We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE rwsentosa chain HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
kuala lumpur
1 review
“NICE rwsentosa chain HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

This hotel got a nice and large space beach and pool with oso come with jacuzzi they oso have a nice restaurant call starz nice food..........................Next visit to rwsentosa,this hotel is my 1 choice.....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    388
    271
    110
    74
See reviews for
482
203
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

hotels at the RWS (Resorts World Sentosa) dont come cheap. S$300+
holiday season means the price comes with a S$100 surcharge (just because they can).

so, you would expect a reasonably big deluxe room, with a bath tub in the bathroom. but nope. no bath tub. a pretty small shower box is all you get.

other than that, no other major complaints, since i dont use room service, nor the bar fridge. i didnt like that the flat screen TV didnt allow me to change the picture ratio. so all the ppl in the shows i watch looked fat. 3 pillows to a bed. awesome!

about the hotel: thumbs up for the 1st hard rock hotel/cafe in Singapore. i like the cafe food and the hard rock memento stuff. (the cafe is not in the hotel, its at the Forum - a sort of melting pot zone connecting up the various bits of the resort). hotel is still a bit under construction but what is working is ok. they hide the bad bits away from the hotel guests.

about the pool: it's big but it's not fully functional. and parts of it is actually dangerous. danger: the lap pool is tiled and probably a bit too shallow for diving (1.4m and less at the ends) it is separated from the main pool which is also pretty shallow, by a tiled wall. this tiled wall can seriously scratch arms and legs of swimmers who want to switch over from the lap pool (i tried, i got away with it). at least, it's only 1-way. main pool cant get over to the lap pool because the lap pool is higher (water cascades down from lap pool to main pool). not fully functional: the pool bar is not ready yet.

about RWS: since it is a whole resort zone, you'd expect the facilities to be connected, or have some sort of ferry service. i think that wont happen in the near future. a lot of it is still under construction. still, there is a way to get from 1 hotel to another via the forum, but its not a pretty walk. parts of it are still stairs based (without escalotors/lifts) or else exposed to the weather.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
445 reviews 445 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
470 helpful votes 470 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010 via mobile

The room size is just nice. The wash area looks nice and feel nice as well, BIG. The pool is designed like a beach and it really feels good to just lay on the sand, sun tanning. The bed feels good as well. Within walking distance to the casino and universal studio...

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Took up the 2nights + ticket to live show (circus- voyage of life) package at 748.
Funny experiences:

1. Booking:
As I have 2 boys, 1 crossed the age of free entrance of the show, had to ask for an additional ticket for my son. The reservation staff was stumped.. They had no buttons to click (on the computer) to allow them to book an additional adjourning ticket. So they had to put in a request, subject to best effort, to get that ticket, and no guarantee that my 4y.o. son might have to sit all by himself halfway across the huge concert hall.

Anyway, after several hours of effort they did managed to get me the adjourning ticket.. point to their effort but zero to the booking system.


2. Check in was smooth, arrived earlier at 1+ (instead of 3) was given the room promptly. The staff that handled my room appeared to be forgetful and she did not pass me a package that included my two tickets to the show plus a few other stuffs. I walked over to the concert theatre thinking my ticket is there, only to be told otherwise and had to get back to hotel to collect the tickets.


2b. No bath in the room (non suite) so the kids were abit upset but facilities reasonable. Had a room that overlooks the construction site. Well, I guess its something unavoidable until the waterfront promenade is completed. Look further up (ignoring the construction) u'd get to see the ferry terminal and Vivo city ...


3. The hotel pool was fantastic. I did have problem like everyone else trying to find a pool side beverage provider.. but the main purpose was not to drink and let the kids have fun. So having clean sand in a fresh water pool was simply fascinating and very much appreciated!


4. Food. Breakfast was decent. Nothing to scream about and comparatively 'weaker' than the typical 5 stars like conrad or mandarin oriental. But it was acceptable. Staff were frenly and they just waived my kids' cost (package only included two adults).

5. Dinner. The whole RWS is extremely short of child frenly food, especially if you are staying 2 nights and not going into Universal Studio (kids too young to appreciate). Went to hard rock for day 1. 2nd day gave up looking around and took up the Starz Restaurant (in HR Hotel)'s buffet dinner at S$45+++. We raised our query that the food are not kids frenly, the manager was apologetic and offered us the ala-carte menu for the kids. i.e. adults on buffet, kids on some pasta item. The waitresses were all frenly and they just closed their eyes when we fed ice cream and stuffs (buffet table) to the two boys. 8-)

6. Interesting point: You know most of these hotels have this button that allows you to turn on the 'service room' or 'do not disturb' signal light that can be seen by the service staff outside. Well, HR Hotel has that... but apparently the wiring is completely screwed up... i.e. when you leave the room, you tend to turn on the 'service room' green lamp, but once u pull out the card and the power saving device kicks in, the green lamp is cut off! So what exactly is the purpose of this green lamp !?!?


So, all in, fairly decent.
Would I come back, i guess so.
Its fairly pricey as there are not many economical food outlet nearby and u are caught having to eat at the hotel or at universal studio.
Its one of the only hotels i know that charges kids for breakfast (when accompanying adult) from 4y.o. and above... most charges at >7, >12 etc..
The pool is just too attractive and the resort feeling is nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Everything from starting till the end was perfect. My son was not feeling well after a six hour flight and i was given a early check in at 10.00am . the front desk lady even asked if she could call a doctor or fetch some warm water for my son. The pool area was superb and i must say the entire resort world is great. it was like a dream vacation..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010 via mobile

Worst hotel ever ... Don't even know where to start off with ... 

Before my friends and I check in, we read reviews here and were shocked to hear how terrible this hotel was. But since this is a Five-star hotel, we decided to give the hotel a chance and to go with our original plan. So we proceed to
check into the hotel. 

That's when everything started to go downhill. 
Upon reaching the hotel lobby, we were shocked to see so many people waiting around. We thought that they were waiting for their friends or family members to check in. We queued up to check in and were told that there were no rooms available for check in at 3.15pm. Our group consist of 3 couples on a honeymoon getaway. We asked if we could get rooms on the same floor, and were told that it was unlikely. We then ask for rooms on seperate floors and were also told we can't check in at the moment since the rooms are not cleaned yet. We had to wait... And the groups of people around us were waiting too... We asked how long we had to wait and was told it all depends on the housekeeping team. We finally managed to get our rooms at 5.45pm....

Happily we went into our separate rooms and realised that only 1 room had a king size bed, the other 2 rooms had twin beds. Sigh... 

We went out and had a great time hanging out in Sentosa.. 

When we came back to our rooms, 1 of the rooms had a cake that said 'honeymoon' in it. It was so sweet. BUT... The other 2 rooms did not have any cakes.. A subsequent cake was delivered to one of our rooms. Hence, only one of the rooms did not have any cake. Inconsistency... 

The next morning we woke up early to go for the hotel international breakfast. Don't bother eating the food there! Just sleep more... The food was so terrible and cheap that it was the worst breakfast buffet we have ever eaten in any hotel in Singapore. 
The apple juice was the nicest.. Thats all! 
Frozen Roti prata heated up was served, ham and salmon wasn't fresh, porridge was tasteless, sausages an bacon were cooked in salt, cereal was tasteless, dimsum seems frozen, fresh milk was poured from different brands of milk cartons, fruits were not sweet at all ... So it's best to stick to the juices! 

Next, we went to the concierge to double confirm the timing of our late check-out. The day before, we were guaranteed a late check-out by the manager since we got our rooms quite late. Yet today, we were told by the rude front desk officer that it was not possible for late check-out since they had not enough rooms. We told her that we were granted late check-out by the manager, and she stared and told us that the manager was not here today. After persistent requests, she went to ask her supervisor and told us "Just for this time, we grant you late check-out!" 

Seriously, thanks ... This will be the last time we stay in this hotel!!! So this will be the one and only time we need late check-out. 

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The Hard Rock name has a certain image to live up to, and I'm afraid this hotel is not up to standard. It has been open since January 2010 and I can't imagine what visitors experienced earlier in the year. The hotel has potential, but the main issues I have are:
1. Advertising bars that are not open
2. Not enough staff........to fulfill the guests simple needs, let alone the 5* experience that this hotel advertises
3. Bar closes at 11pm every night - even to residents, when access to other establishments are restricted due to being on the Island
4. Overlooking building site if you are unlucky
5. Virtually zero memorabilia on show
6. Building works still going on around the pool area
We got off to a bad start by arriving with our son and his girlfriend for a relaxing long weekend at lunchtime. Our plan was to drop our bags and head straight to the fabulous pool bar for a snack and a swim. The pool bar was far from ready to be opened (even though we had been handed vouchers on check-in for this bar) and there wasn't a menu in sight - anywhere! Considering this hotel has 1350 rooms, I had to search for the one member of staff that was servicing the large pool area. We got one menu and ordered four 'snack' meals and four drinks. All of these were delivered at different times, by the same girl - 2 tuna sandwiches were in supermarket style cardboard boxes with no plate and the chilli was delivered without cutlery! I don't blame the girl, she was trying her best - but where were the trained staff?? Breakfast was a disappointment - hot food was cold, eggs were runny even when asked for well done (not just once) and refills of tea and coffee were hard, as staff were difficult to catch. In my experience of 5* hotels, staff at breakfast are constantly watching for an empty cup! We were shocked, that after returning to the hotel after an evening out in Singapore, that we were too late to get a night-cap before retiring! This is a Hard Rock Hotel - I'm afraid there is NO rocking here - several empty glass cases where memorabilia should be on show.

The beds were very comfortable, and nicely decorated, but in need of more storage. We were unlucky enough to be put in a room overlooking a huge building site. Our son had a room overlooking the pool, with a balcony - which I recommend you ask for if you still decide to stay here.

The location is great if you are here to visit Universal, just a short walk away (although, beware Universal is still 'soft opening' at present) but the buzzing bar scene, for both old and young, is to be had at Clark Quay, where more established 5* hotels can be found at a similar price

PS - on a high note - the young lady concierge (sorry I didn't get her name) was extremely helpful and DID have the attitude we are all looking for - thank you

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock and roll attitude meets five-star service at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore. Breathtaking design, fashionable dining options, and the legendary entertainment experience only Hard Rock can offer make this the obvious choice for those looking for a stay that is beyond the ordinary.If unique networking venues are what you need, the hotel is home to some of the resort's best meeting and conference facilities, and indoor exhibition space. This includes 30 function rooms and one of Asia's largest ballrooms with seating for 6,500 guests. All at the doorstep of Universal Studios Singapore ®, the world's largest oceanarium and Asia's newest casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.