has 174 deluxe rooms, 37 suites and four exclusive villas. Koi-filled ponds welcome guests through corridors to the East and West wings. The rooms exude a luxurious and warm welcoming feel with plush interior and contemporary comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.