We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average 4-star Hotel with a great pool!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Halloween Horror Nights®4
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just an average 4-star Hotel with a great pool!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Booked two connecting twin bedded rooms for a one night family getaway. Had requested for rooms on high floor & pool-facing and though reservations agent told this is subject to availability upon check-in, when we did check-in at ard 2 pm, we got the rooms as requested. We got lucky as apparently Hard Rock has only that one pair of connecting rooms with both twin-bedded rooms as all other connecting are a pair of King bed + twin beds? What I have to emphasis is to always always request for a pool-facing room as I think those have a bit more floor space + a nice balcony to look out to the pool view. Basically you are paying for the pool which is really fantastic - huge with a sand beach pool - i could easily spend hrs by the pool. The room itself is quite average (~ 40sqm) but nice size. Some kinks were the weak shower pressure (in one room, the water was either too hot or too cold and was difficult to adjust), the poor TV sound/volume (too soft) and not very classy toiletries (shampoo/conditioner in one and shower cream were in cheapo looking dispenser bottles). Staff were obliging & friendly (gave us a late 3 pm complimentary check-out) but still lack genuine/sincere enthusiasm. We didn't eat at the Starz Restaurant but bought some cut fruits (its 1 for 1 after 8 pm) at night. The Rang Mahal restaurant is a good albeit expensive dinner option.
For breakfast, we headed out to the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf instead. The Hard Rock could do better but if you plan to visit Universal Studios and wanna stay overnight on Sentosa, its not a bad choice...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    361
    261
    99
    71
See reviews for
450
193
19
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I never really considered The Hard Rock my cup of tea, but we needed a place close to Universal Studios and the other hotels open at the moment either didn't cater to children or seemed like a great fit for kids but got terrible reviews on this site. So, to the Hard Rock. We stayed on a Thursday and Friday night. The hotel was not very full. We liked our room, but it's geared to adults--open plan with no bathroom doors at all. Hard to have a "private moment" if you know what I mean. Nice king size bed with fluffy white duvet. Big flat screen TV built into the wall, which unfortunately resulted in very poor sound. Still, the room was comfy and we didn't freeze to death, as mentioned by some others. Our main complaint were the lack of food options inside the hotel. As others have mentioned, there is Starz restaurant, which is not mostly buffet--as far as we could see, it's ALL buffet. $28++ for breakfast and $48++ for dinner, half price for kids. Still, my 6-year old cannot eat $25 worth of food--not even close. The only other choice was an Indian restaurant, which we would have enjoyed, but it was closed for a convention, which no one bothered to tell us when we checked in. We ended up with no choice but to spring for the buffet--an exercise in forced gluttony, IMHO. We had snacks at the pool once--very, very limited menu--like, 6 items, and they were good, but it took 45 minutes to get the food out to us. Of course, there are all kinds of restaurants nearby, but who wants to leave the hotel first thing in the a.m. or after an entire day at an amusement park with a young child? Overall, we had a good time and would recommend it to someone wanting to stay close to the amusement park or the casino, but keep in mind the above caveats.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

First of all, the shuttle bus driver would skip Hard Rock if you don't specificly mentioned to him (too new). Then all other hotels in the Resort World are connected with the exception to this one. I checked in and told the lady I'd need to extend my stay for 1 more night, she said anytime. Then on the last night I asked for extension, the desk agent told me the rate would go up from SGD 275++ to SGD 430++! What a rip off! The worse thing is I went up to the internet and checked the hotel site for rate for the same night, it showed SGD 315++ with plenty of rooms. Need me to say more? The shower is slow possibly due to low water pressure, the aircon is freezingly cold at night even if you set it at 25 degree with low fan. Conceige is the only bright spot, but front desk girls could use less attitude and more smiles. The good thing about this hotel is it is new (at the time of writing). Expect a new hotel with a hard rock store and some rock star pictures hanging in the room, aka "Hard Rock Hotel Sentosa".

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Look forward to Stay Hard Rock Hotel on 27 April but such disappointment. New hotel but no resort style like the rest of Hard Rock Hotel. Room is nice but without bathtub. No room service provided so the nearest food if you hungry at night is in the casino. Room with 42' TV but the king bed is great. if you coming for casino then this might be a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

April 7-9, 2010. First off, if you've never stayed at a Hard Rock Hotel before, you're in for something different. I've stayed in Hard Rock Las Vegas (USA), Bali (Indonesia), Pattaya (Thailand), and now Sentosa Island (Singapore). Some people enjoy the rock & roll theme throughout the hotel: and of course others don't.

Secondly, the Hard Rock, the other "Resort World" hotels, and Universal Studios are all going through a SOFT opening: so you would expect some start up issues.

Service - GREAT! Check in was quick, efficient, and "Tippy" answered all of our questions, or referred us to the concierge. Housekeeping, pool staff, etc. - all professional and friendly. Concierge hooked us up with Universal tickets.

Decoration/Layout - This hotel does not have the rock and roll paraphernalia like the other Hard Rock hotels or Hard Rock Cafes. But there's still plenty of pictures and good music throughout the interior.

Swimming pool - One of the highlights of our trip. Big lagoon style pool plus an attached 50 meter lap pool. Lagoon area has sand that gently slopes into the pool - giving the impression of a real beach. Nice little swim up bar area was closed during our visit, but should be operational by now.
- They should add more umbrellas for the lounge chairs.
- They should increase the staff around the pool area for drinks and food.
** Note that until the other Resort World hotels complete their swimming pools, their guests were allowed to use the Hard Rock Hotel pool. During our visit, it was never really crowded **

Gym - nice and big, but not really well stocked with machines or free weights. They have room and suggest they re-design the layout and add some more equipment. The treadmills look out onto the walkway, and very distracting to have all of the guests and staff walking by.

Food - I agree with many of the other reviews. Food is not a strength here at the Hard Rock. Starz restaurant is mostly buffet. Pool and Bar menu is very limited. No room service! They encourage guests to check out all of the other hotels and restaurants in Resort World (4 hotels connected with Universal Studios). The other hotels are a short 5-15 minute walk, and there is a central restaurant zone for some high end (aka expensive) restaurants, Chilis, sandwich/coffee shops, etc.. Not a lot of choice currently with many shops still under development. But by the looks of it, don't expect things to change much. There's a couple touristy "villages" dotting Sentosa island - take the monorail and check out what's around each stop. Or I recommend heading into Singapore for food options. You can easily travel out of Sentosa by taxi, bus, or train - and be anywhere in Singapore quickly (Orchard Road in 15 minutes).

Rooms - Hard Rock rooms are usually slightly modern, rock & roll kitschy, yet comfortable. Don't expect rock & roll glam or luxury. Lighting was weird. The bathroom lights and the under table-night light were too bright: enough to light the whole room up. Overhead "reading" lamps were set into the ceiling, and didn't provide enough light. One seemingly overlooked item was a alarm clock / entertainment system. "Normally" rooms have a all in one system for music, i-Pod docking station, plus alarm clock: our room had a small portable alarm clock. Not sure if that was part of a design mistake or they're waiting to install later.

Nightlife - didn't go to Sentosa for the nightlife. Mostly tourist activities nearby. HRH has the bar, but no action or vibe compared to any other HRH or HRC. Head back to Singapore for nightlife!

Value - Just OK. We received a slight room price reduction during the soft opening. If it wasn't for the price break, not sure if the location near Universal Studios and the Casino will be enough to draw us back to the island. But if we stay at the Island, for sure I'd want to be near that HRH swimming pool again. Once the new Sands casino opens in Singapore, I think Sentosa Resort World will have a tough time drawing people over to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Great Hotel! Fantastic Staff. They are warm, friendly and funny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Okay let's start with the good things about this hotel. First of all, location. It's about a 10 minute walk to the casino and 15 minute walk to Universal Studios. That's okay for me. The rooms were clean and the atmosphere around the hotel was pleasant and enjoyable. I was impressed they gave 4 bottles of complimentary water for each day. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and professional. On my last day I had a late flight to go back to Bangkok and asked them if they had late checkout. They offered me a late checkout till 3 P.M. and i was very satisfied with that. Also, they provide free shuttle bus services every 45 minutes to the airport.

Now let's look at some of the problems. First of all, the rooms are very freezing. I'm talking about very very cold!!! I tried changing the temperature and it is still very cold. They need to fix this or guests are going to freeze to death..... Another problem is the sound. They should have sound proof doors because some times late at night, I can hear famileis with children screaming and other guests talking quite loud. The last thing was housekeeping. I came back to my room at 4PM in the afternoon and they still didn't clean my room. Also, I was unhappy that internet service wasn't free.

Hard Rock Hotel Sentosa still needs some improvement to keep up to its standards.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock and roll attitude meets five-star service at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore. Breathtaking design, fashionable dining options, and the legendary entertainment experience only Hard Rock can offer make this the obvious choice for those looking for a stay that is beyond the ordinary.If unique networking venues are what you need, the hotel is home to some of the resort's best meeting and conference facilities, and indoor exhibition space. This includes 30 function rooms and one of Asia's largest ballrooms with seating for 6,500 guests. All at the doorstep of Universal Studios Singapore ®, the world's largest oceanarium and Asia's newest casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;