We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subject to taste” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Save Saved
You added Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Sentosa Island
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Subject to taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hard Rock Hotel will not be to everyone's taste but if you are staying in Sentosa it is a good hotel and is convenient for all the attractions. In terms of good points, the rooms are large, clean and modern and access to and from the resort attractions is easy. The staff were generally friendly and the pool area is great with plenty to keep the kids amused. I went with two pre-teens and they loved the place so bear in mind that the hotel will be subject to people's taste i.e. if mum and dad don't like it it does not mean the kids won't. On the downside, the hotel struggles to cope when at full capacity so there were long queues at breakfast and the food was pretty average. The decor is also fairly cheap and plenty of expense was spared when designing the place, which does not meet 5-star standards. Having said all that my stay was comfortable and fun and the kids had a blast which, frankly, was the whole point so don't be put off booking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the resort as the rooms facing the hill at the front are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    349
    244
    94
    69
See reviews for
429
184
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Do not listen to any bad reviews. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and there is nothing wrong with the Hard Rock Sentosa Singapore. Room was amazing hotel was amazing and clean. Staff were amazing and could hold a conversation! Pool is just out of this world! I never want to see a bad review about this hotel again as there is no need!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Director of Rooms at Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear bondyboy21,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your passionate review on your recent stay with Hard Rock Hotel at Resorts World Sentosa.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, our incredible pool and most importantly the great staff.

We have shared your kind comments with our staff and all of us look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hard Rock Hotel Singapore for an authentic experience that Rocks!

Love All – Serve All
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second stay at the Resorts World Sentosa, and our first in the Hard Rock Hotel. At the end of our stay, we preferred our first experience two years ago with the Festive Hotel.

The most salient impression I get of the Hard Rock Hotel is that it is overwhelmed. In terms of infrastructure and especially operations/processes, the hotel is simply unable to handle the number of guests and visitors that it receives. Everywhere you go in the hotel, there are long lines and messy crowds. You have to wait in line for up to 20 minutes (even on a Monday morning) just to enter the restaurant for breakfast, and being unable to board the full shuttle bus is apparently a common problem. I am not sure if they are doing anything about these problems.

Check-in took almost a full hour, including standing (yes, literally standing) in line; getting them to sort out which two rooms in the whole hotel to allocate to us; and then to get us parking coupons. First they us got parking coupons which have expired, and finally after 15 minutes they told us (not very politely) to come back to them the following day after they had sorted out the mess with the parking coupons. For the record, the next day when we went back, they told us that according to the records, parking coupons had been issued to us, and we had to spend another 10 minutes explaining what had happened the day before, and trying to hunt down the staff member who had spoken with us the day before to concur with our account.

For people who drive, you may also want to note that they only issue one single-entry ticket per room/night. You are therefore only allowed to drive out of the hotel once a day if you would not like to incur parking expenses.

There is some effort to try to create the “hard rock” theme in the hotel with the furnishings and decorations both in the room and in the public areas of the hotel. Staff members also dress to look like rock star wannabes. I am however not sure if it is part of the plan for them to behave and talk like rock stars. Some of them, especially those we encountered at check-in were pretty rude and impatient. Along the corridor, we also overheard a conversation when a guest was asking the housekeeping staff who was passing by with her trolley if she could help to top up some toiletries in the room. The reply was a curt “Don’t talk to me, call housekeeping”, and she promptly continued on her way.

The swimming pool area is rather large, with some nice touches like an artificial beach area, a children’s play area and a separate pool meant for doing laps. However, again, it was overcrowded. Many guests gave up trying to wait for an empty deck chair and simply left their belongings at random spots on the ground while they went for a swim. It was also impossible to do laps without literally bumping into people along the way. The pool bar was however pretty good. We enjoyed some drinks and snacks while in the pool, and the staff at the pool bar was mostly friendly and pleasant to chat with.

The room was spacious enough for us, but it did come with a few quirky touches. There are efforts to create some “rock star” touches like the wash basin in the bathroom which has a “backstage” kind of feel. The room also comes with one of the best sound systems we have seen in hotels, which we enjoyed and appreciated.

However, in trying to create the “rock star” feel, we felt that some of the liveability/practicality considerations had been overlooked in the room design. There is no door for the bathroom, and the bathroom wall is a translucent piece of glass. It is also designed such that one needs to step out of the shower to dress in the “open”. These may make it inconvenient if you are staying with friends. The night light in the room is also rather glaring and awkwardly-angled, which makes it unsuitable for its purpose.

In conclusion, while there are some interesting touches in the hotel to give it the “rock star” feel, on the whole we did not really enjoy our stay. We are unlikely to stay in this hotel again, and probably will not recommend it to most people.

Room Tip: The corridor is rather long. If you do not like walking, ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hard Rock for 2 night, with my family. I like there very much because the room very spacious and the pool was very fantastic. In this hotel's lobby was very large and you can hear music in there. I think it's very nice stay in the bedroom relax. And there have restaurant that very classic. The locate near the Universal Studio so it easy to go to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived to check in at 5pm and was told that one of the rooms under my booking is not ready (despite 2 hours AFTER the official stipulated check-in time of 3pm).

Was given a room at the end of the corridor hence it was a very long walk from the room to the lift lobby of the floor. The walk from the lift to the room felt very long especially after a whole day of walking in USS / shopping.

Upon entering the room, while the decor was nice, minor issues stood up like a sore thumb. The wardrobe door was cracked, the basin cabinet door cannot be closed properly, the air-cond was very loud due to it being on full blower. Changing the blower settings to "low" or "medium" doesn't seem to make any changes to the speed of the blower (or the noise). This can only be eliminated by switching the air cond off completely.

Air-cond slates (with full blower) was directed directly to 1 of the single beds. Vents at located too high up in the ceiling hence direction cannot be changed. As such, 1 of the bed would be too cold to sleep in.

Tried calling the reception on 2 separate nights (after 10pm) but calls went unanswered. Suspect that they are seriously understaffed.

Only 1 hand towel was available and there was no face towel provided.

Breakfast gets overly crowded and long queue from 9am onwards.

Definitely not worth the price I paid and gives a bad name to the Hard Rock Hotel brand.

Plus points
- Great pool
- Fantastic and very comfortable beddings

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lift lobby of the respective floor to avoid walking too far (might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at this hotel. The room was VERY spacious and well appointed and the pool was simply fantastic.

The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping in!

The music in the lobby can get a bit annoying, but you can't really complain about that given that it's a Hard Rock hotel.

The location, with the hotel being contiguous to the rest of RWS and USS/The Forum is absolutely perfect, making traversing the island a breeze. Departing Sentosa is also a breeze, with the hotel being located close to the monorail and also having its own taxi stand. It's also walking distance to Vivo City via the boardwalk.

The hotel is very family friendly but is also suitable for other holidaymakers. I stayed at the hotel as a solo traveler and still had a great time.

I will definitely return to this hotel, hopefully for a greater duration next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.L.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is located in Sentosa and only short walking distance to Universal Studio, Aquarius, Watercove park and Sentosa Island. Upon check-in they will also gv you the monorail pass so that you can enjoy the free ride to Vivo City.

We love the spacious room! We are family of 2 adults and 2 children. Our room come with 2 Queen size bed and a pull-out bed. The room is huge, clean and comfortable. breakfast is excellent. But due to the hotel is running very high occupancy, check-in is a bit slow. Swimming pool is nice too.

Overall, we like this hotel very much and we had an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore

Address: 8 Sentosa Gateway, Sentosa Island 098269, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock and roll attitude meets five-star service at the Hard Rock Hotel Singapore. Breathtaking design, fashionable dining options, and the legendary entertainment experience only Hard Rock can offer make this the obvious choice for those looking for a stay that is beyond the ordinary.If unique networking venues are what you need, the hotel is home to some of the resort's best meeting and conference facilities, and indoor exhibition space. This includes 30 function rooms and one of Asia's largest ballrooms with seating for 6,500 guests. All at the doorstep of Universal Studios Singapore ®, the world's largest oceanarium and Asia's newest casino resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel, Singapore Hotel Sentosa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorts World Sentosa - Hard Rock Hotel Singapore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.