We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, family friendly, terrible food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids stay and dine free!
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, family friendly, terrible food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We chose this hotel for it's location and the reviews saying it was family friendly. It certainly lived up to it's reputation with the best pools, a cute beach with lots of activities and the rooms were plenty big enough for us all and our shopping:) The worst thing was the food which was a huge disappointment. With a young son we enjoy having lunch by the pool, the menu had little variation and lacked any quality. The oddest thing was that we got a little carton of milk when we arrived and when we asked for another so we didn't have to have powered milk three days later we were declined saying you only get one on booking in. At $350 a night and we stayed six nights I thought that was mean. However over all an enjoyable stay and if you ate out perfect. Loved the wildlife that came to visit. we were advised by the staff not to swim in the beach because of stone fish. Normally this would be a problem but the pools were some of the best we have experienced

Room Tip: we got a forest view room and wanted to up grade to a sea view but it was full. Glad we stayed where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    733
    231
    93
    56
See reviews for
1,245
464
54
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I appreciate that check-in service by your employee Shamin. She is very kind.
And I hope to keep my girl-friend bagage.
We forgot to bring shoes bag.
My girlfriend visit to your hotel next week.
Please, keep our bag.

Name : Lee Sung Hee
Call Number : 8502 6933



Room Tip: Thank you for your room upgrade SERVICE !!! I'll be back soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Was exploring new hotels in sentosa, but ended up decided to stay in Shang Rasa.
We truly enjoy the exclusivity of the beach, which was cornered off juz for the guests. It gave us the personalized & exclusivity feeling tat the hotel cares for us. We went down every day for the swim & tan.
It's very convenient for us to move ard sentosa wid e buses juz down the slope.
Will love to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, clean premisses and amieneties. Frequent free schuttle bus to mainland. Very familly friendly. Good possibilty to have tours organised from the hotel. Staff knowladgable and polite at alla times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My partner and I were looking forward to a relaxing stay, and experienced nothing but stress and disappointment. We are Jade-level Golden Circle members, and are meant to be a ‘special part of [Shangri-La’s] family’ (see: http://www.shangri-la.com/corporate/golden-circle/membership-benefits/jade/) .

Based on our experience, it seems our ‘family members’ at Shangri-La’s Rasa Sentosa Resort and Spa hate us.

(1) On arrival, despite having requested a quiet room when making our reservation, we were told we had to make do with what we'd been assigned as the hotel was full. In my view, a full hotel is never an excuse for poor service. If a quiet room wasn't available as requested, I should have been contacted in advance and given the option of cancelling my reservation.

(2) When we arrived in the room (711), we were disappointed by its size, linoleum floors, and the fact it smelt strongly of mold/damp. Our welcome amenities were awful: a poor selection of overripe fruit, stale nyonya cakes, and inadequately chilled beer. Also, our bathroom door didn't close, so the romantic getaway my partner and I had hoped for was doomed from the outset. Considering the amount of money we've spent at Shangri-La over the past two years, and the loyalty we have demonstrated, I was absolutely disgusted by our room assignment. Clearly Jade members are not valued by Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa.

(3) We opened the door to the balcony briefly, and regretted it for the rest of the stay. The floors became covered in condensation that we couldn't get rid of. This was not only unpleasant – it also made the floors slippery and dangerous. We didn't bother contacting reception, as it had already been made clear to us that the hotel was full.

(4) Breakfast was a disaster. Given the resort was at capacity, we expected long lines. But the lines weren’t even the issue. For us, it was the awful quality of the food. The availability of food and drink was also poor. At 8am on my second morning, I had a pitiful breakfast of a few cold and soggy hash browns (that I scraped from the bottom of the serving tray), one banana, one pancake, and a portion of nutella. Hardly resort-worthy fare!

(5) The pool is nice, but something must be done about the practice of reserving seats. On our second morning, two entire sections were covered in towels, and their owners were obviously not in the pool. I know it is difficult to police this selfish practice, but Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa needs to implement some kind of policy to at least discourage it.

I am so disappointed that I wasted my Golden Circle points on this stay. The only enjoyable part of my experience was check-out - because I knew I was finally leaving!

Room Tip: Avoid 711 until they fix the damp/mold problem and provide a bathroom door that closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort and apologise for not meeting your expectations. My team has been in touch with you and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our resort, in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Hi guys, I'm going to tell you about my trip through my 11 year old eyes, so first let's go through the ups of my trip.
UPS:
People:
Manasour, head chef
John, restaurant manager
Sue, food manager
George, chef
Michel, hotel manger
Places:
pool,room, beach, and the restaurant
Best ride:
The "Mega Zip", (zip line through the air)

Now for the downs.
DOWNS:
People:
Veronica, barmaid
Kazimi, cleaning man for the 4th floor
Rides:
The "Flying Trapeze" (P.S. you feel like you are going to fall off! )
The pool's slide, way too boring,(P.S. and I mean all 3)
My review, of this hotel is that they couldn't get any more than perfect if they just worked out like some workers being nicer, making the slides faster and putting more water on them, etc. Well guys, this was fun, but I have to do a boat load of homework now, so bye, until next time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!: )

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was disappointed with our stay at the Rasa Sentosa. We were on the tail end of a business trip and look for some R&R and thought we would give it a try. The hotel itself is tired and the lifts are terrible. The quite area of the pool for Adults only is not supervised properly with kids jumping in on top of you and parents not supervising at all and when asked to leave the area ignored the pool attendents request. Attendents turn a blind eye and its not fair as the children have fantastic pool facilities. The F&B is overpriced and the food at the pool is ordinary, we going back to Marina Bay Sands.

Room Tip: This hotel need an upgrade the pictures on the website look great the beach is dirty and lifts are T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our resort.

I am concerned by your feedback on the service and cuisine at the swimming pool and would like to find out more from you.

May I please request that you contact me at ben.bousnina@shangri-la.com so that I can have the opportunity to discuss the issues further with you.

Yours sincerely,

Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.