We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Absolutely wonderful...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore

Save Saved
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids stay and dine Free!
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Absolutely wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Shangri-La Sentosa was fantastic. We just spent 8 nights there. We have 2 young children - it was their first overseas holiday. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is certainly setup to cater for families. Pool and gardens were beautifully maintained. Kids club and staff were wonderful. Hotel staff were friendly and always helpful - everything ran smoothly from the moment we arrived. Food was great - breakfast buffet was amazing. Kids menu was extensive and well-priced. Weekends definitely busier. Getting around Sentosa was easy and the hotel shuttle service to mainland was very handy. Nothing to fault. We intend going again in 2012. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family rooms on 5th floor perfect location with young kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    896
    585
    184
    77
    46
See reviews for
931
369
49
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This hotel is the best on the island and as such we keep coming back. We have stayed at the this hotel many times over the last 15 years and it has never disappointed. I even have friends and family now only wanting to stay at this hotel when visiting Singapore. The service is outstanding, the rooms are immaculate, the staff are fantastic. We first visited whilst on our honeymoon, returning with our children as babies and now as teens. We also went back for our 10th wedding anniversary, and were absolutely speechless when the Hotel Relations Manager on behalf of the hotel, gave us a large bowl of fruit together with a very expensive bottle of french champagne and a lovely card (to which I still have to this day) to celebrate this milestone. We have even had our holiday when hotel renovations have been underway and during electricity black outs - none of which was a problem, through the continual hotel feedback and services provided to enhance our stay. So with that said, we are going back in just 8 weeks, staying at the hotel over Christmas and New Years. Just about all the family is going, Mum, Dad, brother, sis in law and of course us four - all looking forward to Christmas dinner/lunch at Barnacles. Can't think of a better place to be !!!

Room Tip: When travelling with little ones the Family suites on the bottom floor are a must. Right near the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed for a week mid September.
Despite it being the week leading up to the Singapore F1 Grand Prix, the hotel was practically deserted. We had chosen this hotel because the rest of Singapore was busy that week, for obvious reasons.
We had booked a "garden view" room, we were offered a reasonable price for an upgrade to a sea view, well worth it. Monday through to Thursday, not only the hotel but the near by bars etc were extremely quiet. Things livened up at the weekend.
The hotel itself is exactly what you would expect from a 4 star. The rooms were clean, well furnished and the toiletries just kept coming. The staff were great. The TV has a lot of channels, in lots of languages. The restaurantsare expensive. The free bus service to Vivoe City mall complex on the main island runs frequently and takes about 25 minutes. Incidentally Vivoe City ATMs seem to charge less for withdrawals than any other we found. There is a station in Vivoe city that is on two lines of the Singapore tube system. As well as the shuttle to the mainland the Sentosa buses, sea front "train" and monorail are free too. The free
15 minutes of internet is great for on-line checking in. The sea view rooms over look the bay. There is some noise from the shipping, so that and the warnings of monkeys meant that we could not sleep with the balcony doors open. There is a 7-11 convenience shop under the southern end of the monorail, the sea front "train" runs from here to the hotel. The hotel pools, bike hire, gym etc all looked great but we did not use them.
This was part of a package, we got a good deal, so I am not too sure about the value of the rooms.
The view from the garden view rooms may not be much, but if you only want a place to sleep . . .
This hotel a good place to stay whilst exploring Singapore.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We chose this resort because of its location. We wanted to combine beach and city for 5 nights. Extremely expensive hotel, and for me it was not worth it..

It is a great hotel for families with children! Unfortunately we did not do very good research, so for us, a couple in our 30's, this was too noisy and full of children. Felt like we checked in to a Disney hotel... Even if we asked the hotel about this one day prior to check in, they reassured us that we would get a quiet room, and we had already payed for a Panorama room, which on their website state that it is for couples and honeymooners...

When we got to the room, there were families with children all over the place... The hotel was fully booked, so maybe this was a bad time for us to go there for a relaxing beach holiday in Singapore...
No privacy on the balcony, and first time we were out there, it was a naked russian guy on the next door balcony :/
There was an opening between the room and the bathroom with only wooden doors to close, so not much privacy in the bathroom..
Quite small room, but very nice!
We checked out after just 2 nights because it was not the kind of resort we were looking for. The Sentosa Island is like an amusement park, and I didn't feel like I was in Singapore. It could have been anywhere...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

5 star. Great breakfast. Great views of harbour. Great for family holiday. Large pool and beach close by. Access to complimentry bus service around island.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Great hotel, nice cheerful room, beach, pool and occean view all added to the beauty of Sentosa island. Perfect relaxation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was my second time in this hotel. Previous time I stayed here for extended weekend, just like now. Anyway, that had been several years ago.

Let's get the pros and cons.

Pros
- You can combine business and family holiday
- Hotel is family friendly
- Close enough city centre
- Service is pretty decent
- Breakfast is good
- Hotel has resort feeling
- Beach is small, but swimmable
- Sentosa attactions are close (Underwater world right next to hotel. First time I dared to touch sting ray!)
- From your balcony you can watch the nearby cargo ships & fighter planes in the sky (funny contrast)

Cons
- Rooms are small
- Views can be less interesting on hillside
- You may need to wait for taxi some time
- Swimming pools are pretty crowded
- Restaurant selection is not that interesting
- Play room for under 5 year olds is boring

To sum it up: This is no 5 star hotel by any means. Bit like decent & well run Holiday Inn, but it is good enough resort for extended weekend. Shangri-La has several resorts, which are clearly lower level vs. standard Shangri-La hotels. Hotel has gone through major renovation, but it is still deserves 3 star rating. For us it worked perfectly as we could combine business & short relaxing stay at Rasa Sentosa. Singapore itself is not cheap destination anymore.
But just as an example you can eat with small money very nice food in hawkers places & some China town restaurants do offer good value Tiger beer for those who are thirsty.

Room Tip: Sea view & high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore

Address: No.101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore )
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore’s only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, AsiaRooms, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.